Author Topic: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366  (Read 29277 times)

system error101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #105 on: June 15, 2009, 07:56:41 pm »
Okay... So I finally managed to "install" the pad orbiter image on my WebDT 366. However, after I reboot it I ran yet into another problem... After the reboot, it asked me for my ESSID and KEY. The ESSID to my knowledge is whatever the router is named and according to my router page, my routers SSID is "linksys". And my key is a 16 digit hex key. My wireless network is WEP encrypted. I tried so many different methods and none seem to work. Once I entered the SSID and KEY it would go to the splash screen and sit there... This happened with every method. I even disabled my wireless protection and it still just say there... Any idea on what I may be doing wrong???

ivanp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #106 on: June 15, 2009, 07:59:21 pm »
Make sure You dont have MAC filtering turned on, like i did:)spent 4 hours going mad until i remembered i had MAC filtering turned on.
Also make sure You type ESSID EXACTLY, including capital and small letters.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #107 on: June 15, 2009, 08:01:44 pm »
It is also important that you set up the network precisely as needed by our FAQ.

(1) did you use two NICs?
(2) is the internal network 192.168.80.0/24 ?
(3) is the DCERouter reachable at 192.168.80.1?

If the answer to any of these questions is no, slap yourself for not following directions, change your setup to match, and the pad will magically boot up. :)

-Thom

system error101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #108 on: June 15, 2009, 08:32:56 pm »
Okay... I had mac filtering on, but even after shutting that down. It still doesn't boot, so I'm guessing that it has something to do with my network set up. (SLAP)... I deserved that one. Anyways... I am a bit illiterate when it comes to network setup so I have no idea what NIC's are or how to make sure that my internal network is 192.168.80.0/24 or if my DCERouter is reachable at 192.168.80.1

I am trying to get this as perfect as possible since I will be setting up a similar unit at our church for easier media access.


Thanks for all the help :)

ivanp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #109 on: June 15, 2009, 08:39:06 pm »
Is Your WAP (Wireless Access Point) connected to a switch which is connected to Your core? IF not, put it LMCE internal network, shut off WAPs DHCP, let LMCE do DHCP and I am sure YOu will have a go with Your WebDT.
For a start, take a look here: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Network_Settings

P. S. NIC is Network Interface Card.

system error101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #110 on: June 15, 2009, 08:45:34 pm »
Here is how my network is setup: I have my computers and all wireless devices connected to a router and the router is connected to the ISP box or the switch if thats what your talking about.

ivanp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #111 on: June 15, 2009, 08:53:35 pm »
Listen mate, ppl are here to help, not to teach.
You dint provide enough information.
Basiccly, You have to have 2 NICs in You LMCE, one is external, connects to the switch or the router which goes to the internet
Other NIC is internal, which You connect to the switch and ALL of stuff You wish to have in LMCE.
So, You can connect Your external NIC directly tzo the router, place siwthc in the internal network and attach WAP to it. then You can try to load WebDT.
Seriously, read what i gave You, YOu will get an idea why it is done that way: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Network_Settings


colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #112 on: June 15, 2009, 11:34:13 pm »
You really need to read the link he gave you.

Also, it would be highly advisable to understand basic networking terminology, otherwise you will get mixed up as to which device is which. You seem to have your terms the wrong way around. You can't connect your "computers and all wireless devices" to a router. A router routes traffic from one network to another, it doesn't connect many devices together, that is a switch.

Some of these devices are commonly combined into a single box, which can confuse matters slightly. For instance, it is common to combine an ADSL router with a switch, so that it routes traffic between the public Internet and your internal network (a router function), AND provides, say, 4 switch ports to connect multiple devices to (the switching function). ADSL broadband devices are usually routers, whereas cable broadband devices are commonly only bridge devices, and need something else to provide the standalone routing function (a LMCE core can do this for you).

If the device you are describing above is a wireless AP, then I would guess it also has a built in switch functionality and 4 switch ports. This means it combines the functions of an AP and switch, but probably not a router as well. First step, find out exactly what equipment you do have. Second, read that article on Network Setup and follow it.

Domodude

  • Guest
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #113 on: July 05, 2009, 08:34:23 am »
Hi,

I'd like to go back a few posts, where people were trying to get the WebDT connect to the wireless network.
My WebDT is one of tkmedia's, second generation (acquired through another LMCE user  ;)). It once worked on my system, and unless I am very wrong, with WPA encryption.

But right now, it does not work anymore. It stopped (I think) after doing some network maintenance things, including replacement of a wireless router. I now have a simple Asus wireless router configured as a switch with also WLAN connectivity, and my N800 works flawlessly from this. Question is, why doesn't the WebDT? I have it boot, and it ends up in rat poison. I push the third button from the left, get into the wireless setting menu, and fill in SSID and key. I select WPA, and press OK. But when I do an iwconfig in a terminal on the WebDT, it tells me there is NO encryption key! /etc/network/interfaces contains something like this:
Code: [Select]
...
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
 wpa-driver wext
 wpa-ssid MY_SSID
 wpa-psk MY_ASCII_PSK
Where am I going wrong here? Again, the n800 connects no problem. ???

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #114 on: July 05, 2009, 09:22:54 am »
while my TabletCFG configures the network files correctly,

The Cisco Aironet 350 PCMCIA card present in the 366 does NOT do WPA correctly. Hari spent weeks beating it with a stick trying to graft wpa patches onto the driver and firmware to no avail...

You'll need to use WEP for the tablets, I am so sorry...

You could replace the card in the unit with another one, if you wanted.

-Thom

Domodude

  • Guest
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #115 on: July 05, 2009, 10:17:45 am »
Thank Thom, I guess I had it working with WEP, then.
Is there any way to see which card is present without opening the unit? Any suggestions as to a replacement network card that will work OOTB?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #116 on: July 05, 2009, 11:17:50 am »
e.g. the sr-71c from ubiquiti

But you might want to look for a cheaper card thats supported in linux and has mmcx connectors.

br, Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Domodude

  • Guest
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #117 on: July 06, 2009, 09:40:40 am »
OK, I might do that. Fow now, I downgraded the encryption to WEP and it is indeed working fine again!

Dale_K

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #118 on: July 06, 2009, 05:30:29 pm »
Okay... So I finally managed to "install" the pad orbiter image on my WebDT 366. However, after I reboot it I ran yet into another problem... After the reboot, it asked me for my ESSID and KEY. The ESSID to my knowledge is whatever the router is named and according to my router page, my routers SSID is "linksys". And my key is a 16 digit hex key. My wireless network is WEP encrypted. I tried so many different methods and none seem to work. Once I entered the SSID and KEY it would go to the splash screen and sit there... This happened with every method. I even disabled my wireless protection and it still just say there... Any idea on what I may be doing wrong???

With the VERY limited info you're providing I can give you a couple of tips that may or may not help you.

First, I notice you refer to your wireless device as a "router".  It is extremely important that the DHCP server in your Linksys device is turned off if it is in fact a router and not an access point.  LMCE is and must be the DHCP server on that network.  It is possible to set up a wireless router to act as a gateway only and I can help you do that if you need to.

Second, the SSID and WEP keys are case sensitive when setting up your WebPad.  This is a common error for people setting them up so make sure you have the case correct when entering these values.

If you give more specific info about your setup, we could help more.  i.e. list all devices including home pc's and how they're connected.

jeangot

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Re: ANN: Orbiter image for WebDT 366
« Reply #119 on: July 09, 2009, 05:40:43 pm »
Hello,

does anyone know how to access a console on a WebDT with Padorbiter, using a keyboard on the WebDT itself?

Normally I would connect remotely via SSH, but now my WebDTs don't connect to the wireless network anymore (my fault, new router using "wep transitionnal". It works 1 time out of 20 tries, so it must be somehow fixable) and I would like to access a console for further troubleshooting.

Display 8 (CTRL+ALT+8) has lost of debug information, but it still won't let me access a console prompt, neither does display 1.

Any ideas?

Jean