Author Topic: Setting up a Pinnacle 310i Digital Freeview PCI card  (Read 2301 times)

solidsquare

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Setting up a Pinnacle 310i Digital Freeview PCI card
« on: November 03, 2008, 04:19:40 pm »
Hi,

I have a pinnacle 310i digital freeview pci card, and I’m having a nightmare getting it to work.

I have read 99% of all forums and wiki pages relating to this product, but I’m new to Linux so not sure if I’m doing the right thing half the time.

I have installed Mercurial and installed/updated V4L.

I have a couple of questions:
1. Should I have set linuxmce up with MythTV or VDR (Mythtv said it’s for analogue and VDR said it’s for Digital, I have tried both)

2. When setting up Mythtv Backend adding a capture card, I have tried Analogue with V4L which tells me I have a pinnicle310i, when I scan for channels I only get BBC1,BBC2,ITV & CH4 terrestrial channels only. When I set it up as DVB it tells me the device is a Philips TBA00046, which according to some forums is the correct firmware. however when I scan for channels it shows there is noise at 100% and the signal goes up and down as if there were channels being detected but is just say's no signal.

The best page relating to this device is:
http://doc.freevo.org/Hardware/DVBCards#head-18de7f675477bb24e0a0d09f969d3a9abba9cc43

However it links to:
http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/Saa7134_quick_guide
And this site is having major problems & at the moment site is down.

On the first link above it tells me to:
"Essentially, build the drivers as shown in the Intro then (as root) run "
how do I run as root??? then it goes on to say:
linux/Documentation/dvb/get_dvb_firmware tda10046
cp dvb-fe-tda10046.fw /lib/firmware
modprobe saa7134-dvb


If anyone can help me set this up I would be grateful.

Regards, John.






jimmejames

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a Pinnacle 310i Digital Freeview PCI card
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2008, 06:02:58 pm »
Type in "sudo" and then the command you want to run as root

e.g.    "sudo modprobe saa7134-dvb"

you will then be prompted for your root's password

depending on how you have your setup thus far, you may need to change your root password- "sudo passwd"


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4540
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Setting up a Pinnacle 310i Digital Freeview PCI card
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2008, 10:45:41 am »
Hi,

I have a pinnacle 310i digital freeview pci card, and I’m having a nightmare getting it to work.

I have read 99% of all forums and wiki pages relating to this product, but I’m new to Linux so not sure if I’m doing the right thing half the time.

I have installed Mercurial and installed/updated V4L.

I have a couple of questions:
1. Should I have set linuxmce up with MythTV or VDR (Mythtv said it’s for analogue and VDR said it’s for Digital, I have tried both)

2. When setting up Mythtv Backend adding a capture card, I have tried Analogue with V4L which tells me I have a pinnicle310i, when I scan for channels I only get BBC1,BBC2,ITV & CH4 terrestrial channels only. When I set it up as DVB it tells me the device is a Philips TBA00046, which according to some forums is the correct firmware. however when I scan for channels it shows there is noise at 100% and the signal goes up and down as if there were channels being detected but is just say's no signal.

The best page relating to this device is:
http://doc.freevo.org/Hardware/DVBCards#head-18de7f675477bb24e0a0d09f969d3a9abba9cc43

However it links to:
http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/Saa7134_quick_guide
And this site is having major problems & at the moment site is down.

On the first link above it tells me to:
"Essentially, build the drivers as shown in the Intro then (as root) run "
how do I run as root??? then it goes on to say:
linux/Documentation/dvb/get_dvb_firmware tda10046
cp dvb-fe-tda10046.fw /lib/firmware
modprobe saa7134-dvb


If anyone can help me set this up I would be grateful.

Regards, John.


The Pinnacle 310i is supported by kernel 2.6.22-14-generic used in LinuxMCE-710. See here for info on DVB support for the 310i http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/DVB-T_PCI_Cards#Pinnacle

Both MythTV and VDR can use DVB cards so it really comes down to your preference.

All the best

Andrew


Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

patmankn

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a Pinnacle 310i Digital Freeview PCI card
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2008, 11:44:01 am »
John,

i own a Terratec 1200 DVB-T PCI card, which has the same Chip as you do.
I ran into Problems, as the Chip was recognized as a soundcard somehow ;O)

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5422.msg31652#msg31652

But you said, you could already get some channels, so the card setting should be fine, right?
Or do you just receive analog channels (in Germany they don't have them anymore ;O) )

Cheers,

Patrick
Hybrid: MSI MS-7329,Nvidia 6150 onboard,AMD BE-2400,2gb RAM,Sharp Aqous LE 37X20E via MD Zotoc Ion Synergy,Terratec 1200 & Cinergy DT USB Diversity DVB-T, KNC ONE TV-Station DVB-C,WebDT366,Fiire Chief http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/User:Patmankn

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4540
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Setting up a Pinnacle 310i Digital Freeview PCI card
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2008, 11:59:56 am »
John,

i own a Terratec 1200 DVB-T PCI card, which has the same Chip as you do.
I ran into Problems, as the Chip was recognized as a soundcard somehow ;O)

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5422.msg31652#msg31652

But you said, you could already get some channels, so the card setting should be fine, right?
Or do you just receive analog channels (in Germany they don't have them anymore ;O) )

Cheers,

Patrick


Looks to me like he only got the analog channels working inside Myth. We have not tested this card but it is supported so it should work 'out of the box' under Myth or vdr...

We've still got analog here in the UK (they have started turning analog off with this completed by 2012) but most people are already on DVB.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

chriss

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a Pinnacle 310i Digital Freeview PCI card
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2008, 12:13:00 pm »
Hey guys,

I'm successfully using this card in VDR. If I remember correctly, I could not get the digital part (DVB-T) working in older versions of LMCE with MythTV. However, I had to download the correct firmware to make it work. There is a download script and documentation available on linuxtv.org.

Cheers,
Chriss

patmankn

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a Pinnacle 310i Digital Freeview PCI card
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2008, 01:13:57 pm »
As its quite tricky to get hands on these files somehow... wouldn't it be cool, to have some kind of central space to store these kind of data like firmwares, conf-files etc?

Solidsquare: could you provide a the informations, provided by lspci and dmesg from the shell?

Patrick
« Last Edit: November 05, 2008, 02:46:50 pm by patmankn »
Hybrid: MSI MS-7329,Nvidia 6150 onboard,AMD BE-2400,2gb RAM,Sharp Aqous LE 37X20E via MD Zotoc Ion Synergy,Terratec 1200 & Cinergy DT USB Diversity DVB-T, KNC ONE TV-Station DVB-C,WebDT366,Fiire Chief http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/User:Patmankn

chriss

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a Pinnacle 310i Digital Freeview PCI card
« Reply #7 on: November 05, 2008, 12:39:49 pm »
I guess providing these firmware files is a little complicated because of copyright issues etc.
Tweaking the download script would be a better idea or even integrating plug'n'play for even more hardware into LMCE ;)

patmankn

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a Pinnacle 310i Digital Freeview PCI card
« Reply #8 on: November 05, 2008, 02:48:45 pm »
Well, this "get-the-f...-ing-DVB-Firmware" script does not always workout. For the td00146 for example, the zip file from the website was moved... or ist not reachable anymore. But maybe that's just me ;O)
Hybrid: MSI MS-7329,Nvidia 6150 onboard,AMD BE-2400,2gb RAM,Sharp Aqous LE 37X20E via MD Zotoc Ion Synergy,Terratec 1200 & Cinergy DT USB Diversity DVB-T, KNC ONE TV-Station DVB-C,WebDT366,Fiire Chief http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/User:Patmankn

solidsquare

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a Pinnacle 310i Digital Freeview PCI card
« Reply #9 on: November 06, 2008, 06:30:00 am »
Thanks for all your advise so far.

Here's where im at now, i found link from a recondmendation  which has the lspci details and dmesg for the 310i & when i compare it to mine it's a little off.

http://www.linuxtv.org/v4lwiki/index.php/Pinnacle_PCTV_310i

My lspci output:
========================================================
01:01.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7133/SAA7135 Video Broadcast Decoder (rev d0)
        Subsystem: Pinnacle Systems Inc. Unknown device 002f
        Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64, IRQ 22
        Memory at efcff800 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=2K]
        Capabilities: <access denied>
========================================================

My dmesg output: (its bloody long)
========================================================
(cut)
34.070675] Linux video capture interface: v2.00
[   34.376190] saa7130/34: v4l2 driver version 0.2.14 loaded
[   34.376240] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:01.0[A] -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
[   34.376248] saa7133[0]: found at 0000:01:01.0, rev: 208, irq: 22, latency: 64, mmio: 0xefcff800
[   34.376254] saa7133[0]: subsystem: 11bd:002f, board: Pinnacle PCTV 310i [card=101,autodetected]
[   34.376262] saa7133[0]: board init: gpio is 600e000
[   34.495188] input: Pinnacle PCTV as /class/input/input5
[   34.495218] ir-kbd-i2c: Pinnacle PCTV detected at i2c-0/0-0047/ir0 [saa7133[0]]
[   34.535113] saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 00: bd 11 2f 00 54 20 1c 00 43 43 a9 1c 55 d2 b2 92
[   34.535125] saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 10: ff e0 60 06 ff 20 ff ff 00 30 8d 2d 2f 62 ff ff
[   34.535135] saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 20: 01 2c 01 02 02 01 04 30 98 ff 00 a5 ff 21 00 c2
[   34.535145] saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 30: 96 10 03 32 15 20 ff ff 0c 22 17 88 03 4a 62 5f
[   34.535155] saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 40: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[   34.535165] saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 50: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[   34.535174] saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 60: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[   34.535184] saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 70: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[   34.623733] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:1b.0[A] -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 20
[   34.623750] PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:1b.0 to 64
[   34.655058] tuner 0-004b: chip found @ 0x96 (saa7133[0])
[   34.711155] tuner 0-004b: setting tuner address to 61
[   34.751139] tuner 0-004b: type set to tda8290+75a
[   35.323925] NET: Registered protocol family 17
[   35.809596] sky2 eth1: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex, flow control rx
[   35.811645] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth1: link becomes ready
[   36.126529] tuner 0-004b: setting tuner address to 61
[   36.166584] tuner 0-004b: type set to tda8290+75a
[   37.501755] saa7133[0]: registered device video0 [v4l2]
[   37.501887] saa7133[0]: registered device vbi0
[   37.502028] saa7133[0]: registered device radio0
[   37.575854] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ctl_add
[   37.575858] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_ctl_add
[   37.575887] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_pcm_new
[   37.575888] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_new
[   37.575952] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_card_register
[   37.575954] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_card_register
[   37.576019] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_card_free
[   37.576021] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_card_free
[   37.576077] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_pcm_stop
[   37.576079] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_stop
[   37.576156] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ctl_new1
[   37.576157] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_ctl_new1
[   37.576309] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_card_new
[   37.576311] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_card_new
[   37.576343] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_pcm_lib_ioctl
[   37.576345] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_lib_ioctl
[   37.576406] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_pcm_set_ops
[   37.576408] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_set_ops
[   37.576505] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_pcm_hw_constraint_integer
[   37.576507] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_hw_constraint_integer
[   37.576641] saa7134_alsa: disagrees about version of symbol snd_pcm_period_elapsed
[   37.576643] saa7134_alsa: Unknown symbol snd_pcm_period_elapsed
[   37.688974] DVB: registering new adapter (saa7133[0]).
[   37.688980] DVB: registering frontend 0 (Philips TDA10046H DVB-T)...
[   37.757902] tda1004x: setting up plls for 48MHz sampling clock
[   37.778207] lp0: using parport0 (interrupt-driven).
[   37.819801] Netfilter messages via NETLINK v0.30.
[   37.828477] nf_conntrack version 0.5.0 (8192 buckets, 65536 max)
[   38.057606] Adding 1959888k swap on /dev/sda5.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:1959888k
[   38.349612] EXT3 FS on sda1, internal journal
[   39.730331] kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
[   39.730343] EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
[   40.013139] tda1004x: timeout waiting for DSP ready
[   40.053124] tda1004x: found firmware revision 0 -- invalid
[   40.053127] tda1004x: trying to boot from eeprom
[   42.380172] tda1004x: timeout waiting for DSP ready
[   42.420163] tda1004x: found firmware revision 0 -- invalid
[   42.420166] tda1004x: waiting for firmware upload...
[   42.476237] tda1004x: no firmware upload (timeout or file not found?)
[   42.476241] tda1004x: firmware upload failed
[   45.342032] No dock devices found.
[   45.522271] input: Power Button (FF) as /class/input/input6
[   45.522417] ACPI: Power Button (FF) [PWRF]
[   45.523272] input: Power Button (CM) as /class/input/input7
[   45.523409] ACPI: Power Button (CM) [PWRB]
[   46.730556] eth1: no IPv6 routers present
[   49.746747] Failure registering capabilities with primary security module.
[   51.495784] ppdev: user-space parallel port driver
[   51.841776] apm: BIOS version 1.2 Flags 0x03 (Driver version 1.16ac)
[   51.841781] apm: disabled - APM is not SMP safe.
[   51.847451] Failure registering capabilities with primary security module.
[   53.388804] ip_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team
[   54.162554] Installing knfsd (copyright (C) 1996 okir@monad.swb.de).
[   54.711210] NFSD: Using /var/lib/nfs/v4recovery as the NFSv4 state recovery directory
[   54.729639] NFSD: starting 90-second grace period
[   56.574785] Failure registering capabilities with primary security module.
[   61.152837] Bluetooth: Core ver 2.11
[   61.153012] NET: Registered protocol family 31
[   61.153016] Bluetooth: HCI device and connection manager initialized
[   61.153019] Bluetooth: HCI socket layer initialized
[   61.171203] Bluetooth: L2CAP ver 2.8
[   61.171207] Bluetooth: L2CAP socket layer initialized
[   61.174207] Bluetooth: RFCOMM socket layer initialized
[   61.174296] Bluetooth: RFCOMM TTY layer initialized
[   61.174299] Bluetooth: RFCOMM ver 1.8
[   61.962956] tda1004x: setting up plls for 48MHz sampling clock
[   64.204912] tda1004x: timeout waiting for DSP ready
[   64.252874] tda1004x: found firmware revision 0 -- invalid
[   64.252879] tda1004x: trying to boot from eeprom
[   66.586919] tda1004x: timeout waiting for DSP ready
[   66.626801] tda1004x: found firmware revision 0 -- invalid
[   66.626804] tda1004x: waiting for firmware upload...
[   66.631784] tda1004x: no firmware upload (timeout or file not found?)
[   66.631824] tda1004x: firmware upload failed
[   67.722868] Zapata Telephony Interface Registered on major 196
[   67.722873] Zaptel Version: 1.4.3
[   67.722874] Zaptel Echo Canceller: MG2
[   67.725516] ztdummy: RTC rate is 1024
[   70.851194] mtrr: type mismatch for d0000000,1000000 old: write-back new: write-combining
[  103.956430] Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver Revision: 7.00alpha2
[  103.956437] ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
[  103.965334] ide0: I/O resource 0x3F6-0x3F6 not free.
[  103.965340] ide0: ports already in use, skipping probe
[  103.965346] ide1: I/O resource 0x376-0x376 not free.
[  103.965349] ide1: ports already in use, skipping probe
[  123.903023] rtc: lost 27 interrupts
[  126.065232] rtc: lost 27 interrupts
[  145.537649] rtc: lost 20 interrupts
[  149.882056] rtc: lost 21 interrupts
[  154.565046] Linux agpgart interface v0.102 (c) Dave Jones
[  156.415867] rtc: lost 27 interrupts
[  158.636976] rtc: lost 27 interrupts
(cut)
[ 1230.850577] rtc: lost 21 interrupts
[ 1248.112028] tda1004x: setting up plls for 48MHz sampling clock
[ 1250.375272] tda1004x: timeout waiting for DSP ready
[ 1250.415257] tda1004x: found firmware revision 0 -- invalid
[ 1250.415261] tda1004x: trying to boot from eeprom
[ 1252.750477] tda1004x: timeout waiting for DSP ready
[ 1252.790463] tda1004x: found firmware revision 0 -- invalid
[ 1252.790466] tda1004x: waiting for firmware upload...
[ 1252.795241] tda1004x: no firmware upload (timeout or file not found?)
[ 1252.795245] tda1004x: firmware upload failed
[ 1282.886045] rtc: lost 24 interrupts
[ 1287.212402] rtc: lost 7 interrupts
(cut)
[ 1618.712144] rtc: lost 27 interrupts
[ 1621.363306] tda1004x: setting up plls for 48MHz sampling clock
[ 1623.610523] tda1004x: timeout waiting for DSP ready
[ 1623.650475] tda1004x: found firmware revision 0 -- invalid
[ 1623.650479] tda1004x: trying to boot from eeprom
[ 1625.973847] tda1004x: timeout waiting for DSP ready
[ 1626.013757] tda1004x: found firmware revision 0 -- invalid
[ 1626.013760] tda1004x: waiting for firmware upload...
[ 1626.018704] tda1004x: no firmware upload (timeout or file not found?)
[ 1626.018708] tda1004x: firmware upload failed
[ 1629.541304] rtc: lost 20 interrupts
[ 1640.365042] rtc: lost 27 interrupts
[ 1696.622888] rtc: lost 26 interrupts
(cut)

==============================================

Now im stuck on this bit, the webpage (link above) tells me to:
"you must run the get_dvb_firmware script in v4l-dvb/linux/Documentation/dvb (from mercurial)
  get_dvb_firmware tda10045
  get_dvb_firmware tda10046

and copy the resulting files to /lib/firmware (need to use the chmod)"


I found on another webpage (link in my 1st post) this:
"linux/Documentation/dvb/get_dvb_firmware tda10046
cp dvb-fe-tda10046.fw /lib/firmware
modprobe saa7134-dvb"


So what i tried is, from the Konsole:
1.
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ cd v4l-dvb/linux/Documentation/dvb
linuxmce@dcerouter:~/v4l-dvb/linux/Documentation/dvb$ get_dvb_firmware tda10046 cp dvb-fe-tda10046.fw /lib/firmware modprobe saa7134-dvb
bash: get_dvb_firmware: command not found

2.
linuxmce@dcerouter:~/v4l-dvb/linux/Documentation/dvb$ sudo get_dvb_firmware tda10046
[sudo] password for linuxmce:
sudo: get_dvb_firmware: command not found

3.
linuxmce@dcerouter:~/v4l-dvb/linux/Documentation/dvb$ get_dvb_firmware tda10046
bash: get_dvb_firmware: command not found






« Last Edit: November 06, 2008, 06:33:38 am by solidsquare »

chriss

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a Pinnacle 310i Digital Freeview PCI card
« Reply #10 on: November 06, 2008, 08:02:25 am »
get_dvb_firmware is a script, so try to run ./get_dvb_firmware