Author Topic: pxe boot over the household power circuit using security?  (Read 1157 times)

roberto99

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • ...dreams of becoming a LMCExpert
    • View Profile
pxe boot over the household power circuit using security?
« on: November 02, 2008, 03:44:43 pm »
Hi all

I am thinking of starting to user Devolo products to build a network over the household power circuit.
For example: http://www.devolo.co.uk/uk_EN/produkte/dLAN/dn-8-mldlanhsstarterkit.html
What I would like to continue doing is to have diskless pxe booting MD's only. So my question is:
Is it possible to pxe boot AND use the security software provided with the hardware?
I am asking this because.... what is done first?.. the boot or the authentification..? Or... do I get it wrong?

Any hints would be appreciated.

thanks and cheers
Roberto

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4506
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: pxe boot over the household power circuit using security?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2008, 08:26:00 pm »
Hi all

I am thinking of starting to user Devolo products to build a network over the household power circuit.
For example: http://www.devolo.co.uk/uk_EN/produkte/dLAN/dn-8-mldlanhsstarterkit.html
What I would like to continue doing is to have diskless pxe booting MD's only. So my question is:
Is it possible to pxe boot AND use the security software provided with the hardware?
I am asking this because.... what is done first?.. the boot or the authentification..? Or... do I get it wrong?

Any hints would be appreciated.

thanks and cheers
Roberto

You should lock the Devolo's to the same authentication code using the utility they provide then just plug them in where you need them and boot your MD's (obviously your Bios settings must be changed to enable PXE boot etc first. Thats it.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

cyf4746

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: pxe boot over the household power circuit using security?
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2008, 07:37:04 am »
Hi.. Roberto. Is your "PXE Boot over household power circuit using security" works? Can you show the setting up steps which we can follows?

Chin (Malaysia)

roberto99

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • ...dreams of becoming a LMCExpert
    • View Profile
Re: pxe boot over the household power circuit using security?
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2008, 10:24:37 pm »
Hi Chin
I have not tried it yet, but a recived a clear anwser from Devolo. I just first need to translate it to english, as it is in german. will try to do that in the next days. but basically: yes, you configure the device first having the corresponding tool installed on a windows machine and once the devices are configured you plug them in where ever you want and so their communication is secured.
cheers
Roberto

cyf4746

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: pxe boot over the household power circuit using security?
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2008, 02:31:43 am »
Hi Chin
I have not tried it yet, but a recived a clear anwser from Devolo. I just first need to translate it to english, as it is in german. will try to do that in the next days. but basically: yes, you configure the device first having the corresponding tool installed on a windows machine and once the devices are configured you plug them in where ever you want and so their communication is secured.
cheers
Roberto

Thanks Roberto. Looking forward to your guides.

roberto99

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • ...dreams of becoming a LMCExpert
    • View Profile
Re: pxe boot over the household power circuit using security?
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2009, 04:30:25 pm »
Hi all
Just want to ad that I will not try this for the moment, cause I decided on wired network. But it seems that you just need to configure the devolo devices (from a windows machine) and then the connection will be ok.

cheers
Roberto

danielmayer

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: pxe boot over the household power circuit using security?
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2009, 10:33:24 am »
I tried a pair of 200Mbit Devolos. The data rate was too low for my needs. A file transfer was about 5-6 MByte/sec, going from 0-level to cellar and back to 0-level.
I'd always prefer CAT7 LAN cables.
Server: Ubuntu 10.04A2, 1xL5520 on Asus Z8-PED12X, 12GB, 300GB U320Raid0, 8TB HDDs@Adaptec 2820SA + 8TB@Perc 5/E. LMCE via KVM (running); other VMs;
Workstation: W7x64, 2xOpteron 2376, 24GB, 146 GB-SSD-Raid0, ATI 4850
MD: Asrock nv630i, 2GB