Author Topic: Fiire Chief  (Read 42104 times)

colinjones

• Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
    • View Profile
Re: Fiire Chief
« Reply #75 on: January 25, 2008, 01:03:41 am »
Richard

Absolutely agreed! Its tiny! Very silly design (and thank god I'm slightly colour blind, because the brown is aweful!)

Moving your finger over to the OK button tends to move the pointer around, so its awkward even with mouse sensitivity set to minimum.

The menu button is the more logical for select, but I'm not sure that the template logic will allow such context sensitive actions? Also, it would then stop you being able to click straight into the menu from the media or vol/light options.

jetrich

• Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #76 on: January 25, 2008, 03:30:53 am »
I've been using the Fiire remote for about 3 months now and have gotten used the sensitivity of the remote. However, I tend to think that I would enjoy a web tablet a bit more. The placement of the buttons is a bit awkward, but overall the remote is definitely a nice addition. Web tablets are just so much more expensive...

Jason
Silverstone LC20M (silver)
Fiire Chief
Asus A8N-E
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Skystar 2
Hauppauge WinTV-PVR 150 MCE
PNY 7300GT
Sony XL1B3
Sherwood RVD-6090 (needs replaced)
32" RCA SDTV

RichardP

• Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #77 on: January 25, 2008, 04:34:56 am »
I've been using the Fiire remote for about 3 months now and have gotten used the sensitivity of the remote. Jason

So what's your opinion of the OK button? Would it be better to use one of the larger, more central buttons? Or is there another way to select what the pointer is hovering over other than the OK button? Or is the small button something you get used to. As you've said, the placement of the buttons is awkward, but the OK button is a pretty important one.

Don't forget also that it's not just us. The remote must be used easily by others in the family, including the wife and visitors.

Best Regards,
Richard.
Best Regards,