Author Topic: initialize_LMdevice connect failure  (Read 3526 times)

bblboy54

  • Guest
initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« on: October 15, 2008, 11:12:29 pm »
I'm a little clueless on what is going on here but I'm trying to figure it out and would appreciate any insight.  I received my Gyration remote today and I plugged it in to the MD in my living room....  it installed it and some of the keys worked but the system started acting kind of weird so I just gave the MD a reboot.  Upon rebooting the launch manager errors out when trying to connect to something.....  the error is "initialize_LM device: connect failed" or something similar to those words.  I decided I'd just set up the MD again so I deleted it from the core and rebooted.....  it netboots to the point of announcing to the router and then thats it.  I tried rebooting the core and had the same results.

Eventually I decided to go down to my crawlspace where my core is at and I found that the same error was starting and the core services were not launching.  I went to the connection tab and noticed that the core ip was set as "localhost" and for some reason I remembered this being "dcerouter" previously....  I tried changing that with no luck.  I did a "netstat -a |grep LISTEN" and found that port 3877 was listening for something and then checked pluto.conf which had (I think) 3450...  doing a "telnet dcerouter 3450" and a "telnet localhost 3450" gave connection refused.  I tried "telnet dcerouter 3877" and something responded.  I tried changing the port in pluto.conf to 3877 but this didn't fix the problem either.

Here is a snip of DCERouter.log:

1   10/15/08 16:50:42   DCERouter (server)   Starting... 59
Wed Oct 15 16:50:42 EDT 2008 Starting
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.299      Loaded plug-in device: 3 master device: 10 -- ./File_Grids_Plugin.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.300      Loaded plug-in device: 4 master device: 27 -- ./General_Info_Plugin.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.301      Loaded plug-in device: 5 master device: 31 -- ./Climate_Plugin.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.301      Loaded plug-in device: 6 master device: 9 -- ./Datagrid_Plugin.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.301      Loaded plug-in device: 7 master device: 39 -- ./Infrared_Plugin.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.302      Loaded plug-in device: 8 master device: 32 -- ./Lighting_Plugin.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.303      Loaded plug-in device: 9 master device: 12 -- ./Orbiter_Plugin.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.304      Loaded plug-in device: 10 master device: 2 -- ./Media_Plugin.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.305      Loaded plug-in device: 11 master device: 34 -- ./Telecom_Plugin.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.306      Loaded plug-in device: 12 master device: 52 -- ./Event_Plugin.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.306      Loaded plug-in device: 13 master device: 33 -- ./Security_Plugin.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.307      Loaded plug-in device: 14 master device: 1809 -- ./Plug_And_Play_Plugin.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.307      Loaded plug-in device: 23 master device: 6 -- ./Xine_Plugin.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.308      Loaded plug-in device: 32 master device: 36 -- ./MythTV_PlugIn.so <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.401      Plugin 3 activated <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.486      Plugin 4 activated <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.569      Plugin 5 activated <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.653      Plugin 6 activated <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.738      Plugin 7 activated <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.821      Plugin 8 activated <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:43.941      Plugin 9 activated <0xb6c436c0>
01   10/15/08 16:50:44.035      Device_EntertainArea refers to a NULL device 1 17 <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:44.051      Plugin 10 activated <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:44.138      Phone device 21 with extension 200 <0xb6c436c0>
01   10/15/08 16:50:44.141      Telecom_Plugin::GetConfig - no pbx device <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:44.141      Plugin 11 activated <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:44.231      Plugin 12 activated <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:44.318      Plugin 13 activated <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:44.403      Plugin 14 activated <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:44.489      Plugin 23 activated <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:44.581      Plugin 32 activated <0xb6c436c0>
08   10/15/08 16:50:44.593      Received Message from 11 (Telecom Plug-in / Crawl Space) to 0 (unknown / ), type 1 id 922 Command:Send Asterisk Status, retry retry, parameters: <0xa7eebb90>
05   10/15/08 16:50:44.628      MythTV_PlugIn::SetPaths: won't create tv_shows for device 0. We are probably out of sync! <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:44.628      MythTV_PlugIn::SetPaths: won't create tv_shows for device 0. We are probably out of sync! <0xb6c436c0>
05   10/15/08 16:50:44.628      MythTV_PlugIn::SetPaths: won't create tv_shows for device 0. We are probably out of sync! <0xb6c436c0>
Return code: 139
3   10/15/08 16:50:44   DCERouter (server)   Device died... count=59/200 dev=DCERouter
Wed Oct 15 16:50:44 EDT 2008 died


And here is some of LaunchManager.log:

05   10/15/08 16:44:24.600      Trying to connect to DCERouter, attempt 9 of 10 <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:24.602      Connecting to router at dcerouter <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:25.601      Connect() failed, Error Code 111 (Connection refused)) <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:26.601      Connect() failed, Error Code 111 (Connection refused)) <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:27.601      Connect() failed, Error Code 111 (Connection refused)) <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:28.601      Connect() failed, Error Code 111 (Connection refused)) <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:29.601      Connect() failed, Error Code 111 (Connection refused)) <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:30.601      Connect() failed, Error Code 111 (Connection refused)) <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:32.601      Socket::ReceiveData 0x8269548 failed, bytes left 0 start: 730000 1: 0 1b: 0 2: 0 2b: 0 m_Socket: 11 Event Dev #1 <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:32.601      Socket::ReceiveString2 ReceiveData failed m_Socket: -1 Event Dev #1 <0xb68528d0>
01   10/15/08 16:44:32.601      DCE Router cannot give us config: ReceiveData failed <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:32.604      initialize_LMdevice: Connect failed <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:32.605      initialize_LMdevice: Not retrying <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:32.605      Trying to connect to DCERouter, attempt 10 of 10 <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:32.607      Connecting to router at dcerouter <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:33.605      Connect() failed, Error Code 111 (Connection refused)) <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:34.605      Connect() failed, Error Code 111 (Connection refused)) <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:35.605      Connect() failed, Error Code 111 (Connection refused)) <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:36.605      Connect() failed, Error Code 111 (Connection refused)) <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:37.605      Connect() failed, Error Code 111 (Connection refused)) <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:39.605      Socket::ReceiveData 0x8269548 failed, bytes left 0 start: 740000 1: 0 1b: 0 2: 0 2b: 0 m_Socket: 11 Event Dev #1 <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:39.605      Socket::ReceiveString2 ReceiveData failed m_Socket: -1 Event Dev #1 <0xb68528d0>
01   10/15/08 16:44:39.605      DCE Router cannot give us config: ReceiveData failed <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:39.608      initialize_LMdevice: Connect failed <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:39.609      initialize_LMdevice: Not retrying <0xb68528d0>
05   10/15/08 16:44:39.611      Failed to connect to DCERouter! <0xb68528d0>


bblboy54

  • Guest
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2008, 11:17:37 pm »
I just also noticed this:

linuxmce@dcerouter:/var/log/pluto$ tail UpdateEntArea.log
01   10/15/08 16:40:37.272      Connect failed Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2) <0xb6d526c0>
01   10/15/08 16:40:37.272      Cannot connect to database! <0xb6d526c0>
01   10/15/08 16:40:37.272      Cannot connect to database <0xb6d526c0>
01   10/15/08 16:40:42.343      Connect failed Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2) <0xb6d046c0>
01   10/15/08 16:40:42.343      Cannot connect to database! <0xb6d046c0>
01   10/15/08 16:40:42.343      Cannot connect to database <0xb6d046c0>
01   10/15/08 16:40:47.413      Connect failed Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2) <0xb6d376c0>
01   10/15/08 16:40:47.414      Cannot connect to database! <0xb6d376c0>
01   10/15/08 16:40:47.414      Cannot connect to database <0xb6d376c0>
linuxmce@dcerouter:/var/log/pluto$


Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2008, 12:16:02 am »
Is the mysql server running on that machine? 
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2008, 01:12:29 am »
Really would be a good idea not to start changing port numbers. Particularly 3450 as this is the standard DCERouter port and will likely mean that none of your DCE devices will be able to connect the DCERouter.

Port 3877 could be just about anything, you will find many ports listening on a box all the time, don't get spooked by them! The IANA registered use for that port is xmpcr-interface which is something to do with an old satellite radio system that is now obscelete...

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2008, 03:20:17 am »
Port 3877 is the UPnP signalling port.

Port 3450 is the DCE Router port
Port 3451 is the Proxy Orbiter port

do not change these ports.

-Thom

bblboy54

  • Guest
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2008, 06:05:41 am »
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ ps ax |grep sql
 4585 pts/8    S+     0:00 grep sql
 5552 ?        S      0:00 /bin/sh /usr/bin/mysqld_safe
 5648 ?        Sl     0:52 /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir=/usr --datadir=/var/lib/mysql --user=mysql --pid-file=/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.pid --skip-external-locking --port=3306 --socket=/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock
 5649 ?        S      0:00 logger -p daemon.err -t mysqld_safe -i -t mysqld
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$


I wasn't really spooked by other ports listening but it was the fact that port 3450 isn't responding.  I tried 3877 and then I changed it back to 3450.  Still having the same results.

linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ telnet dcerouter 3450
Trying 192.168.5.1...
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection refused
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$

That would make sense on why it's giving the error that dcerouter could not give a config -- since it can't even talk to it.  What process is it that listens on 3450?

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2008, 07:00:58 am »
Try telnet 192.168.80.1 3450

You are trying to connect to the external interface....

bblboy54

  • Guest
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2008, 04:07:37 pm »
Try telnet 192.168.80.1 3450

You are trying to connect to the external interface....

192.168.5.x is the internal address.  I changed it to match the configuration of my other systems in the house.  My external interface receives DHCP directly from my cable modem.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2008, 04:12:28 pm »
Please do not change the internal address until you've verified everything working at the factory settings. You are a bit too trigger happy to mess with things, when you haven't gotten the system running fully.. stop it! step back.. and do a clean install all default, with our recommended configuration and settings.. and when THAT works... _THEN_ tweak.

-Thom

bblboy54

  • Guest
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2008, 04:24:58 pm »
Please do not change the internal address until you've verified everything working at the factory settings. You are a bit too trigger happy to mess with things, when you haven't gotten the system running fully.. stop it! step back.. and do a clean install all default, with our recommended configuration and settings.. and when THAT works... _THEN_ tweak.


It *WAS* working with that internal address and just decided to stop.  I don't have the ability to not change the address without a LOT of work of changing multiple device's configurations or runing cabling through my house for a completely seperate network.  I'm trying to find ways to make this work but if I'm going to get yelled at every time I venture off slightly then no one will ever actually figure out WHY this problem is happening.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2008, 04:30:17 pm »
Please follow the network configuration on the FAQ. The fact is that you're changing things from the way they were designed/intended, so there are consequences.

Please do not take this wrong, but I am being as blunt and honest as I can be: You do not know enough of how things work underneath to just start going around and fiddling with configuration. If you do, at this point, things will break horribly, as has been demonstrated.

Once the default configuration is working properly, THEN you can tweak it, because at that point, you're starting from a known configuration, something that WE can help you with.

-Thom



colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2008, 04:47:40 am »
What you're saying doesn't make any sense.

The "internal" network is a new network, specifically for LMCE, that didn't exist before - so how can there be a pre-existing requirement for a specific subnet range for a network that didn't previously exist?

Also, everything on that network is supposed to be set to DHCP, so you don't have to change anything on those devices.

If you are, in fact, trying to set this up as a single NIC, or single subnet, or worse yet combining the two subnets on the same ethernet broadcast domain/switch, then you needed to explain that beforehand. That would be the only situation I can envisage where you might need specific subnets.... and if that is the case, my advice is simple ... do not do that.

bblboy54

  • Guest
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2008, 04:54:59 am »
What you're saying doesn't make any sense.

The "internal" network is a new network, specifically for LMCE, that didn't exist before - so how can there be a pre-existing requirement for a specific subnet range for a network that didn't previously exist?

Also, everything on that network is supposed to be set to DHCP, so you don't have to change anything on those devices.

If you are, in fact, trying to set this up as a single NIC, or single subnet, or worse yet combining the two subnets on the same ethernet broadcast domain/switch, then you needed to explain that beforehand. That would be the only situation I can envisage where you might need specific subnets.... and if that is the case, my advice is simple ... do not do that.

I have a couple workstations, print servers, and other network enabled devices which I have configured staticly and shares between those specific IP addresses and I was using an IPcop firewall.  Because I know that LMCE needs to be able to assign DHCP to the devices behind it I turned the IPcop box off and just allowed LMCE to take over that function.  In this case, the internal network DOES have existing devices because LMCE is taking over for what IPcop was previously doing.  If I was to build LMCE on a seperate network I would have to run additional cable throughout my house.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2008, 05:14:51 am »
Then you need to read the FAQ, and use two network cards.

-Thom

bblboy54

  • Guest
Re: initialize_LMdevice connect failure
« Reply #14 on: October 17, 2008, 05:16:12 am »
WTF... I *AM* using 2 network cards.... The cable modem is connected to one and the internal network is connected to the other.....  read what I wrote.