Author Topic: Mythtv ande ivtv after 0.37  (Read 1025 times)

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Mythtv ande ivtv after 0.37
« on: February 22, 2006, 03:11:26 pm »
Hi,

I have my mythtv live tv channels snowing. I didn't make any changes to setup since 0.36.

Cause I get Black and white OSD, I changed from XvMC to default, but after reboot setting was again to XvMC.

Is there anything new in mythtv setup under Pluto ?

Anyone with working bttv or ivtv card in 0.37 ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Rob.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Mythtv ande ivtv after 0.37
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2006, 05:15:21 pm »
I have lost the ability to use MythTV as well.  I think I have found the problem, but unfortunately I have not found the solution.  I found this message in the IVTV mailing list posted 2.21.06 newbielink:http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/ivtv/devel/28313 [nonactive]

This message is exactly what I am seeing in my logs with one exception I have 2 PVR250 cards and either are having the tuners set properly.  I am eagerly awaiting the response on the IVTV list for a possible fix.  

Try search the dmesg and see if you see messages like:
ivtv0: i2c attach to card0 ok [client=(tuner unset), addr=61]
Tuner 2-0061 not set

These are the errors that I am seeing which leads me to believe that it is related the IVTV and Kernel issues given all of the recent changes to how the modules are loaded and which modules need to be loaded (ie kernel vs. compiled modules)

I hope this helps,

Rob

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Mythtv ande ivtv after 0.37
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2006, 06:41:04 pm »
Quote from: "rwilson131"
I have lost the ability to use MythTV as well.  I think I have found the problem, but unfortunately I have not found the solution.  I found this message in the IVTV mailing list posted 2.21.06 newbielink:http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/ivtv/devel/28313 [nonactive]

Yes, I'm seeing same thing. DCERouter also runs out of memory occasionally.


This message is exactly what I am seeing in my logs with one exception I have 2 PVR250 cards and either are having the tuners set properly.  I am eagerly awaiting the response on the IVTV list for a possible fix.  

Try search the dmesg and see if you see messages like:
ivtv0: i2c attach to card0 ok [client=(tuner unset), addr=61]
Tuner 2-0061 not set

These are the errors that I am seeing which leads me to believe that it is related the IVTV and Kernel issues given all of the recent changes to how the modules are loaded and which modules need to be loaded (ie kernel vs. compiled modules)

I hope this helps,

Rob
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
dcerouter_260:~$ dmesg | grep tuner
tuner 5-0061: tuner type not set
tuner 5-0061: tuner type not set
tuner 5-0061: tuner type not set
tuner 5-0061: tuner type not set


Hmm, Pluto is getting better and better, ivtv is less and less reliable. I feel like in Casino - there is 50% chance that I'll see something and 50% to not  :D

Please, keep info posted to this thread...

Regards,

Rob.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Mythtv ande ivtv after 0.37
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2006, 02:35:24 am »
I have found a solution for this problem.  According to the IVTV website, we should be using the kernel modules given the fact that we are using the 2.6.15 kernel lines.  After searching the kernel modules, they are all rename to *.ko.saved.  I mv the following modules back to .ko in the following directory:
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
cd /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/media/video/
mv msp3400.ko.saved msp3400.ko
mv tveeprom.ko.saved tveeprom.ko
mv tuner.ko.saved tuner.ko
mv saa7115.ko.saved saa7115.ko

then I did the following:
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
cd /lib/modules/`uname -r`/extra
mv msp3400.ko msp3400.ko.old
mv tveeprom.ko tveeprom.ko.old
mv tuner.ko tuner.ko.old
mv saa7115.ko saa7115.ko.old


Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
depmod -ae

I rebooted simply basic I can not figure out how to remove all of the required modules, as described on the ivtvdriver.org website

Now I have a work MythTV Box again.  

Rob