Author Topic: Outside access with static ip  (Read 2071 times)

bemficag

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Outside access with static ip
« on: October 16, 2008, 07:42:29 pm »
I have a core/hybrid LinuxMCE 0710, as below:
Motherboard:BIOSTAR TForce TF7050-M2 AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 7050PV HDMI Micro ATX AMD       
Processor: AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual Core 5600+
Memory: 2gb
5 HD: One for the system and others 4 running on raid 4
 
... and recently I got static ip (SMS Gateway model: SMC8014) from Comcast. I've tried to setup the outside access but this doesn't work. I tried to follow the instruction from the Guides (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Web_Orbiter). So, has someone any idea what's  happening?

Thanks

itspac

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
Re: Outside access with static ip
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2008, 09:11:04 pm »
might need more detail, does your gateway from the isp have a firewall? Are the needed ports open?  etc etc

bemficag

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Outside access with static ip
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2008, 09:33:33 pm »
On my gateway the firewall is set as below:

Firewall options
 [ ] Disable Firewall for True Static IP Subnet Only
 [ ] Disable Gateway Smart Packet Detection
 [ ] Disable Ping on WAN Interface

Port Configuration
 Port Forwarding: *No port added
 Port Triggering:* No port added
 Port Blocking: * No port added
 True Static IP Port Management: * No port added

Web Site Blocking
 * Unable (Blank)

DMZ
 * Unable

1-to-1 NAT
 * Blank

thanks

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5496
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Outside access with static ip
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2008, 09:39:02 pm »
Let the LMCE core be the gateway. Set the DMZ to the IP of your LMCE server.

Then, go to wizard > remote access, and select the checkbox for [ ] Web site access on port 80.

You can then access the web orbiter from the outside. But you must set up the network as we describe. Either connect directly to the modem, or if you must have a router in the way, let LMCE be the DMZ and connect all of the other computers to the second network card on your core, via a switch.

-Thom

bemficag

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Outside access with static ip
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2008, 10:45:59 pm »
Hey Thom,

Let me tell you what I did. I went to the router and set the DMZ as below:

DMZ
 DMZ allows the selected computer to bypass the firewall features of the gateway and permits unrestricted access from the Internet to that computer.
 
  • Enable DMZ Host


Please enter the IP address of the compute that you wish to add to the DMZ below.
 [10.1.10.170]

So, I put the LMCE external_ip on the gateway, then I checked the box for Web site access on port 80. Ok, then I rebooted the computer and also the router. But when I try to access by web (http://mystaticip/pluto-admin/weborbiter.php), its dosent work.

what i did wrong??

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5496
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Outside access with static ip
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2008, 12:14:45 am »
That is all you need to do. If this isn't working, this means that your router isn't routing all the way through. Either a firewall setting is blocking packets, or you are routing to the wrong address.

Again, I highly recommend that you set up the network like we mention in the FAQ, to save you anguish, and we can better support you.

-Thom

bblboy54

  • Guest
Re: Outside access with static ip
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2008, 10:35:47 am »
It looks like Comcast plays some serious games with the firmware on the SMC8014.  Doing a google search turns up a lot of people complaining about weird pass-through issues (most notably, VPN).  You might want to try download firmware for the device directly from SMC and flashing it with that.  Your best bet is probably going to be to just go get a simple Motorola cable modem and send that gateway box back to comcast and save yourself the rental fee.

los93sol

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 396
    • View Profile
Re: Outside access with static ip
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2008, 03:21:03 pm »
Is there some linux alternative to gotomypc.com so you wouldn't need to have a static IP to connect reliably all the time?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5496
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Outside access with static ip
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2008, 05:14:11 pm »
we have an intelligent remote assistance tunnel built into the system, this could be extended for remote desktop usage at some point in the future. Enterprising developers welcome.

-Thom

bblboy54

  • Guest
Re: Outside access with static ip
« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2008, 09:30:46 pm »
Is there some linux alternative to gotomypc.com so you wouldn't need to have a static IP to connect reliably all the time?

There is a way of doing this with TightVNC but I've never personally done it.  You could maybe search the TightVNC site for some information.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5496
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Outside access with static ip
« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2008, 09:34:45 pm »
TightVNC could be integrated, with x11vnc on the core. I've been doing some thinking about this, and might want to open up a separate thread in developers for developing this as a packaged feature, that not only has access to the core, but also individual workstations inside the house.

-Thom


bblboy54

  • Guest
Re: Outside access with static ip
« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2008, 10:16:34 pm »
TightVNC could be integrated, with x11vnc on the core. I've been doing some thinking about this, and might want to open up a separate thread in developers for developing this as a packaged feature, that not only has access to the core, but also individual workstations inside the house.

That would actually be very handy for people like me that put their core in their crawlspace and out of the way.  The problem with "out of the way" is when you need to be there :)

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5496
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Outside access with static ip
« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2008, 10:31:42 pm »
well, we do have a remote assistance feature already in place, this allows interested parties to connect to an installation over ssh, and provides access to the web admin.

-Thom