Author Topic: Is your PVR 150, 250, 500 etc  (Read 1087 times)

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Is your PVR 150, 250, 500 etc
« on: January 05, 2009, 09:59:45 pm »
Is your PVR 150, 250, 500 etc picture quality relatively the same quality as the on board tuner of your TV? Mine seems quite choppy and pixelated, and I am not sure if its just the tuner card or if it is my md/core. It would be tough for me to believe that it is my LMCE setup since I can stream multiple movies at a time with no problems. I wonder if I have a bad card or something.

my setup is a pvr 150 in the PCI slot on my core (Dell optiplex, 3ghz, 4gb ram, 100/1000 switch) (MD is 2.8ghz, 1gb ram, motherboard VGA output) tuner card is using the coax input. It really has problems on sports or any fast moving scenes where the camera is scrolling across an image.

My MD currently only has a 10/100 Nic, but I would think that a DVD quality movie would be more data than streaming SD TV. I am just using VGA output of the MD, maybe this is a problem. Although once again it plays movies without a hitch.

Dale_K

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: Is your PVR 150, 250, 500 etc
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2009, 11:34:05 pm »
I'm using a PVR250 in a Fiire Invisible box and I'm having no problems with SD video through the SVideo port.  My MD connects to my TV through the HDMI port.

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: Is your PVR 150, 250, 500 etc
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2009, 11:58:08 pm »
Is there any noticeable difference between watching tv through the md via the pvr 250 and just flipping the input on your tv to its own tuner?
The difference with mine is very easily detected, maybe its because its a 50" tv, or maybe maybe my card sucks (it was used when i bought it) maybe I need an add on video card.

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Is your PVR 150, 250, 500 etc
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2009, 12:30:48 am »
After setting the recording quality from default to High within Myth, my PVR 150 is on par with other analog stations.  The digital stations through the cable box/TV are much better, even ones in SD.  Not that it matters much to me any longer, I've quit using my analog only pvr due to the cable company converting stations to digital. 

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Is your PVR 150, 250, 500 etc
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2009, 12:42:00 am »
On my PVR500, I can't tell the difference between my satellite box connected directly to my TV via Svideo, and my satellite box connected to the PVR500 via Svideo. I was actually quite impressed the first time I seen it.

freymann

  • Douchebag
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
Re: Is your PVR 150, 250, 500 etc
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2009, 01:42:57 am »
I run SVideo out from both dish receivers to my PVR 150's... Picture quality has always been excellent.

I've even changed the recording profile in MythTV to 16:9 on the SD signal, as all our main viewing stations are now wide screen.

I don't notice any difference in picture quality.

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1104
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • Mah Website
Re: Is your PVR 150, 250, 500 etc
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2009, 01:50:56 am »
I have a pvr-500 with ok picture quality. Direct AV looks way better.

Then there is the pvr-150, which looks almost exactly the same.

All are connected with RCA cables.
Official Releases
http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiter-release.apk latest Qt4 android apk  http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiterQt5-release.apk for the Qt5 Android version http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiter-release.dmg for the MacOSX version

Unstable Nightlies
http://langstonball.com/downloads

powerbits

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Is your PVR 150, 250, 500 etc
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2009, 11:51:47 am »
Shame with a LCD TV , the PVR does not do HD video