Author Topic: adding more hard disks :-) solved  (Read 903 times)

canzi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
adding more hard disks :-) solved
« on: November 03, 2008, 02:33:33 pm »
Hi all
I love the product so far but im stuck
i have a 500 gig hardware core mirror as my system drive configured with linuxmce filesystem
and i have a 1000 gig (1TB) core hardware raid 5 with all my old files on it

i mounted the 1TB to /mnt/bigdrive and could resynchronize i can see the files but i cant play any media

i guess im asking what is the right way to add this volume and get all my media working at all stations :-)

cheers for any help

Steve
« Last Edit: November 06, 2008, 10:41:48 am by canzi »

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: adding more hard disks - help needed :-)
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2008, 03:31:24 pm »
Please do not manually mount disks.
Please do NOT manually mount disks.

If there is a partition on the disk, and it is formatted, LinuxMCE will offer to appropriate it and replicate it house wide. Unmount the disk, reboot, and let LinuxMCE handle it.

No, there is no difference, the disk can be anywhere. On the core, on a media director, or as a NAS brick.

-Thom

canzi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: adding more hard disks - help needed :-)
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2008, 12:16:38 am »
cheers this is just the answer i was looking for

the install of kubuntu mounted it in /media and im guessing this is why linuxmce didn't see it

many thanks

Steve

canzi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: adding more hard disks - help needed :-)
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2008, 01:40:43 am »
ok more help needed :-)

I removed from fstab and rebooted but nothing was detected
reading another post i tried to manually create an 'Internal HDD #1790' but this isn't working, maybe because there is no UUID field

i know the disk array works cause i can mount it in fstab

maybe this info can help
   My devices
      CORE
         DCERouter
            File Grids Plug-in
            General Info Plug-in
            Climate Plug-in
            Datagrid Plug-in
            Infrared Plug-in
            Lighting Plug-in
            Orbiter Plug-in
            Media Plug-in
            Telecom Plug-in
            Event Plug-in
            Security Plug-in
            Plug And Play Plug-in
            Xine Plug-in
            MythTV Plug-In
         App Server
         HAL
         Asterisk
         Text To Speech
         EMMA - EMMA
         MARIA-PC - MARIA-PC
         STEPHENSPC - STEPHENSPC
         External Media Identifier
      Generic PC as MD
         App Server
         OnScreen Orbiter
            Orbiter Embedded Phone
            Xine Player
            Photo Screen Saver
            MPlayer Player
            MythTV Player
         HAL
         CK804
         Disk Drive
         External Media Identifier
         ST3160827AS (sda4)-Generic PC
      Add top level device



in fstab the working device is (currently commended out)
#UUID=58b17e5a-277f-4785-84ca-ce8842018094 /mnt/bigdrive   ext3    defaults,user_xattr 0       2

root@dcerouter:~# ls -l /dev/disk/by-uuid/58b17e5a-277f-4785-84ca-ce8842018094
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 2008-11-05 22:29 /dev/disk/by-uuid/58b17e5a-277f-4785-84ca-ce8842018094 -> ../../sdb1

hope someone can help, cause im lost

thanks in advance

Steve

canzi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: adding more hard disks - help needed :-) - unsolved
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2008, 10:40:31 am »
:-D
sorted
from my MDi just needed to choose the room my core was in, then it discovered the disk :-D

thanks all

Steve