Author Topic: Touchscreens  (Read 2699 times)

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Touchscreens
« on: September 11, 2008, 09:46:46 pm »
Greetings,

I'm looking for some touchscreen suggestions/options.  (Yes, I've searched the forums)
I'm looking for info on what kind work well and how to set them up.  Are there touch screen remotes that can used in some form?
I've also seen posts on using windows and running the orbiter on there.  Does that work well?

All suggestions and info welcome.

Thank you.


Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Touchscreens
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2008, 01:27:55 am »
As well as the forum, the wiki is also a good source of info.

Hari has covered most of them from the WIKI.  I use one of these:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/XDAIIi

I found this very easy to set up. I had only been using the system and Linux a few hours when I added it.

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Touchscreens
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2008, 07:51:40 pm »
I thought I read somewhere that UI2 didn't work with any touchscreens.  Is this still the case?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Touchscreens
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2008, 12:15:41 am »
I thought I read somewhere that UI2 didn't work with any touchscreens.  Is this still the case?
wth would somebody use UI2 for a touchscreen?
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

ogir

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Touchscreens
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2008, 12:52:43 am »
3 Reasons:

Windows Style - "Media" -> "Videos"
iPhone Style - scrolling through Media
MCE Style - all the rest

BTW: Great job guys, i love it more and more :D
Considering Microsoft, i can understand why mankind invented gas chambers and the electric chair.

wombiroller

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
Re: Touchscreens
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2008, 06:59:32 am »
3 Reasons:

Windows Style - "Media" -> "Videos"
iPhone Style - scrolling through Media
MCE Style - all the rest

BTW: Great job guys, i love it more and more :D

Agree that UI2 via touchscreen could be useful - but as per this thread: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5434.0 - UI2 is not currently designed to support it.

If you would like to try your luck in HA Designer you might be able to get it to work though... ;)

Cheers,
WR

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Touchscreens
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2008, 12:20:41 pm »
Quote
Agree that UI2 via touchscreen could be useful

did you ever try it?
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

wombiroller

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
Re: Touchscreens
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2008, 12:37:29 pm »
Quote
Agree that UI2 via touchscreen could be useful

did you ever try it?

Nope.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Touchscreens
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2008, 12:50:06 pm »
Quote
Agree that UI2 via touchscreen could be useful

did you ever try it?

Nope.
ok, that explains..

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Touchscreens
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2008, 08:57:47 pm »
UI2's mechanics are NOT designed for touch screen, and are awkward to use on a touch screen.

-Thom

wombiroller

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
Re: Touchscreens
« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2008, 08:41:33 am »
Quote
Agree that UI2 via touchscreen could be useful

did you ever try it?

Nope.
ok, that explains..

best regards,
Hari

Not sure I quite understand, but just to clarify - when I say I "Agree that UI2 via touchscreen could be useful" I am thinking about scenarios such as;

* Having an MD Touch screen in the kitchen, where you wouldn't want multiple input devices. This would make for no fuss access method at the same time as giving you access to the web browser and media...

Anyway - Realise this isn't possible currently and I don't even have a touch screen device to use - I had just read that other thread before and figured it may be of use.

Cheers,
WR.


hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Touchscreens
« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2008, 11:57:11 pm »
whats wrong with UI1 on the kitchen's touchscreen?
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

wombiroller

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
Re: Touchscreens
« Reply #13 on: September 18, 2008, 02:15:19 am »
whats wrong with UI1 on the kitchen's touchscreen?
Good question - actually probably nothing. I am so used to UI1 on my Nokia n810 that I was thinking you couldn't view video/media or use the web browser (i.e it was essentially just an orbiter).  My bad  ::)

rages

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
    • View Profile
Re: Touchscreens
« Reply #14 on: September 19, 2008, 08:27:59 pm »
hi, I use a 3M-touchscreen 17" on my hybrid/core, but after the core server start the touch don'work.  ???

I try with U1 and U2 but don't work.

Sorry for my english  :P
« Last Edit: September 19, 2008, 08:29:59 pm by rages »