Author Topic: Problem's getting AVWizard up and runnig  (Read 3595 times)

Sijjin

• View Profile
Problem's getting AVWizard up and runnig
« on: September 07, 2008, 11:20:33 pm »
First of I am totally new to Linux, so use layman’s terms pleas.
I’m having trouble installing Linux MCE on my Media Centre PC.

After I installed the software, I just get a black screen, instead of the AV setup.

I have read trough the information found on; http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/AVWizard_Step_by_Step

That explains the problem, I Think.
I only have DVI ports on my graphics card, so it must have something to do with the connections.
The AVWizard says that I need to listen for some bibs then press Shift, this presents a problem for me since my cabinet doesn’t have any speaker that I can connect to the main board, so I can’t hear ant bibs.

I also tried using a DVI / VGA converter, and hocked it up to an old monitor, but it still didn’t work.

Any suggestions?

My Hardware setup;
Asus P5K, Intel P35, LGA775                 
GigaByte NX76T256D-RH, 7600GT, 256MB
Kingston HyperX KHX6400D2K2/2G - Kit         
NorthQ NQ4300GP-FL 400W, Fanless PSU         
Samsung SP F1, 500GB, SATAII, 16MB           
Core 2 Duo E4600, BOX, LGA775 

Crumble

• Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Problem's getting AVWizard up and runnig
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2008, 01:24:47 am »
Which version are you using for install?  i'd recommend the i386 dvd installation route, there seems to be more support for it at this time and seems to work without alot of tweaking.  Are you getting a kubuntu screen before it goes blank?  if so then you deffinately just need to read this.  http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/AVWizard

Crumble

colinjones

• Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2008, 01:25:21 am »
Assuming that you have pressed the 1-9 & 0 buttons on your keyboard as needed to select the output and resolution? If not, look that up first and try it.