Author Topic: Web Orbiter with Iphone 3g  (Read 1907 times)

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Web Orbiter with Iphone 3g
« on: September 06, 2008, 01:56:06 pm »
Hello All,

I recently purchased the Iphone 3G and am attempting to use it as a Web Orbiter.  I've been able to connect to MD using my WiFi connection, but when I try to select "TV" or "Video" or any of the other options, nothing happens.  Can someone explain how this is supposed to work?  I followed the instructions to letter, but not sure my configuration is working properly.  Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Web Orbiter with Iphone 3g
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2008, 04:57:28 pm »
I guess I forgot to mention that I also have the same problem when I connect to my MD using my Laptop as a Web Orbiter.   I've been over both the Web Orbiter install guide, as well as numerous posting on the forum, but I can't seem to find any reason why my setup isn't working.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3

jonsnipes

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Web Orbiter with Iphone 3g
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2008, 04:03:40 pm »
your. Post inspired me to give it a try too. It works however it takes a good bit of time for it to load my first video and when I went into the second video got hung up in a refresh loop and never played. Try to give it a minute and see if it'll load
-Jon

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Web Orbiter with Iphone 3g
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2008, 06:26:35 pm »
Thanks Jon,

I'll give it a shot tonight, and report my findings.
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3

samuelmukoti

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Web Orbiter with Iphone 3g
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2008, 03:56:51 pm »
I've also been using the weborbiter with my iPhone.  It works well.. but my only issue is the refreshing that takes place too frequently - it seems.  Its difficult to use most Orbiter features and the screen refreshes before you've had a chance to select an option.  I'm just wondering if some Ajax wouldn't improve this ;-)

Sam

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Web Orbiter with Iphone 3g
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2008, 08:27:00 pm »
well I guess I let my impatience get the best of me. After restarting my machine, everything worked like a charm. Thanks again jon.
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3

jonsnipes

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Web Orbiter with Iphone 3g
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2008, 07:10:31 pm »
I'm  having the reload problems too. I was in the kde prperformance montior thenother day and inhad about ten apache servers open. Might be a problem. I'm doing a reinstall and stattjng from scratch at sole ppint hopeing itll fix some different problems I've been having.
-Jon

jonsnipes

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Web Orbiter with Iphone 3g
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2008, 04:55:19 pm »
sorry obviously typing on an iPhone isn't the easiest thing
-Jon

Crumble

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Re: Web Orbiter with Iphone 3g
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2008, 07:03:45 pm »
there is an option for changing the refresh rate explained in the wiki, and i noticed that the computer will seem like it gets hungup if you try and start something from the web orbiter then try and do something with your remote or keyboard.  You have to hit the power button on the orbiter to release control back to the core. 

Crumble

Rukus

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
Re: Web Orbiter with Iphone 3g
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2008, 09:26:56 pm »
Crumble's right.  If you scroll down on the Device Details page under CORE>Generic Web Device, you will see a box that is set to 60 seconds.  I changed it to 300, or 5 mins, and it works great. 
Core/Generic Hybrid MD
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core
GPU: GPU: XFX PVT84GUDF3 GeForce 8600 GTS 256MB 128-bit GDDR3