Author Topic: Router removing playlist entry upon reload  (Read 1208 times)

jeangot

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Router removing playlist entry upon reload
« on: August 24, 2008, 07:57:35 pm »
Hello,

I have the following issue: I have an entry for an asf stream in my Media Database that looks like this:

+---------+--------------+-----------------+---------------+--------------+---------------------+------------------------------+-------------------+---------+-------------+------------------+-----------+------------------+-----------+----------+---------------------+-------+--------+-------+------+--------+--------+-----------+----------+------------+---------------------+--------------+
| PK_File | EK_MediaType | FK_MediaSubType | FK_FileFormat | FK_FileGroup | DateAdded           | Path                         | Filename          | Missing | IsDirectory | EK_Users_Private | EK_Device | ModificationDate | AttrCount | AttrDate | DateLastViewed      | IsNew | Ignore | INode | MD5  | Source | psc_id | psc_batch | psc_user | psc_frozen | psc_mod             | psc_restrict |
+---------+--------------+-----------------+---------------+--------------+---------------------+------------------------------+-------------------+---------+-------------+------------------+-----------+------------------+-----------+----------+---------------------+-------+--------+-------+------+--------+--------+-----------+----------+------------+---------------------+--------------+
|  557078 |            5 |            NULL |          NULL |         NULL | 2008-08-24 10:00:57 | mms://vodstream.tf1.fr/tf1jt | jt13d24082008.asf |       0 |           0 |             NULL |      NULL | NULL             |      NULL | NULL     | 2008-08-24 10:00:58 |     0 |      0 |     0 | NULL | NULL   |   NULL |      NULL |     NULL |          0 | 2008-08-24 10:32:49 |         NULL |
+---------+--------------+-----------------+---------------+--------------+---------------------+------------------------------+-------------------+---------+-------------+------------------+-----------+------------------+-----------+----------+---------------------+-------+--------+-------+------+--------+--------+-----------+----------+------------+---------------------+--------------+

It is playable through Media/Videos without a problem (please note, if you try this after 1 day, the filename needs to be updated with the current day otherwise it won't play).

Now I create a playlist containing this entry. I save the playlist, and when I go back to in in the web GUI, the entry is there in the playlist. Now I do a reload router, to refresh the playlist on my MDs, and the entry gets deleted. The playlist is now empty.

I suspect that there is a process parsing playlists for errors upon reload router that is causing this. Could anyone point me to the portion of code that is doing this? Perhaps I just need to add something to recognize asf files?
Or am I on the wrong track?

Thank you!

Jean

jeangot

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Re: Router removing playlist entry upon reload
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2008, 10:32:22 pm »
I tried adding the asf extension to the MediaType pluto_StoredVideo by following these instructions:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Add_video_file_extensions

But that did not help...

jeangot

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Re: Router removing playlist entry upon reload
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2008, 01:56:52 am »
No ideas anyone?
I tried searching the source code for PlaylistEntry and delete, but it seems to occur at many different places, in various scripts, so I have no idea where to start looking.

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Router removing playlist entry upon reload
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2008, 06:25:29 pm »
jeangot -

I did a lot of code fixing on the playlist a while ago. There existed a bug that after adding entries, if you changed web admin pages, those changes were lost. By just closing the web browser after editing the playlist, everything would stay as it should. There were also a couple of other bugs that would discard changes.

Of course, this is fixed in SVN now. If you want the new playlist editor changes (there are a ton of changes/bug fixes) follow the instructions here:
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5666.msg33260

jeangot

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Re: Router removing playlist entry upon reload
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2008, 11:10:32 pm »
Jon,

thanks a lot, I saw another thread about your import/export functionnality, but not this one. Will try that out ASAP. Although I can see my entry in the playlist after saving the changes, it only dissapears after I do a reload router...

If you're aware of similar fixes to the code that pauses media and displays the phone screen on an MD, upon incoming call, please let me know. This is not working for me and several other users as discussed in the user forum, but no developer so far has said if it was worth trying an updated code version, in case some bugs were found and corrected.

Jean

jeangot

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Re: Router removing playlist entry upon reload
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2008, 05:15:02 pm »
Jon,

I updated editPlaylist.php as per your instructions, and it works now, thanks a bunch! I guess the old page must have been adding my file in an incomplete/incorrect way, and that's why it would be removed at reload or something like that.

Also now the filenames in the Playlist editor are sorted properly, which makes it much easier to find what you;re looking for. Thanks for fixing/improving this for all of us!

Jean

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Router removing playlist entry upon reload
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2008, 05:52:41 pm »
Glad to hear it worked.

Also, if you copy over the new files in operations/mediaBrowser/images to /var/www/pluto-admin/operations/mediaBrowser/images (yo'll have to create the directory your self) then the new Vertical Layout option will be available for the playlist editor.