Author Topic: Newbie about to try linux MCE  (Read 3731 times)

madmanbob

• View Profile
Newbie about to try linux MCE
« on: August 19, 2008, 01:33:42 pm »
Hi, I am quite new to Linux, but have two PCs running SUSE 11 without problems. I have put together an old PC with AMD Athalon 2000 and 512Mb Ram. I considered playing with MCE and rather than use a Windoze version, I thought that I would try this.
The target PC does not have any TV cards fitted at the moment, but when I have everything installed I will connect to a 42" plasma TV via DVI cable from the Nvidia grafix card and see if I can get HD (720p) viewing on the TV. If it all works then will my CPU be fast enough? Will there be enough RAM?
The DVD is downloading at the moment so we will see what happens.

colinjones

• Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie about to try linux MCE
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2008, 03:11:47 pm »
It really depends on what you are asking it to do. Presumably it will be a hybrid (both core and the media director, rather than 2 machines) this can increase the load, but if you are just doing basic media stuff, generally LMCE doesn't require high end specs. The pure MDs are a little lower in requirements. If anything, for a core you might want to throw in another 512MB, not so much because it is required unless you are intending to do heavier stuff, but because it is so cheap! A spec'd up core that you intend to use in production with a higher load (eg multiple video streams, or automation, and lots of media) then I would say 2GB is oodles most of the time.

By all means play with what you have - when you decide to buy hardware, though, research the options well as it makes the difference between a completely smooth, trivial install and getting yourself tied in knots (esp video).

madmanbob

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2008, 04:48:14 pm »