Author Topic: Anyware GP-IR01BK will it work?  (Read 4249 times)

gyrobt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Anyware GP-IR01BK will it work?
« on: April 29, 2008, 06:46:18 am »
Will this work, it looks like it's an OEM MCE remote, and it sounds like it's bigger brother the GP-IR02BK will work with the MCEUSB config.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16880121003
I must confess that I am still waiting for my Torrent to download, so I don't have LinuxMCE. I have been following the project for about a year now, and v1.1 (Kubuntu Development?) worked, but took three days to install, and it was sluggish. 704RC1 DVD failed at start up and I am now trying 710RC1. However, I am unsure of what difference there are between 704 and 710, besides the Ubuntu core.

sfalcon1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Anyware GP-IR01BK will it work?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2008, 02:34:06 am »
I am using the Anyware GP-IR02BK as we speak.  IR02 works well, I like it very much.  You might have to add it as a mceusb2 remote device.  I just  added it and it worked after a reboot or two.  I believe it is the same except IR02 is a two channel remote.   

Info on another cheap anywhere remote on the following site:
http://www.pcclub.com/product_details.cfm?itemno=A7252264
Quote
By PYITE (3) on October 08,2007
This is just a re-labeled version of the Topseed eHome remote. It works the standard lirc_mceusb2 driver. This remote is NOT able to learn the on/off/volume buttons, sadly. But what do you expect for $25.

One annoying minus, however - I had to take the values from "lsusb" and put them in the lirc_mceusb2 driver because this remote is newer than even the latest LIRC driver. Look for the existing Topseed entry, and copy it - changing the "0001" to "0008". If you have any questions please feel free to contact me, mark@knm.org

I should move the rating down to 4 from 5 since it has a @#%^#@%$ Windows logo on it. :)

The Anywhere remotes seem to show up with the same device id.
My lsusb: Bus 003 Device 002: ID 1784:0008

I just ordered the the IR01 yesterday for a MD I am building. It was cheaper than the IR02 and hopefully it will work just as good. 
« Last Edit: April 30, 2008, 02:36:51 am by sfalcon1 »

musicalwoods

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Anyware GP-IR01BK will it work?
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2008, 11:28:22 pm »
Any update on this? I'm wanting to buy a new remote and MythTV compatibility is a requirement.

musicalwoods

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Anyware GP-IR01BK will it work?
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2008, 01:42:14 am »
GP-IR01BK

Does indeed work, I am told!

Use mceusb02