Author Topic: Adding tracks to the 'now playing' list in LMCE Audio player  (Read 1338 times)

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Adding tracks to the 'now playing' list in LMCE Audio player
« on: August 09, 2008, 03:59:06 pm »
In the Audio player interface when you select a track to play you have the following options:

Play  -  Close  - Delete

So you play the first track, then you want to play a second track after the one that is already playing but the only option is to 'Play'.  How do I do what in Win MCE is 'add to playlist'?

Jason

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Adding tracks to the 'now playing' list in LMCE Audio player
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2008, 04:29:03 pm »
There is no "enqueue" option currently - although I have submitted a mantis asking if this could be added...

The best way around this currently is just to hit mute on your stereo and start building the play list (so you can ignore what it is playing) once done, choose to navigate back to the beginning and unmute.... workaround, but that's what we have at the moment.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Adding tracks to the 'now playing' list in LMCE Audio player
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2008, 12:30:48 pm »
There is no "enqueue" option currently - although I have submitted a mantis asking if this could be added...

The best way around this currently is just to hit mute on your stereo and start building the play list (so you can ignore what it is playing) once done, choose to navigate back to the beginning and unmute.... workaround, but that's what we have at the moment.

Yep... this is a fairly big gap in basic capability I agree. Your 'temp' work around is a good one but it clearly is not a long term solution ;-)

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Adding tracks to the 'now playing' list in LMCE Audio player
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2008, 05:15:41 am »
Don't know what else to do - I've added a mantis, but it will be a long while before I can pick it up myself!

seth

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
Re: Adding tracks to the 'now playing' list in LMCE Audio player
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2008, 02:19:36 pm »
 :)

I use the "Playlist" function in the web admin, under "Files & Media" across the top of the admin page. I have several playlists set up, and although this will get you going, the ability to have an "Add to Playlist" while choosing the file in the UI would be terribly groovy, at least this will give you a starting point. I use this for audio files, tv series, and movie marathons :) .

Hope that helps,

Regards,

Seth
".....Because Once you've LinuxMCE'd....."
System stats located at my user page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Seth

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Adding tracks to the 'now playing' list in LMCE Audio player
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2008, 03:49:58 pm »
:)

I use the "Playlist" function in the web admin, under "Files & Media" across the top of the admin page. I have several playlists set up, and although this will get you going, the ability to have an "Add to Playlist" while choosing the file in the UI would be terribly groovy, at least this will give you a starting point. I use this for audio files, tv series, and movie marathons :) .

Hope that helps,

Regards,

Seth

Yep that works well too... but from a users perspective they expect to be able to dynamically add to or extend a playlist while they are listening to it. After all every other media player out there does this... its just one of those standard features people have come to expect now.

So this one definitely needs to get 'fixed'. The problem is that the code in question is deep inside the Orbiter and it is a 'non-trivial' change from an engineering perspective to make. We'd be willing to help with this by committing some engineering time. I'll post something in the Developer area in the next day or so and see if anyone is willing to help out with this.

All the best

Andrew

Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Adding tracks to the 'now playing' list in LMCE Audio player
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2008, 01:42:01 pm »
Thanks Andrew.

Adding to the playlist as you have stated is the only way I am going to get acceptance from 'the Boss' to use LMCE instead of XP MCE.

If there is anything I can do to help the development (testing, feedback, non-technical documentation) let me know, unfortunately I haven't done anything with Unix for 10 years and longer since I have done basic C++ and Visual Basic.

Jason

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Adding tracks to the 'now playing' list in LMCE Audio player
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2008, 02:21:50 pm »
Thanks Andrew.

Adding to the playlist as you have stated is the only way I am going to get acceptance from 'the Boss' to use LMCE instead of XP MCE.

If there is anything I can do to help the development (testing, feedback, non-technical documentation) let me know, unfortunately I haven't done anything with Unix for 10 years and longer since I have done basic C++ and Visual Basic.

Jason

Once we have an implementation to test drive I guess is where we could get you involved... I'll post something here when we're at that stage ;-)

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Adding tracks to the 'now playing' list in LMCE Audio player
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2008, 01:04:34 am »
Very happy to help out with the testing, too, Andrew!