Author Topic: Need help with Subtitle  (Read 1604 times)

bggr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Need help with Subtitle
« on: August 09, 2008, 01:25:09 pm »
Hi, I have setup one Linuxmce system but i have some problems.

I don't have any subtitle when I m using the linux mce GUI and playback, I have configured the Xine and Caffeine player to display Greek subtitles from kubuntu desktop.....

what else I can do???? :'(

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Need help with Subtitle
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2008, 02:08:56 pm »
The Xine and Kaffine players on the KDE desktop have nothing to do with LMCE, so nothing you change there will help. I have noticed numerous people talking about subtitle problems with media files - I believe that the older Xine wrapper used by LMCE did not support subtitles. A more recent version added them but I read that the most recent version broke them again! Sorry! If you are deparate perhaps you could try an older version. I believe that a fix is on the way, and may get pushed out by an update, but I have no idea when...

bggr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Need help with Subtitle
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2008, 02:19:29 pm »
thanks for the reply..... I' ll try an older ver. for the moment

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Need help with Subtitle
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2008, 02:39:55 pm »
perhaps one of the other guys that have been using subtitles can let you know which one works...

bundie

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Need help with Subtitle
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2008, 01:23:05 am »
Hi,

0710 beta4 was the last LinuxMCE version I used where subtitles worked...


GasVe

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Need help with Subtitle
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2008, 07:02:00 pm »
I will tell you what was my "fix" to the subtitle issue:

1. Change all extensions files from mkv/avi to m2ts. This force to use mplayer instead of xine, you will win some and lose some also, life fact,
  1.a  You will lose functionality on Remote control.
  1.b  You will not see any more the green artifacts on the left side of the screen.
  1.c  Finally you will get the subtitles that you are asking for.
2. Read carefully the man pages for mplayer, you will find valuable information how to proceed.
3. Look for the file subtitle.ttf an copy it to /root/.mplayer/
4. Modify the /root/.mplayer/config to you match what do you want about fonts, size position on  the screen, etc.
5. Your subtitle files must match the name of your video up to the extension and the extension needs to be srt, at least this worked for me, I haven't another suffix.

bundie

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Need help with Subtitle
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2008, 12:01:00 am »
Hi,

I will tell you what was my "fix" to the subtitle issue:

1. Change all extensions files from mkv/avi to m2ts. This force to use mplayer instead of xine, you will win some and lose some also, life fact,
  1.a  You will lose functionality on Remote control.

Wow, nice fix! I'll give this one a go... What functions on the remote do work during playback? Or is the remote a total goner with mplayer?

Greets,
Reint.

GasVe

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Need help with Subtitle
« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2008, 04:02:29 am »
Hi:
    I am using a Gyration mouse, so anyway from the beginning I have not full support, but next weekend hopefully I will have some spare time to work with this, I just have have some ideas that I want to give a try.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5498
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Need help with Subtitle
« Reply #8 on: August 11, 2008, 05:45:24 am »
I use a Gyration Go! Mouse 2.4 without problems, all buttons work correctly.

-Thom

GasVe

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Need help with Subtitle
« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2008, 03:02:17 am »
Sorry for my mistake I am using the GYR3101US, I have mentioned as a mouse because I was thinking in that function when I replyied.

Itsik

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: Need help with Subtitle
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2008, 09:02:31 am »
Are you sure about the "/root/.mplayer"path ?
I can't seem to find it anywhere ...

GasVe

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Need help with Subtitle
« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2008, 01:39:54 am »
yes it is /root/.mplayer may be it is created the first time that mplayer runs or you need to create it, the directory path is right.