Author Topic: Waking up/ shutting down MDs ...  (Read 1062 times)

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Waking up/ shutting down MDs ...
« on: January 25, 2006, 06:35:27 pm »
Hi,

I see that shutting down Core also shuts down all diskless MDs. But booting of the core doesn't wake up MDs ....

Also I'm curious if "Wake on lan" feature of diskless MDs is used and when?

Also it would be nice if user could see power status for MDs on floorplan and also have possibility to wake up MD beside shutting it down....

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Rob.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Waking up/ shutting down MDs ...
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2006, 09:38:12 am »
if the md's support WOL they should reboot when core/hybrid reboots.
a status for the md would be nice, that's true.

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Waking up/ shutting down MDs ...
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2006, 10:03:50 am »
Quote from: "tinia"
Hi,

I see that shutting down Core also shuts down all diskless MDs. But booting of the core doesn't wake up MDs ....

Also I'm curious if "Wake on lan" feature of diskless MDs is used and when?

Also it would be nice if user could see power status for MDs on floorplan and also have possibility to wake up MD beside shutting it down....

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Rob.


I agree that being able to see the power state for MD's would be really useful. The info must be store already in the DB. Either adding this capability to the Florrplan screens or having a dedicated 'Status Floorplan' screen might be the way to integrate this info into the Orbiter UI.

The Admin Site has the Automation->Device Status page which actually has this info (and much more!) present. So I guess the issue is more about how this info is presented to the user via the Orbiter UI.

Andrew

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Waking up/ shutting down MDs ...
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2006, 10:22:55 am »
i just added a new feature request on our bug tracking system
newbielink:http://plutohome.com/support/mantis/view.php?id=1500 [nonactive]
to solve the offline status on floorplan

archived

  • Hello, I'm new here
  • Posts: 0
    • View Profile
Waking up/ shutting down MDs ...
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2006, 10:52:39 am »
Quote from: "dan.g"
i just added a new feature request on our bug tracking system
newbielink:http://plutohome.com/support/mantis/view.php?id=1500 [nonactive]
to solve the offline status on floorplan


Great. Thanks Dan.

Andrew