Author Topic: Thinking about setting one of these up and have questions.  (Read 2403 times)

tyguy101a

• First post!
    • View Profile
Thinking about setting one of these up and have questions.
« on: December 15, 2008, 09:49:23 pm »
I’m a college student with out much money, but with a crap load of old computers and parts at my disposal and I want to try setting up my own server over winter break. I have a computer which can run the software, so that’s all good. I have some questions about the stuff needed to hook to the tv. None of my tv’s have vga or hdmi. Its straight component and coax, and sadly I can not go out and just get a newer tv. I eventually would like to expand this system to cover my entire house and reach multiple tvs, so just running a vga cable thru a converter then into the tv wouldn’t be helpful in the long run. Because its an old house (and I suck at fishing cable thru walls) the Ethernet in the house is limited to only a few rooms, but I have an 802.11g which gets a strong signal anywhere in the house.

So I guess these are my questions:

What do I need to hook to the tv to receive the signal from the server? Can I use something like a ps3 (which can run linux) or do I have to buy some sort of box?

Can this be run wirelessly without having bandwidth issues?

Can I access the files on the server as well as change settings and stuff like that from another computer on the network?

I would like to use the security features but don’t have money for a new camera that has ip, can I use a generic usb webcam hooked up to the server just test out that part of the system?

Most tv tuners I’m aware of have the ability to watch 2 shows at once (picture in picture) does this mean I cannot watch 3 separate shows on 3 separate tvs at the same time?

Since new gameconsoles such as the ps3 are using bluetooth controllers and the system can relay bluetooth, will it eventually be able to run a game from anyroom even thou the console is nowhere near by?