Author Topic: Asus Eee Box  (Read 6042 times)

freymann

  • Douchebag
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2008, 10:08:57 pm »
I can get you one for $370 CDN as I said or less if we get two and I am sure it would not cost 30$ to ship it to you. We just have to wait for the keyboard and mouse.

 Hi Dave.

 $400 is cheaper than the eBay store, if you can do it for that, I would take one anytime.

 IM me if you feel like making the deal.

slapshot

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #16 on: August 17, 2008, 03:16:38 am »
If you want to see an interesting article of what people have already done with the Asus EEE PC, check this out:

http://beta.ivancover.com/wiki/index.php/Eee_PC_Internal_Upgrades

I am almost inspired to purchase one after reading this, but I would never make the mistake of installing windows on it.

~John
Core/Hybrid:
Asus M2NPV-VM w/ AMD Athlon 64 x2 4600+
2 GB Ram, 40 GB Quantum Fireball HDD
WinTV PVR-150 Tuner
Philips 42" Plasma Television
Wiimote

marrandy

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #17 on: August 18, 2008, 05:09:27 pm »
Hi,

just a little update. Newegg has them now in USA for $350 US (which is now more in CAD :-) but not sure if they ship to Canada: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883220002

They also have a new barebone from MSI based on the Atom chip for $139:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856167032

Difference to the eee seems to be no DVI (just VGA, which totallymaxed said he can run 720p out of), and no wireless (which we don't need anyway). I'll probably order one of these in a week or two.

Jean

You sure about that ?

Two of the pictures (image viewer) show a DVI port

OK - the second link only has VGA
« Last Edit: August 22, 2008, 05:03:30 pm by marrandy »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #18 on: August 18, 2008, 05:56:49 pm »
Jean,

 I do not think they are there yet. I read the review on Anand-tech and he states in his review that there is no digital output at least on the model he tested and they use about 90% of the cpu with a 720p video file. There is absolutely zero hardware acceleration and it all has to be handled via the CPU (Atom). I do not have a link I just google Eee Box and found the Anand-Tech review.

 In closing he states that this will not make a good htpc at this point. I would save some money and wait for another model.

 regards,

 Dave

Hmmm... well based on our test of the Intel ATOM i945 based motherboard which uses the same chipset and importantly for video perfoamnce the same GMA950 GPU I can say that we dont see anything more than 15-20% cpu usage when playing a ripped DVD at 720p.

Overall performance is really very good indeed and i would not have any reservations about overall performance of ATOM 1.6Ghz based units.

All the best

Andrew

Andrew,

How plug and play is the Intel Atom i945 you tried?

Did you have to do anything special to get the video to work or was it recognised?

Jason

Just a quick update...

We're seeing some X lockups on the ATOM due to some issues with the Intel graphics drivers. These are intermittant and seem to be triggered by some of the Orbiter code. We're working on this now... trying to test the ATOM using the 2.6.24 kernel from 8.04... no firm new on that yet though.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #19 on: August 22, 2008, 03:28:38 am »
Andrew - how is the bug going with the Atom/Intel chipset?

Jean - did you get the MSI barebone machine? Looks really interesting!

jeangot

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 233
    • View Profile
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #20 on: August 22, 2008, 07:25:34 am »
Colinjones: no, not yet, I was taking some time to fix other things on the system (every week I wait, the price may drop a few dollars :-) then I saw Andrew's last post and I'll probably hold off until he confirms that it doesn't freeze anymore. The MSI has essentially the same processor and video chipset, so I'm assuming that one would freeze as well...

Jean

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #21 on: August 22, 2008, 07:54:46 am »
Colinjones: no, not yet, I was taking some time to fix other things on the system (every week I wait, the price may drop a few dollars :-) then I saw Andrew's last post and I'll probably hold off until he confirms that it doesn't freeze anymore. The MSI has essentially the same processor and video chipset, so I'm assuming that one would freeze as well...

Jean

Hmmm... we have another i945/GMA950 based motherboard (Celeron 1.8Ghz) and this works fine at 720p over DVI. Which is interesting!

We should get our Eee PC in the next 10 days or so. It does have a DVI port on reflection so 720p setup will be somewhat different to the Intel i945GCLF board over VGA. ASUS clearly have done a custom i945 based motherboard for the Eee PC. Anyway I'll report back here once we have tested a real unit ;-)

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #22 on: August 22, 2008, 04:33:56 pm »

They also have a new barebone from MSI based on the Atom chip for $139:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856167032

Difference to the eee seems to be no DVI (just VGA, which totallymaxed said he can run 720p out of), and no wireless (which we don't need anyway). I'll probably order one of these in a week or two.

Jean
That looks almost perfect for my use!  It would be nice if it had DVI/HDMI output and spdif, but with VGA supporting at least 720p and 6-jack output I can deal with it.  As soon as someone can confirm it working and stable I'll probably order it!  Who knows, by the time the LMCE issues are worked out they may have other sub-$200 options that are more HTPC friendly.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #23 on: August 22, 2008, 10:59:17 pm »
I hope someone can confirm if the MSI box works soon. It is only available to me if I order it in the US and then import it myself (NewEgg and all those others won't even consider sending stuff overseas) And I have a colleague heading over to Sydney from SF in a couple of weeks time who said he would stuff it in his bag for me!

If anybody is getting one, please post if you have any probs!

marrandy

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #24 on: August 22, 2008, 11:16:05 pm »
Well, I just received my eee Box and it doesn't work at all.  The HD light flashes once and then nothing.  Tried 2 monitors with DVI & VGA and 1 with just VGA.  No signal is reported by all 3 monitors and I now have a RMA - bummer.

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #25 on: September 04, 2008, 07:18:40 am »
OK, couldnt wait any longer - so I ordered the MSI WIND PC, my friend arrives from San Francisco in Sydney on Sunday with it in his hand luggage! If it doesn't work, I'll eBay it (and I might just let you all know :) )

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #26 on: September 04, 2008, 12:44:18 pm »
I hope someone can confirm if the MSI box works soon. It is only available to me if I order it in the US and then import it myself (NewEgg and all those others won't even consider sending stuff overseas) And I have a colleague heading over to Sydney from SF in a couple of weeks time who said he would stuff it in his bag for me!

If anybody is getting one, please post if you have any probs!

We received our test unit today... so I will report back here later. One thing is for sure the RTL8169 NIC chip will need its driver added. The unit itself is really of top quality all the way through... great packaging, great quality feel to the unit and very quiet in operation (almost silent).

All the best

Andrew

PS The Eee Box ships with XP installed and with XpressGate Linux accessible from the boot screen.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

rodercot

  • Guest
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #27 on: September 04, 2008, 01:25:22 pm »
Andrew,

 Did you see this post.

 http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=6149.0

 Can you also let us know how you get by with the wireless lan active while you are installing. I saw no place in the bios to disable this while I was working on it at the store. I hope it is as simple as not connecting the antenna. I see this as a problem as if you have a wireless router as I do, It will try and connect to the external lan on the wireless router and I am hoping that the wired connection take priority.

 Dave

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #28 on: September 04, 2008, 06:01:00 pm »
Andrew,

 Did you see this post.

 http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=6149.0

 Can you also let us know how you get by with the wireless lan active while you are installing. I saw no place in the bios to disable this while I was working on it at the store. I hope it is as simple as not connecting the antenna. I see this as a problem as if you have a wireless router as I do, It will try and connect to the external lan on the wireless router and I am hoping that the wired connection take priority.

 Dave

Yes I have seen that thread... just posted a reply there in fact.

Well as far as I know there are no drivers for the onboard 802.11N NIC in the boot image so this should not be a problem... but if it is its pretty easy to fix.

We have the Eee Box pxe booting now and I will put together some details on fixing the NIC issue hopefully later and update the Wiki page here then http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: Asus Eee Box
« Reply #29 on: September 05, 2008, 12:20:23 am »
I hope someone can confirm if the MSI box works soon. It is only available to me if I order it in the US and then import it myself (NewEgg and all those others won't even consider sending stuff overseas) And I have a colleague heading over to Sydney from SF in a couple of weeks time who said he would stuff it in his bag for me!

If anybody is getting one, please post if you have any probs!

We received our test unit today... so I will report back here later. One thing is for sure the RTL8169 NIC chip will need its driver added. The unit itself is really of top quality all the way through... great packaging, great quality feel to the unit and very quiet in operation (almost silent).

All the best

Andrew

PS The Eee Box ships with XP installed and with XpressGate Linux accessible from the boot screen.

Sorry Andrew, thought you were only looking at the Asus EEE! Would be very interested in your progress... as I will be following in 2 days time :) anything you find and post will be of great interest to me, at least! When you say the NIC driver will need to be added, for a PXE boot, at what point is it likely to loose connectivity? Just wondering what opportunity I will have to get the new driver in...

Col