Author Topic: no sound  (Read 887 times)

set321go

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
no sound
« on: August 01, 2008, 05:13:53 pm »
hello, im having trouble getting my sound going i have ac97 onboard sound card

lspci
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8385 [K8T800 AGP] Host Bridge (rev 01)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 PCI bridge [K8T800/K8T890 South]
00:07.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev 80)
00:08.0 RAID bus controller: Promise Technology, Inc. PDC20378 (FastTrak 378/SATA 378) (rev 02)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c940 10/100/1000Base-T [Marvell] (rev 12)
00:0c.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7133/SAA7135 Video Broadcast Decoder (rev d1)
00:0f.0 RAID bus controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VIA VT6420 SATA RAID Controller (rev 80)
00:0f.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.4 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 86)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 ISA bridge [KT600/K8T800/K8T890 South]
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)
00:11.6 Communication controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 80)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV35 [GeForce FX 5900XT] (rev a1)

lsmod is pretty long but have

Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
snd_via82xx            30488  2
snd_via82xx_modem
snd_ac97_codec        102692  2 snd_via82xx,snd_via82xx_modem
ac97_bus                3456  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_seq_dummy           4868  0
snd_pcm_oss            51488  0
snd_mixer_oss          18432  1 snd_pcm_oss
tda827x                11396  2
snd_seq_oss            35712  0
snd_pcm                86148  5 snd_via82xx,snd_via82xx_modem,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_mpu401_uart        10112  1 snd_via82xx
snd_seq_midi           10656  0
snd_seq_midi_event      8576  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
tda8290                14852  1
serio_raw               8068  0
psmouse                39952  0
tuner                  29256  0
snd_rawmidi            27296  2 snd_mpu401_uart,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                58448  6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_timer              25988  3 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device          9612  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq

i have been into alsamixer and turned everything on and turned all the way up

i tried this thread http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5539.0

and changed the snd-hda-intel with snd-via82xx but no luck

anybody got ideas? what is the default sound mixer used? am i fiddling with the right one? is there another one that is should unmute and turn up?

dmsg contains some info

[   23.201282] PCI: enabled onboard AC97/MC97 devices

43.832299] tda1004x: setting up plls for 48MHz sampling clock
[   44.116228] tda1004x: found firmware revision 20 -- ok
[   44.151154] ALSA /root/R/alsa-driver/pci/via82xx.c:581: codec_read: codec 0 is not valid [0xfe0000]
[   44.157878] ALSA /root/R/alsa-driver/pci/via82xx.c:581: codec_read: codec 0 is not valid [0xfe0000]
[   44.164628] ALSA /root/R/alsa-driver/pci/via82xx.c:581: codec_read: codec 0 is not valid [0xfe0000]
[   44.171333] ALSA /root/R/alsa-driver/pci/via82xx.c:581: codec_read: codec 0 is not valid [0xfe0000]





« Last Edit: August 01, 2008, 05:47:06 pm by set321go »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: no sound
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2008, 08:19:03 pm »
hello, im having trouble getting my sound going i have ac97 onboard sound card

lspci
Code: [Select]
00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8385 [K8T800 AGP] Host Bridge (rev 01)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 PCI bridge [K8T800/K8T890 South]
00:07.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev 80)
00:08.0 RAID bus controller: Promise Technology, Inc. PDC20378 (FastTrak 378/SATA 378) (rev 02)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c940 10/100/1000Base-T [Marvell] (rev 12)
00:0c.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7133/SAA7135 Video Broadcast Decoder (rev d1)
00:0f.0 RAID bus controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VIA VT6420 SATA RAID Controller (rev 80)
00:0f.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.4 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 86)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 ISA bridge [KT600/K8T800/K8T890 South]
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)
00:11.6 Communication controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 80)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV35 [GeForce FX 5900XT] (rev a1)

lsmod is pretty long but have

Code: [Select]
snd_via82xx            30488  2
snd_via82xx_modem
snd_ac97_codec        102692  2 snd_via82xx,snd_via82xx_modem
ac97_bus                3456  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_seq_dummy           4868  0
snd_pcm_oss            51488  0
snd_mixer_oss          18432  1 snd_pcm_oss
tda827x                11396  2
snd_seq_oss            35712  0
snd_pcm                86148  5 snd_via82xx,snd_via82xx_modem,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_mpu401_uart        10112  1 snd_via82xx
snd_seq_midi           10656  0
snd_seq_midi_event      8576  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
tda8290                14852  1
serio_raw               8068  0
psmouse                39952  0
tuner                  29256  0
snd_rawmidi            27296  2 snd_mpu401_uart,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                58448  6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_timer              25988  3 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device          9612  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq

i have been into alsamixer and turned everything on and turned all the way up

i tried this thread http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5539.0

and changed the snd-hda-intel with snd-via82xx but no luck

anybody got ideas? what is the default sound mixer used? am i fiddling with the right one? is there another one that is should unmute and turn up?

dmsg contains some info

[   23.201282] PCI: enabled onboard AC97/MC97 devices

43.832299] tda1004x: setting up plls for 48MHz sampling clock
[   44.116228] tda1004x: found firmware revision 20 -- ok
[   44.151154] ALSA /root/R/alsa-driver/pci/via82xx.c:581: codec_read: codec 0 is not valid [0xfe0000]
[   44.157878] ALSA /root/R/alsa-driver/pci/via82xx.c:581: codec_read: codec 0 is not valid [0xfe0000]
[   44.164628] ALSA /root/R/alsa-driver/pci/via82xx.c:581: codec_read: codec 0 is not valid [0xfe0000]
[   44.171333] ALSA /root/R/alsa-driver/pci/via82xx.c:581: codec_read: codec 0 is not valid [0xfe0000]







Have you checked the audio settings in your BIOS? Are they set correctly for the audio output you are using?

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

set321go

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: no sound
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2008, 09:48:59 pm »

Quote
Have you checked the audio settings in your BIOS? Are they set correctly for the audio output you are using?

All the best

Andrew

yeah its turned on in the bios.

the audio driver field in the launch manager is also blank does this help?
i have checked permissions
and checked its the latest version of alsa

/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
# autoloader aliases
install sound-slot-0 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-0
install sound-slot-1 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-1
install sound-slot-2 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-2
install sound-slot-3 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-3
install sound-slot-4 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-4
install sound-slot-5 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-5
install sound-slot-6 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-6
install sound-slot-7 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-7

# Cause optional modules to be loaded above generic modules
install snd /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-ioctl32 ; : ; }
install snd-pcm /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-pcm && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-pcm-oss ; : ; }
install snd-mixer /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-mixer && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-mixer-oss ; : ; }
install snd-seq /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-seq && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-seq-midi ; /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-seq-oss ; : ; }
install snd-rawmidi /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-rawmidi && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet snd-seq-midi ; : ; }
# Cause optional modules to be loaded above sound card driver modules
install snd-emu10k1 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-emu10k1 $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe -Qb snd-emu10k1-synth ; }
install snd-via82xx /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-via82xx $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe -Qb snd-seq ; }

# Load saa7134-alsa instead of saa7134 (which gets dragged in by it anyway)
install saa7134 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install saa7134 $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe -Qb saa7134-alsa ; : ; }

# Load snd-seq for devices that don't have hardware midi;
#   Ubuntu #26283, #43682, #56005; works around Ubuntu #34831 for
#   non-Creative Labs PCI hardware
install snd /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd && { /sbin/modprobe -Qb snd-seq ; }
# Prevent abnormal drivers from grabbing index 0
options snd-bt87x index=-2
options cx88-alsa index=-2
options saa7134-alsa index=-2
options snd-atiixp-modem index=-2
options snd-intel8x0m index=-2
options snd-via82xx-modem index=-2
options snd-usb-audio index=-2
options snd-usb-usx2y index=-2
options snd-usb-caiaq index=-2
# Ubuntu #62691, enable MPU for snd-cmipci
options snd-cmipci mpu_port=0x330 fm_port=0x388
options snd-via82xx index=0

the last line was added by me should i take it back out?
is anything missing?

how do i run alsaconf? i have tried sudo alsaconf and sudo alsaconfig but both return command not found

i tried uninstalling alsa base and reinstalling but that blew up the desktop as well and ended up having to reinstall

any more ideas?