Author Topic: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT  (Read 18084 times)

blackoper

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #60 on: October 22, 2009, 11:47:09 pm »
Any updates on this? I really like this thermostat but am waiting until it has been fixed/ironed out.

Sami

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #61 on: November 25, 2009, 10:11:35 pm »
Horstmann makes units for european frequencies..


Hari,

to be honest I'm not a linux user but I was searching for a European z-wave thermostat and found your post, on another forum a user has actually bought the device but it won't communicate with the z-wave controller, it can only be controlled through the factory supplied unit.

do you know of any other alternatives ? or other methods , I heard that I can get a wifi based thermostat and still be able to control it from a controller that  supports z-wave & wifi ? is this possible ?  if I bought the hortsmann one do you think its possible to be able to control it ?

your help is appreciated.

sami

rperre

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #62 on: November 30, 2009, 07:11:04 am »
I keep seeing that there is no exact translation from Celcius to Fahrenheit, there is.....
To get Celcius you do (F-32)*5/9 gives Celcius
The other way around (C*9/5)+32 gives Fahrenheit

Maybe they meant no rounded numbers, but just calculate and round it off, or for all i care forget about the decimals and just set the thermostat to the calculated temp.

I just got mine in (thanks tkmedia) so i'll join the effort in troubleshooting.

Richard

rperre

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #63 on: December 25, 2009, 07:35:19 pm »
Would anybody mind updating the Wayne Dalton Thermostat wiki for setting this up.

I tried to manually add it after binding it to the Zwave dongle, but it doesn't seem to do anything?

I wanted to add in getting the +1 -1 working in Fahrenheit, since my family doesn't do any math anymore :)

Richard

rperre

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #64 on: December 28, 2009, 03:25:24 am »
OK, installed the device and it's connected to my zwave dongle, everything well.

Now can somebody sent me to the right direction of trying to get this +/- thing worked out and also to show Fahrenheit in lmce, i can read Celcius but the rest of the USA.......... 8-) it's showing 21 while it should be showing 70 :P

I looked at the code for the plugin and would like to try some stuff, but just wanted to know if somebody else is working on this at the moment.

If you can just give me a pointer, i'll figure out the rest.

Richard

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #65 on: December 28, 2009, 04:15:42 pm »
Hari has done all of the work so far, i think the rest of us either don't know how to finish it up or don't have the time. Hop on the developer channel in IRC and Hari ask some questions, or wait till Hari responds in this thread.
-Krys

acald

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #66 on: January 12, 2010, 03:04:03 pm »
I'm new at LinuxMCE (have tried setting it up a few times and some device kills the install) but I am thinking ahead and I am very interested in having the thermostat working with it. 

And like and earlier commenter said, my wife would not be too pleased if all of the sudden the thermostat was in C°.

Thanks for all of the hard work.

stefan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #67 on: October 17, 2010, 02:19:27 pm »
Hi Everyone,

I have this thermostat installed with LinuxMCE 810. It works fine with scenarios that I created and I use it in C. The only problem is that on the Orbiters the setpoint temperature stays at 255. Everything else is fine. So for example here's how it looks:
ON/AUTO/AUTO/255 (21.0)

On the thermostat itself the setpoint is correct (i.e. as set by the scenario). So I think it's a problem with how the value is displayed or stored internally.

Anyone else experiencing the same problem?

Murdock

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #68 on: January 17, 2011, 02:12:37 am »
I received one for Christmas and just installed it today. The MCV dongle binding occurred without issue, LMCE picked it up as a climate control component. I understand that the functionality is not yet present in MCE to allow for Farenheit, though for everyone in the household i'm leaving it in farenheit mode.

I am seeing the same item as stefan is in terms of:
ON/AUTO/AUTO/255 (23.0)

The functionality additions in trac ticket 552 (http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/ticket/552) looks like:
  • Autogenerated scenarios which allow for incremental increase and decrease of target temperature
  • Current temperature in the orbiter
  • Preference to add support for farenheit readings

Is there still developer interest in this?

I'm looking through the 810 code now to look and see what the relavent areas are, if anyone could point me to the relavent sections I'd appreciate it.
Thank you,

Ryan


nightcanton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #69 on: February 06, 2011, 08:53:42 pm »
I just bought one of these wd thermostats and have the MCV usb dongle.

I plug the MCV dongle into the server and it loads up the 'lighting wizard'.

I've tried to setup a climate device/scenario but can't get this to work.

Any thoughts?

m3freak

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #70 on: February 08, 2011, 04:49:18 pm »
I have one as well, however I can't yet install: I need to run a separate 24v wire to the thermostat for power.  I may need an electrician to do the install.

It's good to hear the thermostat mostly works in LinuxMCE.

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #71 on: February 08, 2011, 06:03:50 pm »
I have one as well, however I can't yet install: I need to run a separate 24v wire to the thermostat for power.  I may need an electrician to do the install.

It's good to hear the thermostat mostly works in LinuxMCE.

This may help save the cost of an electrician.

http://www.venstar.com/Thermostats/ACC0410/

Tim

Heads up on the WD thermostat they are discontinued..  Seems there was an issue with some draining batteries even with the 24v c wire connected.

Find a replacement here

http://lmcecompatible.com/#ecwid:category=280112&mode=product&product=839079

I have been using mine on battery power only for two months now.
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #72 on: February 08, 2011, 06:08:03 pm »
I just bought one of these wd thermostats and have the MCV usb dongle.

I plug the MCV dongle into the server and it loads up the 'lighting wizard'.

I've tried to setup a climate device/scenario but can't get this to work.

Any thoughts?

Battery operated devices work best in suc/sis mode
You can add a minimote or other zwave controller to you zwave net to enable sus/sis mode.
http://lmcecompatible.com/#ecwid:category=280103&mode=product&product=1319545


HTH

Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

nightcanton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #73 on: February 12, 2011, 04:01:57 pm »
so is there a good how to to do this?  i've followed everything on this post, the mcv dongle wiki, and the wayne dalton thermostat intsall page but csant get it working.  thoughts?

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #74 on: February 13, 2011, 04:27:27 pm »
so is there a good how to to do this?  i've followed everything on this post, the mcv dongle wiki, and the wayne dalton thermostat intsall page but csant get it working.  thoughts?
"can't get it working" is not a verbosive problem description... maybe you might want to elaborate a bit more?

br Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation