Author Topic: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT  (Read 17566 times)

socabomb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« on: July 23, 2008, 01:54:01 am »
Hi guys,

There is not anything in the wiki or elsewhere about the WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT that i can find.  Anybody know anything about it, such as linuxmce support or perhapes one around the same price point? 

Thanks.


http://www.homecontrols.com/cgi-bin/main/co_disp/displ/prrfnbr/12155/sesent/00/Wayne-Dalton-Z-Wave-Thermostat

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2008, 12:12:15 pm »
this could work with the existing driver. If you decide to buy one i'll add support for it to the new driver.
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

yannko

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2009, 02:37:48 pm »
Anybody using this thermostat succesfully in lmce? I would like to integrate this device in our system, it would be great if anybody had some feedback about it!  :)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2009, 02:42:17 pm »
buy one and provide remote access..
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2009, 05:39:42 pm »
Looks like a good deal, I might be interested and I wouldn't mind giving you remote access Hari. would I be able to use it as a regular thermostat while you were setting up the zwave side (assuming that it might take you a bit).

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2009, 06:22:10 pm »
should only take a few evenings..
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2009, 06:28:19 pm »
am I correct in assuming that it is compatible with the MCV z-wave dongle? are the thermostat and the dongle all that I would need?
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/MCV_Z-Wave_Dongle

yannko

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2009, 07:20:36 pm »
Is it only compatible with US frequencies, or a European version exists? (I didn't find it so far). If a 868 MHz is on the market, we would try to integrate it in our system. I would keep you aware in that case Hari.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2009, 07:56:34 pm »
Horstmann makes units for european frequencies..
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2009, 11:41:17 pm »
Hari: I am going to go ahead and order. I will get with you when I get the unit installed, probably mid next week or so and you can hack away.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2009, 11:43:47 pm »
cool, catch me on linuxmce-devel when you have the stuff installed..
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2009, 03:36:56 pm »
Just an update guys, I got the thermostat installed over the weekend and it works well manually. However there are different zwave control setting types and you have to be mindful when pairing this device. Basically there are three ways you can control this thermostat, Full Control (you guessed it you can control all features such as heat/cool/ tempup/dwn etc), Partial control (uses standard lighting dimmer commands to just raise and lower target temp), and on/off control (just allows you to turn it on/off). Now the first time I bound the thermostat I accidentally was on the wrong type of control and LMCE recognized the thermostat as a light control. I had to re-bind and now it is recognized properly as a thermostat. I only had a small amount of time to play with it but I immediately noticed that the buttons on orbiter are not working properly with this thermostat. Heat/Cool buttons seem to be fine, but all the rest seem to send the wrong command or dont do anything to the thermostat at all. So I will dig into the template and see what I can find out.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2009, 07:00:31 pm »
you forgot to add that i had to inspect the serial comms from the old driver just to find out that you did not read the manual :-)
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2009, 11:15:55 pm »
Is it only compatible with US frequencies, or a European version exists? (I didn't find it so far). If a 868 MHz is on the market, we would try to integrate it in our system. I would keep you aware in that case Hari.
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Horstmann_AS2_RF

this one is for EU frequencies...
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

krys

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: WAYNE-DALTON Z-WAVE® THERMOSTAT
« Reply #14 on: March 05, 2009, 04:00:11 am »
you forgot to add that i had to inspect the serial comms from the old driver just to find out that you did not read the manual :-)

Yes I would still be at square 1 if it wasnt for Hari's diagnostic services!