Author Topic: Audio and Video Problems during setup  (Read 1515 times)

Mr.Montesa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Audio and Video Problems during setup
« on: July 20, 2008, 09:38:22 am »
Hello LinuxMCE friends,
I'm facing some problems while setting up Audio and Video in the AVwizard on my newly installed Core.
First some details about my hardware:
Board: Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H
TV: Samsung LE40F86BD 1290x1080
Case: Theramltake DH101 with built in IR Support
Computer and TV are connected directly via HDMI cable.
In fact audio and Video should be available on the TV.

Now about the problems:
Video:
When selecting HDMI/1080p/50hz the image is incredible bad. I see can see the numbers of the test screen counting down with 3 shadows on top.
And the image is bigger, than TV can display.
When I select HDMI/1280x800 (5:4)/50hz the output is sharp and clear, but with black edges on all 4 sides of the image.
During the next step clicking the + Button to zoom, does not take any effect.
I followed both ATI Howtos in the Wiki (Display Drivers + ATI hacks) without any progress.
Any hints, what settings I should use? Or do I need to edit xorg.conf with special modelines?

Audio:
I was not able to hear anything. On direct HDMI connection, what audio input setting do I have to choose?
Tried it with the first 2, but didn't work. No matter what value I choose in the volume control on next step.
Btw: How do I get back to last step. I couldn't get back from volume control to audio input selection.
Any hints are appreciated.
Thanks a lot.
greets
Sebastian


pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 983
    • View Profile
Re: Audio and Video Problems during setup
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2008, 04:24:56 pm »
Hi,

You will probably have to play with your xorg.conf to get your TV to display in 1080p native resolution.

Here's how I set it up on my LCD: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5328.0

The sound is a different issue.  If you are using a DVI/HDMI adapter your video card would have to support a SPDIF connector where you would take the SPDIF MOBO pinout (two of 4 pins) and through a cable connect to the video card.  Otherwise if the MOBO have SPDIF or Optical out you could go that way if your TV input supports that.  Or, you go video out the HDMI cable and analog sound to a TV input if your TV supports that.

Hope this helps.

Mr.Montesa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Audio and Video Problems during setup
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2008, 04:50:25 pm »
Thanks for your quick response.
I use a direct HDMI connection. The mainboard features HDMI output. On a test installation with Windows, sound worked out of the box via HDMI.
So from hardware point of view, everything should be ok.
The question is, which option do I have to select in AVwizard?

I'll have a look for the video output. It looks like I just have to set UseEDID from "false" to "true", or?
The part above looks more like the discless setup.
I'll give em a try and let you know.
Thanks

UPDATE:
Changing the UseEDID parameter causes the Xserver to break after 5 secs.
Any ideas?
« Last Edit: July 20, 2008, 07:09:03 pm by Mr.Montesa »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Audio and Video Problems during setup
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2008, 08:49:12 pm »
Thanks for your quick response.
I use a direct HDMI connection. The mainboard features HDMI output. On a test installation with Windows, sound worked out of the box via HDMI.
So from hardware point of view, everything should be ok.
The question is, which option do I have to select in AVwizard?

I'll have a look for the video output. It looks like I just have to set UseEDID from "false" to "true", or?
The part above looks more like the discless setup.
I'll give em a try and let you know.
Thanks

UPDATE:
Changing the UseEDID parameter causes the Xserver to break after 5 secs.
Any ideas?

Use "SPDIF Coax" to route Audio of HDMI... however we have experienced varying results with this using the nVidia drivers... and I dont think we have tested it with the ATI drivers.

Also see the Avwizard Wiki page here http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/AVWizard_Step_by_Step#Audio_Output_Connector and look for the 'Custom resolutions' link near the top of the page.

Andrew
« Last Edit: July 20, 2008, 09:04:58 pm by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 983
    • View Profile
Re: Audio and Video Problems during setup
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2008, 09:10:13 pm »
Hi,

When I looked at your TV product spec it said the set was 1080p compliant.

If true did you set the AVwizard to 1080p?

EDID needs to be changed in two different sections in xorg - is that correct?

Did you see this thread?  http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5797.0   Just wondering.

Some other reading material: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=575843

Cheers.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2008, 09:46:24 pm by pigdog »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Audio and Video Problems during setup
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2008, 07:23:02 am »
Hi,

When I looked at your TV product spec it said the set was 1080p compliant.

If true did you set the AVwizard to 1080p?

EDID needs to be changed in two different sections in xorg - is that correct?

Did you see this thread?  http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5797.0   Just wondering.

Some other reading material: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=575843

Cheers.

Our NC100 is 1080P compliant right out of the 'box' using standard LinuxMCE-0710 and the AVwizard. Yes i have seen that thread in the forum... I have contributed to it as well! The Ubuntu one I have not seen... but you should follow the instructions that I and others have put together on our Wiki to get ATI working for you http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers#Installing_The_ATI_Driver

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Mr.Montesa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Audio and Video Problems during setup
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2008, 10:28:58 am »
Thanks for all the replies. I will do some testing this evening.
Here some answers to your questions:
@pigdog
Yes my Samsung is 1080p compliant. Thats why I bought it :D
And yes I've changed EDID in both xorg.conf sections.
And I've read the other ATI thread. My board has an X1300 chip. The successor of the 1250. Not sure if that matters.
Your second link was new to me. Followed the link to this page: http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Ubuntu_Gutsy_Installation_Guide
what is nearly the same way like our Wiki instructions (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers#Installing_The_ATI_Driver)

Unfortunatly this didn't work on my system. But I'm not sure why. I will retry this way on a fresh install and let you know.

BTW: Is there a firewall configured by default? I'm able to ping to internet from the box but not allowed to ping/ssh to it from local network.
Thanks a lot for your infos

UPDATE:
One more question:
I had I/O problems with the DVD installation so I used the CD method. Shall I try to install the ATI drivers before LinuxMCE installation?
Or will linuxmce change the xorg setup?
« Last Edit: July 21, 2008, 10:41:41 am by Mr.Montesa »

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 983
    • View Profile
Re: Audio and Video Problems during setup
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2008, 03:29:38 pm »
Hi,

Here's some info on firewalls:  http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Firewall_Rules

If you are doing a fresh install my personal recommendation would be to do the ati drivers after the AVWizard.  I just like to know that the basic functionality works before I throw some changes into things.

Mr.Montesa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Audio and Video Problems during setup
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2008, 10:57:14 pm »
Hello,
sadly it didn't work. I did a fresh CD install of Kubuntu, installed both LinuxMCE CD's and followed the Wiki for installing the ATI driver.
On the next boot, the AVwizard didn't start. And mouse gestures were even more choppy than without the fglrx.
But installation of ATI driver worked without any errors. Only that there is no change in behavior.

I cant even get to the firewall section of the webfrontend cause I can't reach the host on my local network. I've setup IPs while Ubuntu installation and chose "not to edit settings" while LinuxMCE installation. With working ssh I could grant access if needed.
The ssh daemon is running fine. Can I stop the firewall daemon, or something like that.
Always switching to a different tty and back to GUI makes it even worse to test  :)

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 983
    • View Profile
Re: Audio and Video Problems during setup
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2008, 01:32:11 am »
Hi,

To disable the firewall try this: computing/pluto admin/advanced/firewall rules  check box = disable firewall

Cheers.