Author Topic: Hangs up after 2 days!!  (Read 3619 times)

Kernellinux

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs up after 2 days!!
« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2008, 11:02:30 pm »
Any chance I could get a link as to where to buy

FIC I965 based hybrid core running a ASUS 7300GT graphics card.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4540
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Hangs up after 2 days!!
« Reply #16 on: August 01, 2008, 01:20:31 am »
Any chance I could get a link as to where to buy

FIC I965 based hybrid core running a ASUS 7300GT graphics card.

Hmmm... they are built under contract by FIC for us so I am afraid the exact units we use are not available. But numerous other i965  based motherboards are available and could be integrated with any 7300GS/GT and you would get essentially the same performance reliability.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Kernellinux

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs up after 2 days!!
« Reply #17 on: August 03, 2008, 06:52:37 am »
Asus P5N 32E SLI,
Asus EN8400GS Silent
Hauppage 350


Any reason you can think of why this hardware wouldn't work?

I wish I could re-create the problem, constantly.

To try to troubleshoot. I did a fresh install... and let it sit for 2, 3, days. Ran perfectly. I configured simply ran MythTV and it ran fine for about an 2 hours, and then it froze and I had to restart. I'm not sure, but I think if I exit it runs okay. Does this give you any ideas?

Kernellinux

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs up after 2 days!!
« Reply #18 on: August 09, 2008, 03:53:59 am »
Quote
Hmmm... they are built under contract by FIC for us so I am afraid the exact units we use are not available. But numerous other i965  based motherboards are available and could be integrated with any 7300GS/GT and you would get essentially the same performance reliability.

Andrew


Is there a system that I can buy that is known to be compatible with Linux MCE. I appreciate the information, but a system that is manufactured only to you is of little use to me :)

Thanks again for all your help.


blaneuc

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs up after 2 days!!
« Reply #19 on: August 10, 2008, 12:24:02 am »
I'm having the same problem....is there anyway to get a list of equipment that is known to work that one could purchase from newegg?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4540
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Hangs up after 2 days!!
« Reply #20 on: August 11, 2008, 08:02:27 am »
Quote
Hmmm... they are built under contract by FIC for us so I am afraid the exact units we use are not available. But numerous other i965  based motherboards are available and could be integrated with any 7300GS/GT and you would get essentially the same performance reliability.

Andrew


Is there a system that I can buy that is known to be compatible with Linux MCE. I appreciate the information, but a system that is manufactured only to you is of little use to me :)

Thanks again for all your help.



Well as i said above any i945/965 motherboard should work fine for UI2 masking/alpha blending with a nVidia 7300GS or GT in our experience - we have several working as testbeds.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Kernellinux

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs up after 2 days!!
« Reply #21 on: August 16, 2008, 05:58:08 am »
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130139

So, this board should run for days on end without any hangups ;D

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs up after 2 days!!
« Reply #22 on: August 16, 2008, 12:30:11 pm »
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130139

So, this board should run for days on end without any hangups ;D

Probably, just like your current board.  :-X
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


justdeb

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
  • Hope to become good enough to teach others
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs up after 2 days!!
« Reply #23 on: August 19, 2008, 01:05:08 am »
Hi All,

I have been watching this thread for some time and have not experienced any problems as previously mentioned until last night. In my case the core has been running fine for several weeks at a time and it wasn't until i added a nas (QNAP TS409). As it is used fairly extensively on my other network i decided to add it externally. It seemed to work ok. i got a message to reload the router after adding in the windows shares. I clicked ok and at this point it seemed to freeze. It then locked up completely and i had to pull the power cord. I left it for a few minutes and powered it up again. It was working fine for several minutes and i started to load data and it froze again.

Not a problem - i rebooted it again and just left it sit there and did nothing - it froze after a couple of hours of sitting there doing nothing. I then decided to remove the nas and took the deleted the item templates.

It froze again after several minutes of sitting there. I am now going to do a clean install again as something has happened and i have limited knowledge at this stage on how to fix it. My hardware tests ok in every hardware test i run and it has been working with no dramas up until the nas was added. Whilst this is not what is causing everyone elses problem, it is causing a similar problem (ie freezing). I am more than happy to dump logs or look up any information for anyone as i have quite a bit of spare time at the moment.

Rgds

Justin