Author Topic: The Best and Easy to install tuner card.  (Read 10255 times)

dolony

• Regular Poster
    • View Profile
The Best and Easy to install tuner card.
« on: July 15, 2008, 03:06:58 am »
I'm new to Linuxmce. I just installed the software. What would be the best Tuner card for CATV (U.S.) that linux detects automatically I've tried the PVR-150 and the picture quality sucks. I have the HVR-1600 but there is no driver for it.

tschak909

• LinuxMCE God
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: The Best and Easy to install tuner card.
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2008, 03:44:45 am »
For SD, we support plug and play:

* PVR-150
* PVR-250
* PVR-500
* PVR-USB2

For HD, we support:

* HDHomeRun

Other tuners can be supported, if yo manually configure in MythTV, but you lose some of LinuxMCE's integration, such as the non-myth A/V mode so that you can control A/V devices directly, and broadcast them throughout the house. Please stick with the tuner cards above, unless you are willing to help us write driver templates for other cards. All the tools you need to do so, are part of your LinuxMCE installation.

-Thom

dolony

• Regular Poster
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2008, 04:16:51 am »
I have PVR-150. and the picture quality is bad. I called the reps for HD homerun and they said HD homerun is for ATSC. I need a tuner card for Time Warner analog cable.

tschak909

• LinuxMCE God
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2008, 04:16:43 pm »
*hmm* I love it when people argue with me. (I do happen to know _EXACTLY_ what I'm talking about.)

I'm using an HDHomerun on both ATSC and QAM-256 (which is the modulation used by cable.) It works on both just fine. And yes, you can use it too. With the HDHomeRun I can only get the unencrypted channels. This is the situation across the board, no matter what tuner you use.

We are also in the process of working with a few different teams to provide support for the Hauppauge HD-PVR component capture device.

-Thom