Author Topic: 0710 with LVM  (Read 2419 times)

lsabalo

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
0710 with LVM
« on: February 15, 2008, 05:08:02 pm »
Hi all, how can I install LinuxMCE 0710 using LVM? I want this way because I will add a disk in a few weeks and want to extend the file systems.
What is the default file systems layout for 0710?
Thanks.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5505
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 with LVM
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2008, 05:58:46 pm »
Currently, LVM is not supported by the disk radar.

This isn't an issue though, because LinuxMCE will dynamically use any storage space available to it, no matter if it is an internal, external, or network connected disk.

-Thom

lsabalo

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 with LVM
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2008, 07:23:10 pm »
That's ok.
Can I install a kubuntu 7.10 with LVM and then install LinuxMCE without issues?
Which directory does LinuxMCE use for store media? So I can assign most of the space to the file system.
Thanks for your reply.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5505
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 with LVM
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2008, 08:15:37 pm »
no, again, the disk space radar will not function properly, in this case, because the device isn't /dev/hd-sdsomething.

sorry,
-Thom

ElecCham

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 with LVM
« Reply #4 on: February 29, 2008, 06:17:11 pm »
Er.  Does that also mean that Linux software RAID is right out?   ???

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5505
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 with LVM
« Reply #5 on: February 29, 2008, 07:04:16 pm »
no, we have a UI for managing software raid (md) directly from the web admin.

-Thom

indulis

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 with LVM
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2008, 06:25:47 am »
OK I can't use LVM for the Linuxmce data areas, is it OK to install Kubuntu with LVM?

Oh well I will try it anyway and see how far I get :-D


indulis

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 with LVM
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2008, 08:10:54 pm »
Thom,

how can linuxmce use lots of filesystems- my concern is for mythtv video storage directory, which (I believe in the version in 710) only supports a single directory for its storage.

Thanks!

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5505
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 with LVM
« Reply #8 on: September 22, 2008, 08:28:58 pm »
Currently, the mythtv in 0710 only supports storing to the primary storage area on the core.

The version of MythTV that will be included in the next release will have support for multiple storage areas, and we will use this, along with some needed scriptage, to automatically select which device should store a given recording.

-Thom

indulis

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 with LVM
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2008, 03:42:43 am »
which is /home/public/data/videos/tv_shows_1/

right?  just trying to figure out where to mount my mythtv filesystem once I create it

I don't like media sharing the same filesystem as the OS- too easy to fill it up.  same for /tmp

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5505
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: 0710 with LVM
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2008, 03:48:12 am »
which is why I use the built in RAID in the web admin....

but i guess that didn't occur to you, did it?

-Thom