Author Topic: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?  (Read 3273 times)

richbl

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« on: June 29, 2008, 06:04:04 pm »
Hello all,

I'm currently looking into an open source home-automation solution that provides the following features:

--z-wave sensor integration
--ip camera support
--cell phone notification

At the moment, LinuxMCE seems to be more than capable (with the added benefit of displacing my Windows MCE installation... good-bye Vista).

However, on this last point, I cannot seem to find a definitive answer, so here's my scenario/question:

If I have a z-wave sensor or ip camera that generates an event (e.g. IP camera motion-detection tripped), can LinuxMCE turn that event into either an email, or contact me via mobile phone (CDMA/Verizon)?


At the very least, I should be able to generate an email, but my limited understanding of LinuxMCE is that it doesn't run with a native mail server.

Thanks much.

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2008, 06:45:41 pm »
Yes.  That is a standard scenario.
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

richbl

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2008, 07:45:24 am »
Yes.  That is a standard scenario.

Thanks for the quick response.

As I was unable to find any information on a native LinuxMCE mail server, can you please point me to the documentation that details this?

Thanks again.

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2008, 08:20:22 am »
Mail Server!?!? How old school!
(joke)

It doesn't send via a mail server, it sends to your cellphone via WAP/GPRS.
In WebAdmin, Advanced (at the top), Network, WAP/GPRS Settings.
You should be able to follow the instructions from there.

The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2008, 08:49:44 am »
Mail Server!?!? How old school!
(joke)

It doesn't send via a mail server, it sends to your cellphone via WAP/GPRS.
In WebAdmin, Advanced (at the top), Network, WAP/GPRS Settings.
You should be able to follow the instructions from there.

But is it possible just send notification by email? Because to use WAP/GPRS it's needed GSM gate with SIM-card. Currently I'm interested to receive just email with camera snapshot, for example. But I couldn't fine any info how to configure it. Will be very appreciated for any help :)
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2008, 10:01:20 am »
Mail Server!?!? How old school!
(joke)

It doesn't send via a mail server, it sends to your cellphone via WAP/GPRS.
In WebAdmin, Advanced (at the top), Network, WAP/GPRS Settings.
You should be able to follow the instructions from there.

But is it possible just send notification by email? Because to use WAP/GPRS it's needed GSM gate with SIM-card. Currently I'm interested to receive just email with camera snapshot, for example. But I couldn't fine any info how to configure it. Will be very appreciated for any help :)

I'd also like to have this feature.... What we could do is to put something usefull into lines of /etc/motion/threadX.conf :

http://www.lavrsen.dk/twiki/bin/view/Motion/ExternalCommands

I think on_save or on_ffmlpeg is the way to go... We should only check Security mode, cause we don't want to get flooded when we're home...

Currently we implement sending emails by changing Configuration field in surveillance cameras - if you put your line there, it will appear in /etc/motion/threadX.conf...

For instance I have this in Configuration field in one of my cameras :
Quote
norm 0
width 640
height 480
auto_brightness off

The only missing part is how to send email to certain address from LMCE in one liner and possibly snapshot of mpeg movie as attachment.... Anyone knows ?

Regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2008, 10:17:00 am »
It can be something like that:
Code: [Select]
mutt -s "Subject" -a /tmp/file.tar.gz your@email.addr < /tmp/message-body.txtBut it'd be really useful to have something similar to Cellphone Notifications, but for email.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2008, 10:37:37 am »
Mail Server!?!? How old school!
(joke)

It doesn't send via a mail server, it sends to your cellphone via WAP/GPRS.
In WebAdmin, Advanced (at the top), Network, WAP/GPRS Settings.
You should be able to follow the instructions from there.

But is it possible just send notification by email? Because to use WAP/GPRS it's needed GSM gate with SIM-card. Currently I'm interested to receive just email with camera snapshot, for example. But I couldn't fine any info how to configure it. Will be very appreciated for any help :)

Michael,

The mobile phone notification is not implemented using a local GSM/SIM gateway. It uses your VOIP provider to actually call the mobile or fixed line phone you designate. The recipient will hear a spoken message and will be offered a range of 'menu' options ie "Press 1 to cancel security Alert, Press 2 to Reset the Alarm, Press 3...." using the number keys you can then take the action you require from any phone anywhere.

It works very well indeed and we find that it totally blows people away when they see this side of the system during a demonstration.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2008, 11:06:02 am »
I didn't know that, Andrew :) It looks amazing! Will try to configure it and play with it.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

ccoudsi

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
    • View Profile
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2009, 08:14:59 pm »
I'm able to receive a call from my Hybrid 7.10 on my cell phone (iPhone), when my motion detector get tripped, but when I hear the "Announcement"

Quote
"The recipient will hear a spoken message and will be offered a range of 'menu' options ie "Press 1 to cancel security Alert, Press 2 to Reset the Alarm, Press 3...." using the number keys you can then take the action you require from any phone anywhere"

The system is not responding to my input commands, it keeps repeating the announcement, any ideas why??

Thanks in advance for any input!! :)

« Last Edit: March 28, 2009, 08:24:12 pm by ccoudsi »
Cheers |[BEER]
Charlie,

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4508
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2009, 08:27:08 pm »
I'm able to receive a call from my Hybrid 7.10 on my cell phone (iPhone), when my motion detector get tripped, but when I hear the "Announcement"

Quote
"The recipient will hear a spoken message and will be offered a range of 'menu' options ie "Press 1 to cancel security Alert, Press 2 to Reset the Alarm, Press 3...." using the number keys you can then take the action you require from any phone anywhere"

The system is not responding to my input commands, it keeps repeating the announcement, any ideas why??

Thanks in advance for any input!! :)



I would imagine that the problem is in the Asterisk config somewhere...

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2009, 08:36:53 pm »
The most common problem with this lies in your trunk configuration.

Your dtmfmode for your trunk is set wrong.

I'm guessing this is because you re-appropriated an existing VOIP template for another provider for your use.

in the web admin, go to Advanced > configuration > phones setup

This will bring you into the FreePBX phone panel.

You can then select Trunks.

Then select your VOIP trunk from the list.

Look in both the PEER and USER details text boxes, look for

dtmfmode=inband

Change this to dtmfmode=rfc2833

Save and apply the changes.

Your menu should now properly respond.

Please let us know if this works.

-Thom

ccoudsi

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
    • View Profile
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2009, 09:20:41 pm »
Thom,
I followed your instructions, and rebooted the system, still not responding, I signed up with BroadVoice, here's my Trunk setup FYI:
Code: [Select]
authname=650xxxxxxx
canreinvite=no
context=from-pstn
dtmf=inband
dtmfmode=rfc2833
fromdomain=sip.broadvoice.com
fromuser=650xxxxxxx
host=sip.broadvoice.com
insecure=very
nat=yes
secret=xxxxxxxxxx
type=peer
user=phone
username=650xxxxxxx

User Details:
Code: [Select]
context=from-pstn
dtmf=inband
dtmfmode=rfc2833
fromdomain=sip.broadvoice.com
host=sip.broadvoice.com
insecure=very
nat=yes
secret=xxxxxxxxxx
type=user
user=650xxxxxxx
username=650xxxxxxx
« Last Edit: March 29, 2009, 01:56:21 am by ccoudsi »
Cheers |[BEER]
Charlie,

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2009, 09:21:54 pm »
dtmf also needs to be set to rfc2833

-Thom

ccoudsi

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
    • View Profile
Re: Using LinuxMCE for Home-Automation/Security?
« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2009, 09:45:52 pm »
Thom,
I did that, and rebooted the system, then I tripped the motion detector, it called my Cell as before, but no response on my input, after that I changed the settings to call my PSTN home number instead of my cell, and it worked, then I pressed "4" to call my neighbor which my cell number and the system called my cell but no Announcement, just silent !!!
Cheers |[BEER]
Charlie,