Author Topic: Do MD's have to be diskless?  (Read 906 times)

mikester

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Do MD's have to be diskless?
« on: June 24, 2008, 07:34:42 pm »
I played around with LMCE a few months ago and didn't get far, but I think part of the problem was my inexperience with Myth and Linux in general.  Now I'm really close to having a Mythbuntu 8.04 setup running, and I find myself missing some of the features LMCE would offer.

So I want to try out LMCE again, but one thing I found working with Mythbuntu was that diskless frontends were a major PITA.  I ended up buying 80GB SATA drives ($37 each :D ) for each frontend, and it was much easier to work with that setup.

I'll initially try the diskless method, but if I run into problems, is it possible to install LMCE to a harddrive on a MD, like I did with Myth?

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: Do MD's have to be diskless?
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2008, 08:15:26 pm »
Disked MD's were officiall dropped in 0710 if I remember right.

Not to worry, diskless MD's are absolutely painless! All you have to do is enter the bios of the computer you want to be a new MD, and ensure the settings are correct for PXE booting. Then plug in your ethernet cable and turn the power on - its really that easy

mikester

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Do MD's have to be diskless?
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2008, 09:22:32 pm »
I hope you're right, and I hope it's more mature than the Mythbuntu 8.04 implementation.  I guess it should be, since they just added diskless support to Myth, and LMCE has apparently had it from the beginning.

I was a little worried, because 2 of my MD's are based off Shuttle KPC systems.  I never could get those to boot diskless under Mythbuntu - it would get halfway through the boot, and then it couldn't find the network adapter.  Installing to a harddrive worked flawlessly.  Hopefully I won't have the same issue with LMCE.  I think I saw someone else post here that they're using the KPC with a Celeron 430 - my exact setup, so that's encouraging.

freymann

  • Douchebag
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
Re: Do MD's have to be diskless?
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2008, 10:58:00 pm »
I hope you're right, and I hope it's more mature than the Mythbuntu 8.04 implementation.  I guess it should be, since they just added diskless support to Myth, and LMCE has apparently had it from the beginning.

No comparison really! LMCE wins that task hands down.

Quote
I was a little worried, because 2 of my MD's are based off Shuttle KPC systems.  I never could get those to boot diskless under Mythbuntu - it would get halfway through the boot, and then it couldn't find the network adapter.  Installing to a harddrive worked flawlessly.  Hopefully I won't have the same issue with LMCE.  I think I saw someone else post here that they're using the KPC with a Celeron 430 - my exact setup, so that's encouraging.

You could always insert a known good PCI NIC and disable the onboard NIC, if you ran into problems and have a free slot.