Author Topic: i386 install vs amd64  (Read 1500 times)

vmann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
i386 install vs amd64
« on: June 17, 2008, 06:52:08 am »
Maybe this has been covered before, (I did do a search) what are the pros and cons between the i386 and the amd64 versions? I am currently running the i386 verion in my core but my media directors are 64 capable so they get installed as such and I have issues (yukon nic card) so i have to manually switch it to i386 and everything is fine. With that said i'm considering reloading the core with the 64 version(my core is 64 capable 2.6 core2 duo). Any words of wisdom?


Thanks

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: i386 install vs amd64
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2008, 02:03:01 pm »
Here's a link to an Ubuntu article.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/32bit_and_64bit

Hope this helps.

Cheers.

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: i386 install vs amd64
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2008, 01:36:45 am »
I used the 64 bit install since it was released until I had some problems just recently. I re-installed the 32 bit version just the other day, and the stability is leaps and bounds better (on my hardware anyways). I would really suggest sticking with 32 bit until all of the 64 bit bugs are worked out (this goes beyond something normal like a 64-bit ubuntu distribution. Here you have mixed architectures trying to play nicely together on a project that is still very young).

vmann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: i386 install vs amd64
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2008, 02:22:05 am »
Thank you for the reply, both of you answered my questions.

ferdies

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: i386 install vs amd64
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2008, 07:04:22 am »
Hi,

I will be using a 64-bit AMD microprocessors. Does it mean I can also use i386 version of LinuxMCE for the installation and it will be more stable?

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5492.0

Thanks.

jondecker76

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 763
    • View Profile
Re: i386 install vs amd64
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2008, 12:19:06 pm »
Yes, you can use the 32 bit install on a 64 bit processor (I am doing this)

williammanda

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: i386 install vs amd64
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2008, 07:38:54 pm »
I am having funny issues with a network of 2 - AMD64 & 1 - 386 setup. I'm wondering if installing all with 386 will resolve the issues. Also does acpi relate to this at all?
Thanks

vmann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: i386 install vs amd64
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2008, 01:15:38 am »
williammanda

Please give us more information to help you out.

Whate is your core running (i386 or amd64) and what is your media directors running, and exactly what is the issue that you are having.

In my case my core is i386 and it autodetects my media director to am64. I manually had to change the media director to i386 due to issues with my nic card driver (marvell yukon.)


williammanda

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: i386 install vs amd64
« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2008, 01:16:26 pm »
williammanda

Please give us more information to help you out.

Whate is your core running (i386 or amd64) and what is your media directors running, and exactly what is the issue that you are having.

In my case my core is i386 and it autodetects my media director to am64. I manually had to change the media director to i386 due to issues with my nic card driver (marvell yukon.)



I installed the amd64 version on the hybrid which is an intel core 2 duo 6400. The 1st MD is an intel P4 3Mhz and the second MD is an AMD athlon 64 2x 4200. I have several issues:
1. The AMD MD has netboot problems....during several installations, sometimes it would boot and other not at all, which is the case now.
2. Video playback freezing on all computers.
3. Ripping a DVD on the hybrid loads down the computer until it is complete. This has never happened before. I could rip a dvd, record a video in mythtv and watch another with no problem.

I read jondecker76's post on the 17th and it seemed like a possible solution.
Thanks

Itsik

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: i386 install vs amd64
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2008, 06:51:45 am »
I'd suggest sticking with32bit on the core/hybrid and let it install what ever it wants on the MD's.
The stability issues are usually on 64bit core/hybrid setups, I had a lot of them until I switched to 32bit and never looked back since then.

Itsik