Author Topic: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?  (Read 4835 times)

ferdies

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« on: June 15, 2008, 11:50:46 am »
Hi,

Currently, I have a squeezecenter running on CentOS and would like to migrate everything to Linux MCE.

In this wiki, it show that Squeezebox is plug and play:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Use_network_audio_players_for_a_whole-house_music_solution

1. Is it same to assume that squeezecenter has been integrated in Linux MCE?
2. Can Softsqueeze be loaded as well? Reason being is that I would like to just play the music using the speakers attached to the Core or Hybrid PC.

Thanks.

jspeckman

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2008, 03:55:31 pm »
Hi,
  My current linuxmce setup is using the most recent squeezecenter and two instances of squeezeslave (and two soundcards) running on the core.

1) The integration is loose.  Linuxmce uses the cli to talk to the slimserver.  It's oneway, in that linuxmce sends it commands but does not get anything back.  This however allowed me to drop in the most recent squeezecenter with only a few tweeks, mostly directory permissions and changing the cli port to be the one that linuxmce is expecting.  Also you still have access to squeezecenter's web interface if you want to use it.

2) You can load it.  I would recomend using squeezeslave though since it's written in c and not java.  You'll have to set it up by hand first, and then add it to linuxmce as if it were one of the hardware boxes.

That's my two cents,
Jason

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 891
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2008, 01:55:41 am »
Hi,
  My current linuxmce setup is using the most recent squeezecenter and two instances of squeezeslave (and two soundcards) running on the core.

1) The integration is loose.  Linuxmce uses the cli to talk to the slimserver.  It's oneway, in that linuxmce sends it commands but does not get anything back.  This however allowed me to drop in the most recent squeezecenter with only a few tweeks, mostly directory permissions and changing the cli port to be the one that linuxmce is expecting.  Also you still have access to squeezecenter's web interface if you want to use it.

2) You can load it.  I would recomend using squeezeslave though since it's written in c and not java.  You'll have to set it up by hand first, and then add it to linuxmce as if it were one of the hardware boxes.

That's my two cents,
Jason

Hi,

thanks for info. Jason, could you please post more info about your setup to Wiki? I'm also interested about your solution with more cards in Core....

Can squeezeslaves play one song in sync ? Your solution seems to be quite reasonable for more stereo outputs on Core...

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2008, 08:57:17 pm »
Hi everyone.

I too is very interested in this.
I had it working before I reinstalled my core/hybrid(amd64 version) becuase I screwed up a lot of things.
My setup is using a builtin nvidia hd soundcard (device 0) that I use for for lmce.
My other usb attached (noname cheap) soundcard (device 1) is dedicated for background music outside. (Barbeque area)

I am unable to get the amd64 bit version if squeezeslave-0.7.5 working.
Get this output no matter how I start it.
dcerouter_78929:~/squeezeslave# ./squeezeslave -o 1 192.168.80.1
Output devices:
0: /dev/dsp
1: /dev/dsp1
Error in recv 1: Success
Connection to SqueezeCenter 192.168.80.1 failed.

Did a quick test with squeezeslave 0.7.1 i386 version and it seem to work fine.
Output:
dcerouter_78929:~/squeezeslave-0.7.1# ./squeezeslave -o 1 192.168.80.1
Output devices:
0: /dev/dsp
1: /dev/dsp1


Unfortunately I am not at home so I cannot hear if it work or not.
Will let you all know tomorrow if it work or not.


jspeckman.
Why do you suggest to replace slimserver with the latest one?

This is my to cents of knowledge about squeezeslave with lmce so far.

/niz23

jspeckman

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2008, 09:20:02 pm »
niz23
  I replaced my slimserver because I wanted to use the iPeng plugin.  It's a skin designed for the iPhone.  I mostly use the slimserver's interface directly rather than going through the orbiter.

Jason

jspeckman

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2008, 03:24:17 pm »
Bulek,
  I've started putting my setup on the wiki http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Jspeckman.  I've got a rough description of the squeezeslave setup in there as well.  Any input for making it easier to follow would be great.  Maybe the instructions should have there own page?  And yes syncing does work.

Jason

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2008, 11:20:59 pm »
I have created a init script that automatically start squeezeslave like ubuntu start all other daemons.
Is is really basic. Based upon the skeleton provided with ubuntu with minor changes.
There is probably a lot of other, better ways to create a init script for squeezeslave than this one.
But...
It work. It do its job. That's enough for me.

If anyone is interested I will send it to you.
If jspeckman agree I can upload it on the wiki page together with instructions how to install.

/niz23

jspeckman

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2008, 12:25:55 am »
niz23,
  Go for it.  I moved my squeezeslave setup to it's own page.  http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Squeezeslave_on_the_core

Jason

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 891
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2008, 02:29:47 pm »
Hi,

I'm trying to follow instructions but have problems:
- I've downloaded latest Squeezeslave version, but it seems that it requires upgrade of Squeezecenter, right ?

- following instructions for upgrading SqueezeCenter I cannot find /usr/pluto/servers. I'm running 710 release, what is your version ?

- Where can I check in SlimServer Web interface that my squeezeslave actually registered ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #9 on: June 19, 2008, 07:10:22 pm »
bulek.

- I've downloaded latest Squeezeslave version, but it seems that it requires upgrade of Squeezecenter, right ?

- Where can I check in SlimServer Web interface that my squeezeslave actually registered ?

1. There is no real need to update it. Thats my expereience so far.
Are you using 32 or 64 bit in your core.
If you use 64 bit you will need squeezeslave-0.7.1. Haven´t got any newer versions to run.

2.
http://dcerouter:9000
In the page presented.
Look under headline "Settings"
You will see text similar to, "Player Settings for 192.168.80.1".
If you see anything like above the player are registered with slimserver.

/niz23

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 891
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #10 on: June 20, 2008, 12:19:53 am »
bulek.

- I've downloaded latest Squeezeslave version, but it seems that it requires upgrade of Squeezecenter, right ?

- Where can I check in SlimServer Web interface that my squeezeslave actually registered ?

1. There is no real need to update it. Thats my expereience so far.
Are you using 32 or 64 bit in your core.
If you use 64 bit you will need squeezeslave-0.7.1. Haven´t got any newer versions to run.

2.
http://dcerouter:9000
In the page presented.
Look under headline "Settings"
You will see text similar to, "Player Settings for 192.168.80.1".
If you see anything like above the player are registered with slimserver.

/niz23

Hi,

thanks for response....

1. I've downloaded Squeezeslave 0.7.5.1- is this ok ? I won't upgrade Slimserver if not needed ?

2. Ok, will check it...

I'm getting weird errors and I'm not sure what to do :

Quote
/usr/local/bin/squeezeslave -m 00:00:00:00:00:01 -r -s 192.168.0.1
Output devices:
0: /dev/dsp
1: /dev/dsp1
Error in recv 1: Success
Sleeping for 3 s.
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Sleeping for 3 s.
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek

Any advice ?

BTW, does anyone know where is Slimserver located in 710 release ?

I'm also curious if anyone can point me to more info about how to use Optical output on certain card (how to tell to Alsa OSS emulation to output to Optical output instead of analog default output) ?

Thanks in advance ,

regards,

Bulek.

« Last Edit: June 20, 2008, 12:32:57 am by bulek »
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #11 on: June 20, 2008, 11:54:22 am »
bulek.

No idea how to output on s/pdif with oss.

I use version 0.7.1 of squeezeslave for AMD64.
Have found that this is the only version that work reliable in my core.
The other versions tend to crash with sound device related issues.

What kind of audio files do you have? (I only have mp3s)

/niz23

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 891
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #12 on: June 20, 2008, 02:19:40 pm »
bulek.

No idea how to output on s/pdif with oss.

I use version 0.7.1 of squeezeslave for AMD64.
Have found that this is the only version that work reliable in my core.
The other versions tend to crash with sound device related issues.

What kind of audio files do you have? (I only have mp3s)

/niz23
Hi,

I didn't yet get to the point to be able to play any file... I have just started squeezeslave from command line and got those weird errors... re you getting the same ? Can you please post example output of working squeezeslave?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

jspeckman

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #13 on: June 20, 2008, 04:13:41 pm »
Hi,
  Don't know if this will help, but the -O option tells squeezeslave to use the older pre 7.0 SqueezeCenter protocol.  It might fix the problem if you guys are connecting to SlimServer.  Might not, but worth a try.  I'm running the i386 version of 0.7.5.1-20167 on a p3 and also on a pentium m.  After outputing the possible /dev/dsp devices I get no further output except an occasional decode error which seems to be related to my m4a files and does not produces any glitches that I can hear.  On my laptop I sometimes have to use aoss to launch squeezeslave.  However after a few hours of playing I start getting nothing but garbage out of the speakers.  I have not had this occur when running squeezeslave directly.  I run kde on my laptop and I think artsd sometimes steps on the oss modules in alsa.
From what I've read on the alsa site, I was unable to find any way of having the oss emulation output to anything other than the soundcards main output.  If anyone else has or is able to find anything, I would like to know as well.

Thanks,
Jason

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 891
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
« Reply #14 on: June 23, 2008, 12:56:46 am »
Hi,
  Don't know if this will help, but the -O option tells squeezeslave to use the older pre 7.0 SqueezeCenter protocol.  It might fix the problem if you guys are connecting to SlimServer.  Might not, but worth a try.  I'm running the i386 version of 0.7.5.1-20167 on a p3 and also on a pentium m.  After outputing the possible /dev/dsp devices I get no further output except an occasional decode error which seems to be related to my m4a files and does not produces any glitches that I can hear.  On my laptop I sometimes have to use aoss to launch squeezeslave.  However after a few hours of playing I start getting nothing but garbage out of the speakers.  I have not had this occur when running squeezeslave directly.  I run kde on my laptop and I think artsd sometimes steps on the oss modules in alsa.
From what I've read on the alsa site, I was unable to find any way of having the oss emulation output to anything other than the soundcards main output.  If anyone else has or is able to find anything, I would like to know as well.

Thanks,
Jason

Hi,

is this the proper info ?

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Dolby_Digital_Out_(AC3,_SPDIF)#OSS_and_SPDIF

HTH,

regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.