Author Topic: Static IP based on MAC Address  (Read 2200 times)

Bumaster108

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Static IP based on MAC Address
« on: June 08, 2008, 11:33:35 pm »
Most commercial routers have IP address reservation, I think LinuxMCE should have a way to do this in the admin web site.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5499
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Static IP based on MAC Address
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2008, 05:06:32 am »
it currently does this for any media directors or pluto managed gear that it finds.

-Thom

royw

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
    • View Profile
Re: Static IP based on MAC Address
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2008, 08:46:08 am »
Take a look at /etc/dhcp3/dhcpd.conf.  You should see LMCE managed devices in the regular machines group...

Say you have another PC on your internal LAN that you want to configure as DHCP but have a non-changing IP, you can use pluto-admin to add a "File Server" (under Advanced, Configuration, Devices, CORE, create Child Device) then just not add any shares.

Have fun,
Roy

Bumaster108

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Static IP based on MAC Address
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2008, 12:54:39 am »
Thanks for the replies, I didn't think of using pluto in this way.

charlie1953

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Static IP based on MAC Address
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2008, 11:06:36 am »
Roy you are a legend - this problem has had me searching for an answer for over a week. Now I know how to set static ip addresses for all my PCs, tivo, xbox etc with out having to configure each device. It would be great if this bit of advice could be made more obvious - perhaps in the pluto-admin tool itself.

thank you again I can get back to sleeping at night  :)

charlie