Author Topic: About to take the plunge...!  (Read 1926 times)

The_Brickster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
About to take the plunge...!
« on: June 07, 2008, 07:14:07 pm »
Hi,

I've been lurking around these forums quite a bit over the last few months and have finally got together a shopping list.

My requirements are to set up a Hybrid server to play 1080P files to my 46" TV, and also to be futureproof to cope with the latest technologies.

I was wondering whether anyone could cast their expert opinion on the set up and let me know if it looks as though it will work?

Case - SilverStone LC20B
PSU - 400W Silverstone SST-ST40EF+ super silent, 80%+ eFF' , v.1 ROHS
Motherboard - Abit AN-M2HD
CPU - AMD AM2 Athlon 64 X2 6000+ , Windsor Core, Dual Core 3.0GHz, 1MB Cache
Cooler - NORTHQ 3393
RAM - 2GB (2x1GB) Corsair TwinX XMS2 Pro, DDR2 PC2-6400 (800), 240 Pins, Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 5-5-5-12
HDD - 80 GB Western Digital WD800AAJS Caviar SE, SATA 300, 7200 rpm, 8MB Cache, 9 ms
Bluetooth - DLink Bluetooth USB (1.1) Adapter (DBT-122)
Optical Drive - Lite-ON LH-20A1S-11C LiteOn 20x DVD±R, 8x DVD±DL, DVD+RW x8 / -RW x 6, DVD-RAM x12, SATA, Retail

Will the case need its own fan as well, or should the setup be cool enough?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: About to take the plunge...!
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2008, 10:57:22 pm »
I can say this at least... The Abit mainboard works out of the box in LMCE 0710.
I have 2 of those as diskless MD's and all I need to install them is my Fiire Chief remote. (no need for mous and keyboard).

One is connected to a 32" LCD over VGA in 720p and is using analog audio.
AC3 and DTS files still have analog sound.

One is connected to a 40" LCD over HDMI->DVI in 720p and is using the optical spdif to my receiver.
My receiver is reciving both AC3 and DTS sound over the optical cable.

Both are running 64bit and have a internal DVD player that works as well.
They have a Fiire Chief dongle for control.

I have no 1080p TV to test that, so I can not say if it works or not. But I did set up a Mythbuntu installation for a friend of mine using the same mainboard and it's connected to his 1080p TV with HDMI and both sound an d 1080p is working great. It should work just as well in LinuxMCE.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4458
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: About to take the plunge...!
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2008, 10:27:09 am »
Hi,

I've been lurking around these forums quite a bit over the last few months and have finally got together a shopping list.

My requirements are to set up a Hybrid server to play 1080P files to my 46" TV, and also to be futureproof to cope with the latest technologies.

I was wondering whether anyone could cast their expert opinion on the set up and let me know if it looks as though it will work?

Case - SilverStone LC20B
PSU - 400W Silverstone SST-ST40EF+ super silent, 80%+ eFF' , v.1 ROHS
Motherboard - Abit AN-M2HD
CPU - AMD AM2 Athlon 64 X2 6000+ , Windsor Core, Dual Core 3.0GHz, 1MB Cache
Cooler - NORTHQ 3393
RAM - 2GB (2x1GB) Corsair TwinX XMS2 Pro, DDR2 PC2-6400 (800), 240 Pins, Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 5-5-5-12
HDD - 80 GB Western Digital WD800AAJS Caviar SE, SATA 300, 7200 rpm, 8MB Cache, 9 ms
Bluetooth - DLink Bluetooth USB (1.1) Adapter (DBT-122)
Optical Drive - Lite-ON LH-20A1S-11C LiteOn 20x DVD±R, 8x DVD±DL, DVD+RW x8 / -RW x 6, DVD-RAM x12, SATA, Retail

Will the case need its own fan as well, or should the setup be cool enough?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!


All looks good to me... maybe a larger HD would be a good idea though ;-)

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

The_Brickster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: About to take the plunge...!
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2008, 11:28:22 am »
Cheers for the input! Think I'll get it ordered today then!

All looks good to me... maybe a larger HD would be a good idea though ;-)

Should have mentioned that I already have 1TB of NAS which should be sufficient for now ;-)


I have no 1080p TV to test that, so I can not say if it works or not. But I did set up a Mythbuntu installation for a friend of mine using the same mainboard and it's connected to his 1080p TV with HDMI and both sound an d 1080p is working great. It should work just as well in LinuxMCE.

I'll update you as to how well it works at producing a 1080P output when I get everything together, but at least it does sound as though it will work.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: About to take the plunge...!
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2008, 12:48:05 pm »
If heat worries you, then you might want to choose a CPU that uses less then 125W max.  Otherwise make sure you have plenty of airflow through that case.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


The_Brickster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: About to take the plunge...!
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2008, 01:01:43 pm »
If heat worries you, then you might want to choose a CPU that uses less then 125W max.  Otherwise make sure you have plenty of airflow through that case.

Yeah that was an issue, will see if I can get some sort of silent fan for the case just to make sure. Cheers.

rodercot

  • Guest
Re: About to take the plunge...!
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2008, 01:09:34 pm »
Brickster,

 Not sure if you have chose a cooler yet, just an FYI, I have an 8400 C2D in my Hybrid with a Ninja MINI and it is 35-40 on both cores at idle no fan, I have a 6000 in my desktop machine with a Ninja revB cooler no fan and it runs at 50-55 degrees most of the time. I think AMD specs 63 degrees max, you may be able to run the Ninja mini and get by but I would rec that you get a Noctua, Nexus or SilenX 80mm fan and attach it to the Ninija mini blowing towards the rear of the case. These are both Scythe coolers, very popular amongst overclockers in Htcp as well. The Ninja RevB is basically a 50MM taller Passive 9 pipe H/S and then you have the option of mounting the supplied cooling fan or not, I rec the other fans as the Sythe supplied fan will get noisy quickly.

 Rgds,

 Dave

The_Brickster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: About to take the plunge...!
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2008, 02:34:54 pm »
Dave,

Thanks for that, I ended up ordering the SilenX 80mm fan to keep the case cool yesterday. Shame I didn't know about the Ninja coolers, they sound pretty awesome. I'll bear those in mind if I end up having issues with the NorthQ one I purchased.

Now just waiting for the parts to arrive...!

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: About to take the plunge...!
« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2008, 04:09:48 pm »
The Abit board works well, especially in latest version, as core/hybrid or diskless MD. Since hmdi audio is not currently supported , you will need to trim a spdif cable or a add a spdif riser to the internal connector, to get digital audio. ( hdmi connector very close to spdif).



Good luck

Drop by chat if you have problems.

Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

rodercot

  • Guest
Re: About to take the plunge...!
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2008, 04:48:09 pm »
The Abit board works well, especially in latest version, as core/hybrid or diskless MD. Since hmdi audio is not currently supported , you will need to trim a spdif cable or a add a spdif riser to the internal connector, to get digital audio. ( hdmi connector very close to spdif).



Good luck

Drop by chat if you have problems.

Tim

 Brickster,

 I have done this with all my asus boards in the past, I am not famiiar with the ABIT so I am not sure of the pin outs, but I just used an RCA jack  + and -. drilled a hole in a back panel slot cover and mounted the rca thorugh this, then used just a std 2 pin connector like a hdd or reset connector that comes from the front of the case, snipped off the length I needed and soldered that to the rca and plugged it into the Spdif on the board, they work all time. just make sure the pinouts are correct, some are 2 pin and some are 3 pins, they will have voltage on one of the 3 pins in the 3 pin version that is for Optical not coaxial.

 I just looked at the manual for your board and it does have 3 pins pin 1 is 5V you will not use this pin. You will plug the made up RCA output into pins 3 and 4 on page 1-18 in your manual it will show the gnd pin number. I also noticed that that board does have a digital output for optical at the back plane. Tim, does that not work when you have the HDMI plugged is, does it disable the onboard optical connector in that case.

 Regards,

 Dave

 

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: About to take the plunge...!
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2008, 05:21:40 pm »
Tim, does that not work when you have the HDMI plugged is, does it disable the onboard optical connector in that case.
The HDMI output does not disable Optical Out, but the connectors ar too close.
I just trimmed the HDMI cable a bit with a knife, works fine :)

rodercot

  • Guest
Re: About to take the plunge...!
« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2008, 05:28:05 pm »
Tim, does that not work when you have the HDMI plugged is, does it disable the onboard optical connector in that case.
The HDMI output does not disable Optical Out, but the connectors ar too close.
I just trimmed the HDMI cable a bit with a knife, works fine :)

 Makes sense. Well! Now there are two options presented for other choices.

 Regards,

 Dave

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: About to take the plunge...!
« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2008, 07:46:01 pm »
Tim, does that not work when you have the HDMI plugged is, does it disable the onboard optical connector in that case.
The HDMI output does not disable Optical Out, but the connectors ar too close.
I just trimmed the HDMI cable a bit with a knife, works fine :)

Yup just trim the cable
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

The_Brickster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: About to take the plunge...!
« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2008, 10:07:03 pm »
I think I had read somewhere else on the forums that I would be needing to trim one of the cables. I think the spdif cable was said to be best to trim as there was more excess plastic on that cable.

Thanks for the info Dave about using the RCA jack, however trimming seems to be the best option for someone like me who has only used a soldering iron to make solder balls whilst at school...!