Author Topic: Install problem  (Read 1014 times)

andi1984

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Install problem
« on: June 02, 2008, 12:43:18 pm »
Hi

i tried to install the linuxmce 0710 from DVD.
The installation stops with the error you can see on the uploaded picture.

/bin/mkdir input/output error.
This happens after the partitions are made and the dvd copyed to the harddisk.

Can anyone tell me what i have to do to solve this problem?

System information:
Mainboard: Supermicro X5DAE
CPU: 2xXeon 2,4Ghz HT
RAM: 3GB DDR ECC reg.
HDD:2x 60GB Seagate PATA
DVD: Samsung 16x
Grafik: ATI Radeon 9250 128MB
LAN: 1x Onboard 1000Mbit, 1x d-link 100Mbit
Sound: Onboard AC97
Tv-Tuner: Technotrend DVB-S2 3200
« Last Edit: June 02, 2008, 03:21:01 pm by andi1984 »

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Install problem
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2008, 01:20:12 pm »
Have a look at one of the other dozens of threads about similar installation I/O problems.

And you will probably have some trouble with that graphics chipset, choose UI1 untill you have installed the latest drivers from ATI and configured them properly (likely manually).
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


andi1984

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Install problem
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2008, 01:45:36 pm »
ok
i checked the md5 of the iso and that was ok.
Now i am burning the image to dvd with 4x speed.
But i am wondering why there are no I/O error at the dvd copy process to hdd.

andi1984

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Install problem
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2008, 03:20:38 pm »
it dosent work.

i changed the hdd, the cables to hdd and dvd-drive and used the new dvd (4x written)

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Install problem
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2008, 03:33:37 pm »
That is very odd, I think this indicates a hardware problem as I have never seen a simple mkdir fail like that.  I was thinking maybe the disk is to small, but if you're installing on one of those 60G drives that shouldn't be a problem.

Maybe you could try the CD installer? 
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


andi1984

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Install problem
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2008, 03:56:40 pm »
Is the CD installer different?

The two HDDs was in a Raid0 on an 3ware controller.
There was the same error and i thought that the reason for that could be the raid system.
So i put out the 3ware Controller and connected one 60GB hdd directly with the primary ide port from the mainboard.

The DVD Drive cant be the problem?
The copy task from DVD to Harddisk works without error, so it should be ok i think.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Install problem
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2008, 05:01:44 pm »
Yes the CD installer is very different.

And I don't think the installer tries to create directories on the DVD, so you're probably right. ;) 
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous