Author Topic: Need help whit tv card  (Read 1345 times)

macaronij

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Need help whit tv card
« on: September 29, 2009, 06:57:39 am »
Hi all, i can t get my ati tv wonder to be find in linuxmce 710
first of all, sorry about my english!

when i put lspci i get
03:07.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7130 Video Broadcast Decoder (rev 01)

so it seems to detect it wrong (ati tv uses bttv)

root@dcerouter:~# lsmod |grep saa
saa7134               148308  0
video_buf              30084  2 saa7134,bttv
compat_ioctl32         11136  2 saa7134,bttv
ir_kbd_i2c             11536  1 saa7134
ir_common              38916  3 saa7134,bttv,ir_kbd_i2c
videodev               31360  2 saa7134,bttv
v4l2_common            21888  4 saa7134,bttv,compat_ioctl32,videodev
v4l1_compat            15364  3 saa7134,bttv,videodev
i2c_core               30208  7 saa7134,bttv,i2c_algo_bit,tveeprom,ir_kbd_i2c,nvidia,i2c_nforce2

i tried to rmmod saa7130 but it don t find it,
so i search in /proc/modules and find

saa7134 148308 0 - Live 0xffffffff88e70000
bttv 216692 0 - Live 0xffffffff88e3a000
...
video_buf 30084 2 saa7134,bttv, Live 0xffffffff88b75000
...
videodev 31360 2 saa7134,bttv, Live 0xffffffff88b36000
v4l2_common 21888 4 saa7134,bttv,compat_ioctl32,videodev, Live 0xffffffff88b2f0$
....

i can remove saa7130 but lspci show the same
i can load modprobe bttv but lspci keep showing the same and mythtv doesnt find the ati

I hope anyone can help me

another little thing, when i boot i need to change "quiet splash" for "all_generic_ide" or boot fails, how can i make a change to don t have to do it evry time

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Need help whit tv card
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2009, 04:43:51 pm »
Hi all, i can t get my ati tv wonder to be find in linuxmce 710
first of all, sorry about my english!

when i put lspci i get
03:07.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7130 Video Broadcast Decoder (rev 01)

so it seems to detect it wrong (ati tv uses bttv)

root@dcerouter:~# lsmod |grep saa
saa7134               148308  0
video_buf              30084  2 saa7134,bttv
compat_ioctl32         11136  2 saa7134,bttv
ir_kbd_i2c             11536  1 saa7134
ir_common              38916  3 saa7134,bttv,ir_kbd_i2c
videodev               31360  2 saa7134,bttv
v4l2_common            21888  4 saa7134,bttv,compat_ioctl32,videodev
v4l1_compat            15364  3 saa7134,bttv,videodev
i2c_core               30208  7 saa7134,bttv,i2c_algo_bit,tveeprom,ir_kbd_i2c,nvidia,i2c_nforce2

i tried to rmmod saa7130 but it don t find it,
so i search in /proc/modules and find

saa7134 148308 0 - Live 0xffffffff88e70000
bttv 216692 0 - Live 0xffffffff88e3a000
...
video_buf 30084 2 saa7134,bttv, Live 0xffffffff88b75000
...
videodev 31360 2 saa7134,bttv, Live 0xffffffff88b36000
v4l2_common 21888 4 saa7134,bttv,compat_ioctl32,videodev, Live 0xffffffff88b2f0$
....

i can remove saa7130 but lspci show the same
i can load modprobe bttv but lspci keep showing the same and mythtv doesnt find the ati

I hope anyone can help me

Try: modprobe -r saa7134 instead.

another little thing, when i boot i need to change "quiet splash" for "all_generic_ide" or boot fails, how can i make a change to don t have to do it evry time

Edit /boot/grub/menu.lst and append "all_generic_ide" to the appropriate "kernel" line.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


macaronij

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Need help whit tv card
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2009, 09:14:44 pm »
when it boot, i can add a tuner in mythtv, but it has the saa7130 driver, so i can t see the tv (/dev/video0)

root@dcerouter:~# modprobe -r saa7134
root@dcerouter:~# modprobe bttv card=39
root@dcerouter:~# lspci
...
03:07.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7130 Video Broadcast Decoder (rev 01)

then i tried in mythtv and it don t find the tv tuner (don t find video/vbi device )

do i have to create a /dev/video1 or something asotiated to the bttv driver?
« Last Edit: September 30, 2009, 01:38:34 am by macaronij »

macaronij

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Need help whit tv card
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2009, 06:32:03 pm »
Any ideas? i have ask in kubuntu forums and they said the problem is in the kernel too old

this is my first linuxmce build and i'm in a early stage, what do you think about trying the 810 alpha2 version? i read it comes whit newer kernel and drivers. is it harder to install/configure? is it very unstable?


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Need help whit tv card
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2009, 06:36:01 pm »
Any ideas? i have ask in kubuntu forums and they said the problem is in the kernel too old

this is my first linuxmce build and i'm in a early stage, what do you think about trying the 810 alpha2 version? i read it comes whit newer kernel and drivers. is it harder to install/configure? is it very unstable?



Or just purchase a card that is supported.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

macaronij

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Need help whit tv card
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2009, 06:51:17 pm »
where i get that list? i need an analog card, the problem is that i m in argentina, i tryed some that you mention in the wiki but they are discontinued, and they won t import something old.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Need help whit tv card
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2009, 07:29:24 pm »
where i get that list? i need an analog card, the problem is that i m in argentina, i tryed some that you mention in the wiki but they are discontinued, and they won t import something old.

What TV standard do you use? NTSC or PAL?...Do you have any digital TV yet? ...if yes what kind DVB or ATSC?

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

macaronij

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Need help whit tv card
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2009, 07:52:43 pm »
PAL-N  and no digital tv
(but if the card can receive pal-n AND ntsc much better)
« Last Edit: October 01, 2009, 07:55:58 pm by macaronij »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Need help whit tv card
« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2009, 01:35:19 am »
PAL-N  and no digital tv
(but if the card can receive pal-n AND ntsc much better)

Hi again,

Well we use this card for analog capture using the Composite in and for DVB-T to. The analog capture has a hardware MPEG2 encoder so the performance is very good. We have not tested the analog PAL TV tuner at all do i cant comment on that aspect;

http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-HVR-1300


http://www.hauppauge.co.uk/site/products/data_hvr1300.html

We also have a v4l package that you could install that will support this card - PM me here on the forum with your email address and i will send it to you.

All the best

Andrew
« Last Edit: October 02, 2009, 01:37:52 am by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

macaronij

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Need help whit tv card
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2009, 05:11:29 pm »
ok, i have done a big mistake. i post it here just in case someone get in the same problem
googling a little you can find that the ati tv wonder has b8t8 chipset (that work whit bttv module) but my kernel loaded saa7134 (that works whit phillips 7130/7134 chipset)
the problem wasn t the kernel, but the manufacturer: they just changed the chipset!!
so much wasted time...