Author Topic: Installation failure  (Read 3044 times)

M_Lange

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
Installation failure
« on: May 28, 2008, 07:43:44 am »
I'm a true newbie to linux and MCE. I'm trying to install  0710 from a boot DVD with no success. The installation quickly goes to a black screen after starting to load the core. I'm guessing I may have a hardware compatibility issue? I'm using a MSI K9VGM-V motherboard and a eVGA 8600GT video card. Any suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks.

Zaerc

• Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Installation failure
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2008, 06:51:17 pm »
I'd like to suggest looking around before asking.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous

M_Lange

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2008, 10:40:01 pm »
I did look and found information about issues with 8500 video cards. Thats why I said I was suscipious of hardware conflicts. I did not find info about 8600 cards or the MSI motherboard I mentioned. But thanks for the "reply" it's good to know the attitude of the forum. I'll move on to another alternative and leave MCE for the "experts".

pigdog

• NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2008, 01:09:26 am »
Hey Buddy don't be so critical.   

Look for stuff about black screens!  If you are not using the default VGA port you can get a black screen because of being connected to i.e. the DVI/HDMI port.  When you get some beeps you need to select your video output.

I might be way off the solution to your problem but Linux is putting the effort into coming up with a solution.

Windows is "Here is what can you do, thank-you for your $$$.  Sorry, if it crashes or doesn't do what you want".

You have to spend time reading, investigating, pouring thru really useless hints, cryptic responses, etc.

I do not understand your problem.  If you could explain it further I am sure someone would help.