Author Topic: IO error while copying DVD  (Read 1168 times)

skaterdad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
IO error while copying DVD
« on: May 26, 2008, 12:15:25 am »
Machine: Emachines T3828 (I'll post a Belarc report if that's useful)
Downloaded http://torrents.thepiratebay.org/4175308/LinuxMCE_Install_DVD_for_i386_-_0710_RC2.4175308.TPB.torrent using azureus.  It says it downloaded OK.
Burned to DVD, booted and started the install on 2 different 40g ide drives.
Each and every time I attempt, it starts copying the DVD then comes up with an I/O error copying the DVD. 
I tried burning the DVD again (under Linux, this time), still no luck.
I tried using Linux Parted to delete all the partitions on the hard disk and then tried again... no luck.
Is LinuxMCE not happy with my hardware?  If so, any idea which piece?
Is LinuxMCD DVD not ok?

skaterdad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: IO error while copying DVD - fixed -- now new problem
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2008, 04:34:10 pm »
Ok, in searchign the forums I found reference to Slow Burn on your dvd drive.  I burned the DVD at 1x and it now installs OK.

However, now on the first bootup it says error starting X.

radmofo

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: IO error while copying DVD
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2008, 09:55:58 pm »
try a lower video setting I bet you used ui2 and your hardware can't do it. To do this hold shift on boot up.

skaterdad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: IO error while copying DVD
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2008, 10:03:48 pm »
UI2?  Just a clean install, I made no choices other than what hard disk to install to!  I'll try the "Shift" trick tonight.

I'm wondering if my PNY PCI 5200 card in this emachines unit + high-res display might be doing something strange...

Anyone know if this would be a good unit to make into a Linux MCE machine?
 
geeks.com PN TS-0008M-AMDX802

radmofo

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: IO error while copying DVD
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2008, 10:12:14 pm »
Don't know I'd have to google the pc specs to know. You should have had to do the setup wizard on bootup. If you didnt get to that I don't know what to say.


skaterdad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: IO error while copying DVD
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2008, 09:03:20 am »
No setup wizard ever came up...

radmofo

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: IO error while copying DVD
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2008, 04:20:42 pm »
Sorry your having trouble, I'm having some other issues myself. I've never had that particular problem.

I'm noticing that RC2 seems to do things different, If I were you get RC1, I went back to it for my production setup. I'm still testing RC2 with a few PC's and I have all sorts of video stutters sound skips and Lirc doesn't work at all for me.

If you do take the time to throw RC1 on that PC please report back your progress, Thanks

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: IO error while copying DVD
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2008, 10:42:16 am »
Edit your /etc/X11/xorg.conf, see http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Display_Drivers#Configuration for pointers on that.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous