Author Topic: "swap interfaces" reboots machine...  (Read 1108 times)

twgray2007

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
"swap interfaces" reboots machine...
« on: May 24, 2008, 04:50:37 pm »
Just did a fresh install from the DVD.  During the first boot, I go messages saying "device 1 has bad mac address" and no network access.  Using the Web Administrator, I went to the network page.  MCE had the interfaces reversed and when I press "swap interfaces" the computer reboots.  Has anyone else experienced this?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: "swap interfaces" reboots machine...
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2008, 09:56:35 pm »
Just did a fresh install from the DVD.  During the first boot, I go messages saying "device 1 has bad mac address" and no network access.  Using the Web Administrator, I went to the network page.  MCE had the interfaces reversed and when I press "swap interfaces" the computer reboots.  Has anyone else experienced this?

Yes this is normal... LinuxMCE will reboot when you change the network configuration.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

twgray2007

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: "swap interfaces" reboots machine...
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2008, 05:30:45 am »
Thanks for the input, but I don't remember the former version of MCE rebooting in order to change interfaces.  And, after the reboot, the interfaces remain the same.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: "swap interfaces" reboots machine...
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2008, 10:34:03 am »
Thanks for the input, but I don't remember the former version of MCE rebooting in order to change interfaces.  And, after the reboot, the interfaces remain the same.

I think the reboot was brought in after Beta4... might be wrong about that though. As to the interfaces not getting swapped... I would suggest a check on Mantis to see if that is a known/reported issue and if not add a Mantis for it.

All the best#

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk