Author Topic: Can Anyone Recommend a good Motherboard which works with 710RC2  (Read 2497 times)

Amathus

• Regular Poster
    • View Profile
We are (attempting to) build a Linux MCE 710 RC2 core / hybrid - Using a Gigabyte MA78GM-S2H motherboard with ASUS 8600GT 512MB NViDia Graphics card, 2 x 500GB SATA II drives, Blu Ray Reader & 2GB 1066 RAM with AMD Phenom Qaud Core CPU. When trying to intsall MCE 0710 RC2 32 or 64 bit it seeks out the floppy drive and there it remains - installation stops there - has anyone had this issue with this motherboard or any other? Can anyone recommend a motherboard with 8 channel sound codecs  / AMD Phenom Qud compliant that works straight up? I am not even certain it is the motherboard - could be an Ubuntu kernel issue perhaps (????) I was told ASUS is the way to go but I am installing this into a FUSION case which requires mATX - not fussed about the case and will happily switch to any motherboard - full ATX that works.

HELP Needed. I am a newbie but want to learn.

Mario

wombiroller

• Guru
    • View Profile
Re: Can Anyone Recommend a good Motherboard which works with 710RC2
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2008, 05:42:02 am »
Hey Mario,

Still having troubles with the blaqbox eh?  ;)

it can be hard trying to find the right hardware when alot of the tested hardware is superseded, and I'm not really going to be much help here, however...

I  ended up using an ASUS P5K Pro (full ATX 775 chipset). It is a Crossfire MOBO so that part of it is kinda wasted, however the onboard sound works well and have had no other problems.

I expect though you're after a MOBO with integrated HDMI our onboard video? Not sure about this. I tried the Asus P5E-VM HDMI motherboard at one point, thinking the G35 onboard video would work - however it turns out that although linux drivers are around for the X3100, the latest X3500 integrated video doesn't currently work (or at least not for me).