Author Topic: Hauppauge Nova-HD-S2?  (Read 1916 times)

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Hauppauge Nova-HD-S2?
« on: April 30, 2008, 08:57:48 am »
Does anyone know if this card is functioning in linux? And more particularly, working in the LMCE VDR version?

If anyone does have this working in LMCE, does it provide full S2 or only basic functionality? (e.g. S only)

Cheers
AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Hauppauge Nova-HD-S2?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2008, 01:33:27 pm »
LinuxTV is a good place to start and learn...

Nova-HD-S2 is listed as being a HVR4000 without DVB-T
http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/DVB-S2_PCI_Cards

The HVR400 driver should work fine for DVB-S, and there is DVB-S2 experimental support.
http://dev.kewl.org/hauppauge/

When the driver is up and running, VDR should have no problem using that card.

seth

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
Re: Hauppauge Nova-HD-S2?
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2008, 03:29:05 pm »
 :)
You could also use a terminal session either by invoking "Ctrl-Alt_F2" or by using the "Konsole" terminal in KDE, and run the following command:
Code: [Select]
dmesg | grep dvbor
Code: [Select]
lspci -v | grep dvbIf it shows up as configured, but Sarah did not see it, it is still very possible to set it up using MythTV-Setup manually from the "Computing"  menu option on your UI, located on the far right of your screen. I had to do this with my Air2PC DVB-T OTA cards. They were set up by the kernel, but not detected by the setup wizard, and they work well on both my MD, and my core/hybrid.

Regards,

Seth
".....Because Once you've LinuxMCE'd....."
System stats located at my user page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Seth

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: Hauppauge Nova-HD-S2?
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2008, 04:15:06 pm »
I know there are patches for S2 in the latest version of VDR, but not sure whether the LMCE version of VDR will accept these patches. Will have to try I guess.

Also, I want to keep my DVB-t input from my nova-t 500, while also having S and S2 channels. Is this possible with VDR? I have played around with VDR only briefly, and couln't see anyway of having multiple inputs.

I used to use mythtv in LMCE and could have both DVB-t channels (from my nova-t) and sky channels (from my sky box -> pvr-500) on the same channel listing. Will this be possible in VDR (substituting my sky box -> pvr-500 with a nova-hd-s2)?
AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: Hauppauge Nova-HD-S2?
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2008, 12:06:46 pm »
Cirion, do you have the HVR-4000 working with LMCE? if so, how well? I am considering this card now over the nova.

Cheers
AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Hauppauge Nova-HD-S2?
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2008, 03:50:12 pm »
No, not at this moment... But I had it running fine in LMCE 0710 Beta3.

I have only used it with DVB-S and it worked in VDR. It should work fine in 0710...
I have not tested the DVB-T part, but that should work as well.

Since DVB-S2 is not supported in VDR 1.6 it will not work.

I used the driver from KEWL:
http://dev.kewl.org/hauppauge/

I stopped using it in LMCE since I have a motor on my sat dish and 23 positions... I did never get SASC-NG working either so I could not use my subscription cards with a CS. I now use the HVR4000 in Windows with DVBViewer. That works fine for dumping movies to my LMCE server :)

A big problem I have with the HVR-4000 card has something to do with the way VDR works in LinuxMCE and my appartment. My LMCE Core is in my office, and the cable to my satdish is in my livingroom... So, until I can use the HVR4000 card in my livingroom MD, I will not try setting  it up in LinuxMCE.

Since I also have DVB-C from my cable provider in my appartment, and I can use it in my office, I bought a couple of TerraTec Cinergy C PCI cards and a CI interface. I have got them working in FTA only. I have to find out how to get SASC-NG working... The CI interface has no driver yet, but should work fine when the driver is there...

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Hauppauge Nova-HD-S2?
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2008, 04:47:27 pm »
You might want to try stopping MythTV or VDR and then use Kaffeine from the desktop to test, it picked up my CI/CAM with a (borrowed) subscription card (dvb-t) right away.  When I get my own subscription card I'll do some more testing to see if I can get the encrypted channels to work with VDR too.

I had to compile the latest v4l-dvb from source though to get the card itself working.  Just in case anyone is wondering how to do that:
Code: [Select]
apt-get install mercurial
hg clone http://linuxtv.org/hg/v4l-dvb
cd v4l-dvb
make
make install

A few more apt-gets are probably needed to get a build-environment installed, but I already had that.  And I needed the specific firmware for my card as well (continue in the v4l-dvb directory where we left off):

Code: [Select]
cd linux/Documentation/dvb/
./get_dvb_firmware tda10046
cp dvb-fe-tda10046.fw /lib/firmware/`uname -r`

I'll add the instructions for the card I have (a SATELCO EasyWatch PCI DVB-T) to the wiki once I've got the encrypted channels to work under VDR.

"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Hauppauge Nova-HD-S2?
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2008, 11:37:46 pm »
Thanks for the tip Zaerc, but I just have to wait for driversupport on my DVB-C Card.

My Card is a Terratec DVB-C Pci card that supports HD channels and has a addon CI.
It is not supported in the std. v4l-dvb driver.

I have to use the Mantis driver:
http://jusst.de/hg/mantis

From what I can see today Manu is working on gettin CI working :)
I also messaged him about it a few days ago, and he told me to wait for now...

I have Kaffeine working with CS to my subscription card over kaffeine-sc. I have to get SASC-NG working to have it working in VDR/LinuxMCE.
Myth is no option for me, I need EPG from DVB.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Hauppauge Nova-HD-S2?
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2008, 03:13:18 pm »
I know there are patches for S2 in the latest version of VDR, but not sure whether the LMCE version of VDR will accept these patches. Will have to try I guess.

Also, I want to keep my DVB-t input from my nova-t 500, while also having S and S2 channels. Is this possible with VDR? I have played around with VDR only briefly, and couln't see anyway of having multiple inputs.

I used to use mythtv in LMCE and could have both DVB-t channels (from my nova-t) and sky channels (from my sky box -> pvr-500) on the same channel listing. Will this be possible in VDR (substituting my sky box -> pvr-500 with a nova-hd-s2)?


Hi there,

LinuxMCE-0710 currently uses vdr-1.6.0 which is the latest stable vdr version. To use DVB-S2 cards in S2 'mode' you would need to use vdr-1.7.X which is the development version. However any DVB-S/S2 card supported by v4l should work fine in DVB-S mode with vdr-1.6.0

You can intermix DVB-T, DVB-S & DVB-C cards in a single system without problems... assuming you have enough slots and you have a powerful enough power supply to drive them. You would need to create channels.conf files for each of the three types of transmissions. but they would appear in a single channel listing.

Well from a technical perspective you could have a DVB-S card (Sky & Freesat are not transmitting in S2 currently as far as I know), CI + CAM and a 'real' Sky viewing card and receive Sky directly... but Sky are still in denial about letting their legitimate customers (ie people who have bonafide viewing cards) do that.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: Hauppauge Nova-HD-S2?
« Reply #9 on: May 30, 2008, 02:35:24 pm »
Well I have got the nova-hd-s2 working in vdr with the kewl driver, but only the S1 function.
I didn't try the alternate multi-pronto, but theres no need to get the S2 working yet as VDR 1.6.0 doesn't support it.
Anyways, I'll add a wiki page as soon as I get chance
AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT