Author Topic: RF devices? or just x10?  (Read 1020 times)

aussie

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
RF devices? or just x10?
« on: April 29, 2008, 06:04:03 am »
just a quick question can LMCE use any RF devices or only x10?
im looking at something running on a 350 freq.
before  go spend a fortune on deivces.

Thanks
Aussie.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: RF devices? or just x10?
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2008, 06:16:59 am »
LinuxMCE can technically support anything that a driver can be written for, in either Ruby or C++.

For Home automation control:

* X-10
* Z-Wave
* Insteon
* EIB/KNX
* GC-100
* Aprilaire Thermostat Controllers
* Apex/Caddx/etc security panels
* PLCBUS

and we're trying to add more every day.

-Thom

aussie

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: RF devices? or just x10?
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2008, 06:25:58 am »
Cheers dude, once again you are very helpful. :)

If i have a x10 CM15? is it the usb one?   and a device that accepts a RF signal will that be able to control it?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: RF devices? or just x10?
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2008, 07:50:34 am »
currently, we only support the CM11A.. and if you can use ANYTHING other than X-10, please...please....PLEASE DO SO.... there is stuff out there much more reliable.. ANYTHING is more reliable than X-10.

-THom

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: RF devices? or just x10?
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2008, 08:29:01 pm »
hi!
about the unreliability of X10..
are we talking about the poor firmware or the poor hardware or both?
IE if it is just firmware problems.. then eventually they will be resolvable (based on the fact X10 represents the cheapest way in by far!)
but if added to that, the poor performance of the RF side of X10 (and the flakey construction) mean that X10 will never be reliable
then I (and quite a few others I guess) will have to have a major rethink!... so...
on a day to day basis just HOW unreliable IS X10?
(I have bought quite a lot but not got as far as actually plugging any in yet :)  )
thanks
Gazzzman

 
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: RF devices? or just x10?
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2008, 08:34:36 pm »
don't have time to reply currently, but I will be short...

in short, X-10 is an electrical nightmare... subject to tons of interference, as well as phasing problems in larger houses (which is why you need a phase coupler in an x-10 installation), it's also very slow compared to all the newer systems.

-Thom

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: RF devices? or just x10?
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2008, 09:52:23 pm »
thanks Thom!
I know they are pretty shoddy from a constructional point of view!!
my house (by most countries standards especially the US) is tiny so I should be OK from the propagation point of view :)
and we only have one phase available in a domestic environment (240V)
but as they operate on a very low frequency I can imagine SMP's Plasmas and the like causing havoc!
...
I will have to investigate..
again
thanks Thom!
anyone in the UK here using X10 on a day to day basis?
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----