Author Topic: New Install, noobie help  (Read 6659 times)

archived

• Hello, I'm new here
    • View Profile
New Install, noobie help
« on: March 30, 2005, 06:33:44 am »
Hi,

I'm very new to the Pluto concept and I have spent the last week reading as much as I can. I must say that what I have seen so far is impressive and I'm looking forward to performing my first install to see how it works. I have an old PC which I will be using as my core and another PC which I shall use as a MD. This initial setup will be run completely in a test senario so there will be no AV equipment involved to begin with. Is that going to be a problem? I'm assuming that I can view the results on the monitor that will be connected to the PC acting as the MD, are my assumptions correct?

I have a lot of media on multiple machine which I will eventually want to relocate onto the core but I have found no information on achieving this, is it still "under development"? My Linux experience is limited but I'm again assuming that the media is placed within a directory and it will then be available. I have all my CDs contained within iTunes and would prefer to transfer them rather than having to re-rip them all again.

Does Pluto perform lookups on IMDB and CDDB to retrieve movie and CD information, cover art etc. and is this automated?

If my testing is successful I will then be moving to a purpose built core, which I'm planning to build. I was thinking of using a 3ware RAID card as the controller, are the drivers for these cards included within the installation CD? Does Pluto allow for RAID expansion? It would be better if an extra hard drive can be installed and it incorporated into the core automatically, rather than having to destroy the array and recreate it with the new drive. This allows you the option of creating a rather small core and then expanding it as the need arises.

Thanks again for a great looking product and I hope to become an active member of this group.

Dave

archived