Author Topic: Media during upgrade to 0710 RC  (Read 1246 times)

geoffrey

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Media during upgrade to 0710 RC
« on: April 24, 2008, 10:56:24 am »
If I upgrade from 0710b4 to 0710 RC and use the DVD for AMD64 and the 'Keep Settings' option, will my media that is currently on the harddrive with LMCE be maintained as well or should I move everything to another harddrive before the upgrade?
Asus M2NSLI Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2400 2.3GHz
Asus EN6200TC512 Graphic Card
WinTV PVR-150 MCE
(2) Samsung T166 SATA II 500GB
Corsair TwinX 2GB CL5 DDR2-800

danielk

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile

geoffrey

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: Media during upgrade to 0710 RC
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2008, 08:24:45 pm »
thanks for the reply but the wiki page mentions nothing about media, the 'helper application' is labeled as i386 (i run an amd64) and all the pic links are broken.  So unfortunately it did not answer the question....
Asus M2NSLI Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2400 2.3GHz
Asus EN6200TC512 Graphic Card
WinTV PVR-150 MCE
(2) Samsung T166 SATA II 500GB
Corsair TwinX 2GB CL5 DDR2-800

niz23

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Media during upgrade to 0710 RC
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2008, 09:02:45 pm »
geoffrey.

thanks for the reply but the wiki page mentions nothing about media, the 'helper application' is labeled as i386 (i run an amd64) and all the pic links are broken.  So unfortunately it did not answer the question....

Upgraded my core a couple of hours ago from beta4 to RC1 without any major problems.
I use AMD64 so I downloaded the AMD64 single-layer DVD.
Booted it and chose preserve settings and keep /home directory.

As long as you have all media and other things you want to preserve under /home you should be fine.
Otherwise make a backup of the stuff you want to keep or just move/copy it to /home.

The only problem I have seen so far is that all software in "Add Software" like libdvdcss etc was not preserved.
Once I reinstalled those I was fine.

This is my personal experience so far. It may vary depending on hardware configuration I guess.

My core's hw config:
ASUS M2N-VM DH motherboard with 2GB ram and a 4400+ cpu.
I use the integrated nvidia 6150 graphics without problems.
250GB Sata drive attached to the jmicron integrated controller as a system drive for lmce.
4 other sata drives on software raid attached to the builtin nvidia controller. (did not dare to have those connected during upgrade).

/niz23


geoffrey

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: Media during upgrade to 0710 RC
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2008, 09:09:11 pm »
rgr, thanks
Asus M2NSLI Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2400 2.3GHz
Asus EN6200TC512 Graphic Card
WinTV PVR-150 MCE
(2) Samsung T166 SATA II 500GB
Corsair TwinX 2GB CL5 DDR2-800

fearingsept

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
    • View Profile
Re: Media during upgrade to 0710 RC
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2008, 05:40:17 am »
Ok so I got the single layer dvd and did my upgrade from beta 4. I am so glad the myth fix was included... the only crappy thing is that I had to do a fresh install after all because my 18 month year old son decided he wanted to push the shiny button on the computer at the beginning of the upgrade process... which in turn shut down the system midupgrade.. when I rebooted to the dvd and tried again I still got the same upgrade choices in the beginning but when I went to choose option one the root home file could not be found and the install would not continue...

But other then that everything went well.. luckily I didn't have much on there and I did a fresh install.
Core: Broken :(

geoffrey

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: Media during upgrade to 0710 RC
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2008, 08:40:09 am »
I just completed the upgrade and all my media was left intact, including any attributes and cover art.  So i guess that answers my question.
Asus M2NSLI Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64 X2 BE-2400 2.3GHz
Asus EN6200TC512 Graphic Card
WinTV PVR-150 MCE
(2) Samsung T166 SATA II 500GB
Corsair TwinX 2GB CL5 DDR2-800

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Media during upgrade to 0710 RC
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2008, 05:48:27 pm »
If I upgrade from 0710b4 to 0710 RC and use the DVD for AMD64 and the 'Keep Settings' option, will my media that is currently on the harddrive with LMCE be maintained as well or should I move everything to another harddrive before the upgrade?

If you use 'retain settings & /home' then anything located under /home will get preserved.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk