Author Topic: VDR with Gyration Gyromouse  (Read 2359 times)

zaphodB

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
VDR with Gyration Gyromouse
« on: April 21, 2008, 05:11:53 pm »
Hi,

at time it's impossible to handle the vdr and his buttons fully in lmce only with the Gyration Gyromouse.

Would it be possible in the future, to handle vdr full with this mouse or do I have to buy a Fiire remote.

I've buyed all my equipment in 11.2007 after watching the video an read the wiki.

regards

Thorsten


mami

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: VDR with Gyration Gyromouse
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2008, 05:21:23 pm »
I have a Fiire remote and use VDR.
I don't work as i want it to do, so i'm trying to find out where to change whitch key does what.

Any one know?
Like Red, Green, Yellow, Blue buttons on the remote. How to get them working in VDR?

/Mami

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4437
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: VDR with Gyration Gyromouse
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2008, 01:25:17 am »
I have a Fiire remote and use VDR.
I don't work as i want it to do, so i'm trying to find out where to change whitch key does what.

Any one know?
Like Red, Green, Yellow, Blue buttons on the remote. How to get them working in VDR?

/Mami

There will be an update for LinuxMCE-0710 to support the colour buttons shortly.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

mami

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: VDR with Gyration Gyromouse
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2008, 09:37:03 am »
Sounds good. But is there any way to change key if I want, or is all keys hardcoded?

Edit:
I answer my own question: It's hardcoded in src/Orbiter/Linux/HID*.cpp/h (only gyro keys!)

/Mami
« Last Edit: May 13, 2008, 11:52:34 am by mami »

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: VDR with Gyration Gyromouse
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2008, 11:16:17 am »
I'm also interested to use Gyration or some other RF remote with VDR. Is there some manual howto configure it?
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4437
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: VDR with Gyration Gyromouse
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2008, 04:24:14 pm »
Sounds good. But is there any way to change key if I want, or is all keys hardcoded?

Edit:
I answer my own question: It's hardcoded in src/Orbiter/Linux/HID*.cpp/h (only gyro keys!)

/Mami

The other problem with A gyro mouse currently is that while there are 'bits' of the standard vdr OSD still being used (as there are currently... and will be for the foreseeable future) there is a problem in that they do not support mouse based interaction at all. So in that sense they are really not suitable for purely mouse based controls. The Fiire remote an the MCE Gyration remote are better from that perspective as you have a full set of 'normal' remote buttons.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5499
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: VDR with Gyration Gyromouse
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2008, 02:10:56 am »
why not overlay transparent designobjs with tab stop enabled, and trigger commands on that? ;-)

-Thom

colinjones

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 3003
    • View Profile
Re: VDR with Gyration Gyromouse
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2008, 02:35:27 am »
Andrew

Does that mean that the "colour" buttons on the Fiire remotes will be taken over whilst in VDR OSD menus? Currently they act to shortcut to Video/Audio/etc media grids.

Would be nice if their function was taken over when you go into the VDR menus and returned when you come out...

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4437
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: VDR with Gyration Gyromouse
« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2008, 11:43:36 pm »
Andrew

Does that mean that the "colour" buttons on the Fiire remotes will be taken over whilst in VDR OSD menus? Currently they act to shortcut to Video/Audio/etc media grids.

Would be nice if their function was taken over when you go into the VDR menus and returned when you come out...

Yep thats the plan ;-)
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4437
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: VDR with Gyration Gyromouse
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2008, 11:48:38 pm »
why not overlay transparent designobjs with tab stop enabled, and trigger commands on that? ;-)

-Thom


Hmmmm... sounds like a complex task as the transparent design objects would have to dynamically change function (and in many cases position) as the vdr OSD updated and changed state and/or changed menu screen. I cant see how those state changes could be dynamically fed back to the transparent design objects on the fly as the user interacted with the OSD?

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk