Author Topic: Get HVR-1110 going - HOWTO?  (Read 4833 times)

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Get HVR-1110 going - HOWTO?
« on: April 16, 2008, 12:42:17 am »
Hi forum,

As per this post    
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=2928.0
, I have tried getting my HVR-1100 going.

Running DVD install beta4.
One core/hybrid
One P4 media director booting off PXE - containing PVR-150

It is on the core that I have added the HVR-1100.

In Myth Backend the card is recognised.
In dmesg I find this:
Code: [Select]
[   62.747611] DVB: registering new adapter (saa7133[0]).
[   62.747680] DVB: registering frontend 0 (Philips TDA10046H DVB-T)...

When configuring Myth I can have it scan for channels (at least I think it is not the card on the media director that's scanning..) Myth is adding channels....

Every time I try to choose Watch TV, X blanks out and freezes, keyboard and screen.
The core keeps running, I can ssh into it.

When I try to follow the post and apt-get install mercurial, this is running ok.
After cd-ing into v4l-dvb, and issuing make I get following error:
Code: [Select]
linuxmce@dcerouter:~/v4l-dvb$ make
make -C /home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l'
creating symbolic links...
Kernel build directory is /lib/modules/2.6.22-14-generic/build
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.22-14-generic/build SUBDIRS=/home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l  modules
make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.22-14-generic'
  CC [M]  /home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l/zoran_procfs.o
In file included from /home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l/zoran_procfs.c:50:
/home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l/zoran.h:272: error: redefinition of 'struct v4l2_jpegcompression'
make[3]: *** [/home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l/zoran_procfs.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** [_module_/home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.22-14-generic'
make[1]: *** [default] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l'
make: *** [all] Error 2
linuxmce@dcerouter:~/v4l-dvb$

Any advice greatly appreciated!!

« Last Edit: April 21, 2008, 09:20:35 pm by Lexje »

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Get HVR-1100 going - HOWTO?
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2008, 02:28:36 pm »
Okay folks...
Here's an update:

After a night's rest it seems that the HVR-1100 is properly configured - don't ask me what or how - as I don't really understand what's happening.

First I have to say that the first time I "SAW" TV on LMCE happened as follows:
Core / hybrid without TV card;
Media Director booting via PXE - with PVR 150
At that time I clearly remember being stumped, as I was trying to get TV out of the media director via the Sony TV connected to the MD's S-Video output. At a point ready to give up, I descended one floor to where the core / hybrid was situated to find TV playing on the core's orbiter!!
So far so good -

Back to the newly installed HVR-1100 in my core / hybrid:
Today I find that I can watch 2 programs at the same time on my media director!!
Operation is not clear to me at all at this moment;
When I open up the orbiter on the MD and choose to watch TV this starts ok.
Next I switch to KDE and fire up Mythtv from the KDE menu.
And I get a second image, clearly coming from my core / hybrid TV card!!!
At this time I haven't found out how to change channel, also I have no sound. (logical (?) as I continue hearing the sound of TV playing on the orbiter)

When I consult http://dcerouter/mythweb and choose 'status', it says:
Code: [Select]
MythTV Status
Encoder status
Encoder 2 is remote on moon49 and is watching Live TV: 'Nieuws' on 112. This recording will end at 2:15 PM.
Encoder 3 is local on dcerouter and is watching Live TV: 'Meiden van de Wit' on 106. This recording will end at 2:40 PM.

On the core, I have the orbiter on screen and can do anything I want APART FROM watching TV.
If I choose TV - Xorg and keyb freezes....

Does this shed some light?
Thanks for any tip or advice!

Erwin

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: Get HVR-1100 going - HOWTO?
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2008, 02:08:03 pm »
Have you applied the patch to fix mythtv probs on the core?

See here -> http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/KnownIssues_0710_Beta4

MythTV affects performance of system because of too verbose logging, sometimes even freezing. The fix has been commited (svn rev #19965). To fix it on your machine, follow the steps
- cd /usr/pluto/bin

- mv MythTV_Player MythTV_Player.orig

- wget -c ftp://builder32.linuxmce.com/Download/MythTV_Player-beta4-fix/i386/MythTV_Player (for i386)

or

- wget -c ftp://builder32.linuxmce.com/Download/MythTV_Player-beta4-fix/x86_64/MythTV_Player (for amd64)

- chmod +x MythTV_Player

- reload router

AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Get HVR-1100 going - HOWTO?
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2008, 02:08:49 pm »
Thanks gazlang,

I applied the patch you indicated just now.
Trying mythtv doesn't work yet.

Trying to run make in ~/v4l-dvb still reports error:
Code: [Select]
linuxmce@dcerouter:~$ cd v4l-dvb
linuxmce@dcerouter:~/v4l-dvb$ make
make -C /home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l'
creating symbolic links...
Kernel build directory is /lib/modules/2.6.22-14-generic/build
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.22-14-generic/build SUBDIRS=/home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l  modules
make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.22-14-generic'
  CC [M]  /home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l/zoran_procfs.o
In file included from /home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l/zoran_procfs.c:50:
/home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l/zoran.h:272: error: redefinition of 'struct v4l2_jpegcompression'
make[3]: *** [/home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l/zoran_procfs.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** [_module_/home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.22-14-generic'
make[1]: *** [default] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/linuxmce/v4l-dvb/v4l'
make: *** [all] Error 2
linuxmce@dcerouter:~/v4l-dvb$

Tail Xorg.0.log gives this while starting MythTV on the core:
Code: [Select]
select returned 0
select returned 0
select returned 0
GetModeLine - scrn: 0 clock: 108000
GetModeLine - hdsp: 1280 hbeg: 1328 hend: 1440 httl: 1688
              vdsp: 1024 vbeg: 1025 vend: 1028 vttl: 1066 flags: 5
GetModeLine - scrn: 0 clock: 108000
GetModeLine - hdsp: 1280 hbeg: 1328 hend: 1440 httl: 1688
              vdsp: 1024 vbeg: 1025 vend: 1028 vttl: 1066 flags: 5
select returned 0
select returned 0
select returned 0

Next I find that Xorg rev's to CPU 100%...

Any suggestions greatly appreciated!!

Erwin

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Get HVR-1100 going - HOWTO?
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2008, 02:11:33 pm »
Okay, next phase:

Did a fresh DVD beta4 install with the HVR 1100 on board.
Linux detects the HVR 1100, but Sarah the Wizard doesn't see the card.
After applying the patch forementioned by gazlang, the card is recognized in MythTV.
The 100% CPU problem doesn't exist anymore.

Remaining problem:
No sound.

Also I see following in the logs:
Code: [Select]
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   44.225816] tuner 0-004b: chip found @ 0x96 (saa7133[0])
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   44.273734] tuner 0-004b: setting tuner address to 61
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   44.317662] tuner 0-004b: type set to tda8290+75a
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   45.695357] tuner 0-004b: setting tuner address to 61
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   45.735290] tuner 0-004b: type set to tda8290+75a
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   47.065084] saa7133[0]: registered device video0 [v4l2]
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   47.065337] saa7133[0]: registered device vbi0
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   47.065583] saa7133[0]: registered device radio0
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   47.133011] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:06:0d.0[A] -> GSI 17 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   47.154935] saa7134 ALSA driver for DMA sound loaded
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   47.154975] saa7133[0]/alsa: saa7133[0] at 0xdfeff800 irq 21 registered as card -2
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   47.381266] DVB: registering new adapter (saa7133[0]).
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   47.381275] DVB: registering frontend 0 (Philips TDA10046H DVB-T)...
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   47.429691] lp: driver loaded but no devices found
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   47.460409] tda1004x: setting up plls for 48MHz sampling clock
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   47.496385] Netfilter messages via NETLINK v0.30.
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   47.502592] nf_conntrack version 0.5.0 (8192 buckets, 65536 max)
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   47.786501] Adding 1951856k swap on /dev/sda5.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:19518
56k
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   48.095350] tda1004x: found firmware revision 0 -- invalid
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   48.095356] tda1004x: trying to boot from eeprom
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   48.124382] EXT3 FS on sda1, internal journal
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   48.488846] kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   48.488856] EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   50.423479] tda1004x: timeout waiting for DSP ready
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   50.463413] tda1004x: found firmware revision 0 -- invalid
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   50.463419] tda1004x: waiting for firmware upload...
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   50.783876] tda1004x: no firmware upload (timeout or file not found?)
Apr 19 20:44:04 dcerouter kernel: [   50.783883] tda1004x: firmware upload failed

Any pointers as to this tda1004x firmware?
Has this anything to do with failing sound?

Thanks for your help!

Erwin

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Get HVR-1100 going - HOWTO?
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2008, 07:33:32 pm »
Is the card you have shaped like a triangle by any chance?
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Get HVR-1100 going - HOWTO?
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2008, 09:11:59 am »
Indeed it is a triangular one.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Get HVR-1100 going - HOWTO?
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2008, 01:31:26 pm »
Then you have a HVR-1110 and not a HVR-1100, from my  understanding they are two completely different cards.  See also: Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1110 in the wiki, and you can get the firmware at: http://perso.orange.fr/tomlohave/linux/dvb-fe-tda10046.fw I took that off the page as it didn't seem necessary, then again I never did got MythTV to work with it at the time, but Kaffeine and VDR did.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Get HVR-1100 going - HOWTO?
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2008, 01:58:01 pm »
Thx Zaerc,

I was already following a mix of several guidelines I found on the internet.
What bothers me though is that I don't really understand what I'm doing and thus working actually blindly... which I don't like..

I followed this:
Code: [Select]
The Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1110 is a hybrid receiver card (analog and DVB-T).

It sometimes ships in a HVR-1100 box. The HVR-1110, however, is of triangular shape, while the HVR-1100 board is a typical rectangular shaped card. There are significant component differences too. See here for more details.

The HRV-1110 uses the following components:

    * a Philips SAA7131 A/V decoder & bridge
    * a Philips TDA10046 digital demodulator
from here: http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hauppauge_WinTV-HVR-1110#Installing_the_Firmware

Indeed it says HVR-1110 is sometimes shipped in HVR-1100 box. (My case, I still have the box)

Next following this part:
Code: [Select]
Downloaded the firmware script by itself:

http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kerne...rmware;hb=HEAD
from here:http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=623126&page=2

I managed to get the firmware, and put it in /lib/firmware

Next after rebooting I saw the firmware was loaded.
Up to here I'm fine I guess.

Sarah still doesn't see the video capture card.
When I open MythTV I get to see one channel, and can't change frequencies.
The only way (I found till now) to exit MythTV is killin X (Ctrl-backspace) and then Alt F2 and login and restart X.

I seem to have no sound either.
I found this here:http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=298094&page=2
Code: [Select]
sox -c 2 -t alsa hw:1,0 -t alsa default
This gave me at least sound, it was distorted and pulsing but it was sound.
The image would be gone if i switched to MythTV.
Next I tried to switch to MythTV first, had my one channel playing with no sound,
issued the above command from CLI to receive a message that the sound device was inaccessable..

So I guess I'm on the right track, but still not all the way there...

Have you got any more suggestions??

Thanks a lot!!

Erwin

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Get HVR-1110 going - HOWTO?
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2008, 09:25:00 pm »
Zaerc,

After some more fiddling I somehow managed to get MythTV going with the HVR 1110.
I tried to follow as much as possible the above mentioned guides.
Downloaded w_scan etc and tried to setup a channel.conf but this would not work (probably due to my lack of knowledge :-() so I couldn't get Kaffeine to run with the card, or better, I was unable to pick a channel.

As I kept being intrigued by my one channel, I found (via http:\\dcerouter\mythweb) that I had only one channel from another source.. Next I let that source rescan and presto...

But as of yet, I have no sound...

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Get HVR-1110 going - HOWTO?
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2008, 11:39:34 pm »
What is happening?
For testing purposes I scheduled a recording.
When I came to check, the core was frozen...

Hard reset.
Then I got TV AND sound...
But....

Image is not fluent, and sound is playing far too fast, like Donald Duck voice....


Code: [Select]
top - 23:36:51 up 6 min,  1 user,  load average: 1.20, 1.24, 0.63
Tasks: 215 total,   2 running, 213 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s): 24.2%us,  5.0%sy,  0.0%ni, 69.4%id,  0.5%wa,  0.3%hi,  0.5%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   2594704k total,  1008540k used,  1586164k free,    87084k buffers
Swap:  1951856k total,        0k used,  1951856k free,   461828k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND
 7273 mythtv    15   0  281m  60m  12m S   25  2.4   0:47.74 mythbackend
16211 root      15   0  232m 122m  35m S   19  4.8   0:40.77 mythfrontend.re
16287 root      15   0 26848  16m 4544 S    3  0.7   0:02.33 flickr.pl
11066 root      15  -1  107m  92m  22m R    2  3.7   0:06.88 Xorg
 5135 mysql     15   0  145m  44m 5596 S    0  1.8   0:06.54 mysqld
14349 root      15   0  110m  43m  12m S    0  1.7   0:02.16 Orbiter
21267 linuxmce  15   0  2496 1224  876 R    0  0.0   0:00.08 top
21833 root      25   0  2916 1444 1108 S    0  0.1   0:00.01 auto.PlutoStora
    1 root      18   0  3352 2204  532 S    0  0.1   0:01.84 init

I have no clue...

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Get HVR-1110 going - HOWTO?
« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2008, 12:12:52 am »
Well you got further with mythtv then I ever did.  And to get Kaffeine working you'll have to stop the mythtv backend to free the device. 

BTW, did you run the mythtv-setup from the computing screen?   
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Get HVR-1110 going - HOWTO?
« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2008, 12:16:10 am »
I just realized today that I could run it from computing;
I usually switch to KDE -

But, until now, my system freezes regularly and I seem to have sync problems, as image is jumpy and sound is like Donald Duck...

As far as I can tell, with your knowledge, you should get things better running than I can?

Lexje

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Get HVR-1110 going - HOWTO?
« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2008, 12:34:16 am »
Perhaps this lead can shed some more light?
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?p=130129

To me it's still unfinished business...