Author Topic: MD image? (Resolved)  (Read 1400 times)

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
MD image? (Resolved)
« on: April 13, 2008, 03:17:50 pm »
just setting up another MD :)
but after setup it randomly crashes :(
I notice the type setting for the image is "amd64" and my processor is a pentium D
if I set the image type to i386 the diskless setup fails ???
so what image should I be using for the p4 D?
cheers
Gazzzman
« Last Edit: April 13, 2008, 07:44:18 pm by gazzzman »
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4639
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: MD image?
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2008, 03:31:29 pm »
just setting up another MD :)
but after setup it randomly crashes :(
I notice the type setting for the image is "amd64" and my processor is a pentium D
if I set the image type to i386 the diskless setup fails ???
so what image should I be using for the p4 D?
cheers
Gazzzman

You need to update the 'Model' field too with "LMCE_MD_u0710_i386" and then click "Rebuild image" for that MD

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Latest Athena UI news; http://wp.me/P4KgIc-aF

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: MD image?
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2008, 04:18:16 pm »
thanks Andrew :)
do that now :)
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: MD image?
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2008, 05:38:39 pm »
hi all!
OK it does not seem to want me to alter the model in the device template :(
anyone know why??
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4639
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: MD image?
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2008, 07:09:37 pm »
hi all!
OK it does not seem to want me to alter the model in the device template :(
anyone know why??


Hi again... oops sorry i forgot that that field in the template is not editable by default. Do the following from Web Admin;

Got to the Advanced -> Configuration -> Device Templates page

Now select 'Computers' from the 'Device Category' pop-up

and then 'Generic PC as MD' from the 'Device Template' pop-up... this will set the device template to '28'. Now click the 'Pick Device Template' button

In the 'Edit Device Template 28' window that opens scroll down to the '#233 Model(string)' field and tick the 'Allowed to modify' tick box for that field. Now scroll down again and click 'Save'.

Now you can modify the data in the 'Model' field for your MD!

Hope this gets your MD working.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Latest Athena UI news; http://wp.me/P4KgIc-aF

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: MD image?
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2008, 07:43:25 pm »
thanks Andrew :)
that seems to have done the trick nicely :)
cheers :)
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----