Author Topic: Update version 5  (Read 1145 times)

marrandy

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Update version 5
« on: April 10, 2008, 08:28:36 pm »
Hello.

Well the system just offered me an update on my next reboot, which I did.  Update version 5.

It would be nice if it was mentioned in the NEWS section on the main web page that there is a new update and what has been fixed, improved, changed.  I just used the search and can't find any mention of update 5.

Just for the future.  It would be appreciated and noteworthy for most people.

Regards...Martin

danielk

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Re: Update version 5
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2008, 10:25:25 pm »
I'm very sorry about this. It went out without going through the proper channels, it's been disabled for others while I wait for a response from the developer who pushed this out.

As to what it is supposed to do: "Fixed pluto web admin's backup and restore issues with asterisk settings and floorplans."

-- Daniel

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Update version 5
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2008, 11:32:06 pm »
Hello.

Well the system just offered me an update on my next reboot, which I did.  Update version 5.

It would be nice if it was mentioned in the NEWS section on the main web page that there is a new update and what has been fixed, improved, changed.  I just used the search and can't find any mention of update 5.

Just for the future.  It would be appreciated and noteworthy for most people.

Regards...Martin

Update 5  is an important update and should be applied to any 0704 Core that you might want to Upgrade to 0710... it contains a number of changes that are critical for a smooth upgrade.

Everyone should apply Update 5

I agree this should have been communicated better - sorry!
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

seth

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
  • A day w/o LinuxMCE is like a day w/o sunshine!
    • View Profile
Re: Update version 5
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2008, 03:36:14 pm »
I have a 704 core, how do I get this update?  ???

I am waiting for the next release of 710, but I will eventually do the upgrade.
 
 ;D
".....Because Once you've LinuxMCE'd....."
System stats located at my user page:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Seth

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Update version 5
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2008, 03:50:21 pm »
I have a 704 core, how do I get this update?  ???

I am waiting for the next release of 710, but I will eventually do the upgrade.
 
 ;D

Your Core will automatically get it if it has an external connection to your broadband service.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

marrandy

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Update version 5
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2008, 03:03:01 pm »

Follow-up.

Although I finally bought a fiire server and media director, due to many hardware and software issues I'm not running them 24/7.  So I boot them every few days when I have time to  'play'  a little.

Moving on to the real gist of this post.  I started the server up and it offered me an update, again, even though I already have update 5.  Rebooted in the unlikely event that update 6 came out 4-days after update 5, and of course, nothing happened.

So there's something broken there.  It should check if any update is installed, before throwing up a message offering the update.