Author Topic: Additional Drive  (Read 1796 times)

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Additional Drive
« on: April 08, 2008, 04:09:07 am »
Hello,

I'm trying to add a drive to my LMCE system and would like to use it just to store media.  My system detetected it, I told it to use it and said to use LMCE's directory structure.  I can see a couple directories that were auto created.  My question is how do I get media to it (I don't see it via the samba share), and how to I get LMCE to use media on that drive instead of the default?

Thank you.

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Additional Drive
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2008, 03:59:17 pm »
I'm thinking a symlink within the data directory would do it.  Being LMCE seems to want to control everything on it's own I would think there is a better way?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Additional Drive
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2008, 06:58:37 pm »
do NOT add a symlink!

This is done automatically.

if you look at \\192.168.80.1\public

you'll see your core disk, but you'll also see folder links to your other disks.

-Thom

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Additional Drive
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2008, 07:21:30 pm »
I don't have links in there, all I see in the public is the standard folders (audio, document, pictures, videos, tts, samples and avwizard-sounds)

Not sure what tts is?  I don't seem to have any rights to do anything in it.
Is there a way to force LMCE to recreate it? or manually create it?

Thank you.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Additional Drive
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2008, 07:26:08 pm »
the links are created under each audio/video/docs/etc folder.. you'll see a folder called:

Internal Drive #45 (sdc)

corresponding to the device # of your disk, and the device name on the system.

-Thom

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Additional Drive
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2008, 07:49:01 pm »
Thanx for the response, but I still don't have anything in those folders either.  All are empty.
FYI, I just did a clean DVD install of beta4.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Additional Drive
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2008, 07:54:19 pm »
is there a device for each disk in the system on the device tree in Advanced->Configuration->Devices ?

-Thom

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Additional Drive
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2008, 08:11:41 pm »
Yes, there is. (dev/sda1)

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Additional Drive
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2008, 08:13:20 pm »
that seems to be the original disk you already had in there... can you look in unknown devices to see if any disks showed up there? /dev/sdb perhaps?

also, is this disk formatted?

-Thom

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Additional Drive
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2008, 08:37:50 pm »
There are no unknown devices.  I believe this is the correct disk.  I can see two listed under devices.
"Disk Drive", which is /dev/sdc0 and
"Internal HDD/Core (SDA1)" which is /dev/sda1

Under the SDA1 device I changed the "PK_Users" from "Plutos_Structure" to "Public"
I now have a folder in /public called "other".
I see nothing in that folder via the samba share.  But I do see this via the command line.
Code: [Select]
linuxmce@dcerouter:/home/public/data/other$ ls

Internal HDD-CORE (sda1) [29]


It seems I have no rights to it as I can't create a folder  as any user. 

I thought it was formatted, but I'm not 100%.  Will it cause any problems if I reformat it now, or is there a  way to do  it via LMCE?




tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Additional Drive
« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2008, 08:45:27 pm »
it shouldn't. be sure to shut down the core services before you do it, to avoid any conflicts...

you need to find out what the disk is. If it's an additional SATA drive (if you have two), it should be /dev/sdb

 /dev/scd0 is the CD-ROM device.

-Thom


jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Additional Drive
« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2008, 08:49:01 pm »
The boot drive is an IDE drive, the one I am trying to add is a SATA drive.  I'll format it now and see what happens...

Damn, lost connectivity on the reboot (trying to do this remotely today).  I'll have to wait until I get home tonight to see what's wrong now.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2008, 09:29:42 pm by jgaffney »

jgaffney

  • Douchebag
  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Additional Drive
« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2008, 02:01:14 am »
OK, I must of forgot format it earlier, it's now working with one catch.  I have no permissions to write anything to the data folder or any of if subfolders unless I sudo in at a terminal.
Is there a special way to set the permissions to public via LMCE or can I just add my users to the public group?

Thanx for the help ts.