Author Topic: Network file sharing with mac os x  (Read 2916 times)

lukenn

• View Profile
Network file sharing with mac os x
« on: April 03, 2008, 08:58:07 pm »
Hi guys,

Been getting used to Linux (and MCE) in general for a few days now, but i want to set up file sharing with my MacBook (running Tiger) so i can just drag and drop music, photos and videos from my macs hdd and into the public folder on my linux machine. Im a complete newbie (and very nervous) when it comes to network sharing and setting it up...as i dont want to end up checking the wrong box and find out i've just granted permission for the rest of the World Wide Web to access all my files. So....i was wondering if anyone would be able to give me a step by step guide to getting this running? Would be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance,

Luke

colinjones

• Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
    • View Profile
Re: Network file sharing with mac os x
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2008, 02:09:58 am »
if you have your LMCE core set up with 2 NICs, the Mac should be connected to the "internal" network, in which case the LMCE core will firewall your Mac, so there is no chance that the Internet will "get you"! If you can set up a Samba share on your Mac, and it uses DHCP to get its IP address it will find the share automatically. Or even an NFS share. BTW, the objective is that the LMCE core will find and aggregate all your media from all sources and present it in one interface so that you don't need to move the media from your Mac to the core..

geoffrey

• Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2008, 08:11:54 am »
i have my mac set up in a slightly different manner and it works great.

two nics with the Macs on the external network

using the admin log in to my router, I assigned the LMCE machine and the two Macs static IP addresses.

then when I want to transfer files, I open a finder, click on the 'Go' in the menu and then click 'connect to server'