Author Topic: What does your Linux MCE setup look like?  (Read 1493 times)

Emiku

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
What does your Linux MCE setup look like?
« on: April 03, 2008, 11:51:40 pm »
Hi guys,

What a wonderful world we live in and how privileged we are to be able to do our hobbies, enough said ;)

I am new here and hope to contribute a lot in the future.

I am planning a Linux MCE setup in my home hence looking for inspiration. I want to know about your setup, what works well and what not to do, lets say i wanted to play h.264 in a 720p resolution, what kind of hardware would i need.

It would be great to see peoples "homes" e.g. I have x cores and 4 MD's they run on xxx hardware. Screens, multi room amps, home automation, all kind of orbitors and how they are linked together and so on. If you go to a big AV forum it would 99% have a section for 'My custom made home theatre' where users posts descriptions and pictures, not to brag or show off, but to share information and knowledge. That is very inspiring and I would love to see something like this here.

Best regards,

Emiku
« Last Edit: April 03, 2008, 11:54:46 pm by Emiku »

Emiku

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: What does your Linux MCE setup look like?
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2008, 12:08:29 am »
Has anyone tried to hook up a set of Beocom 6000's to Linux MCE, using the handsets IR capabilities?


JimmyGosling

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: What does your Linux MCE setup look like?
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2008, 02:21:21 am »
That is a great idea, and I think something of what we've heard before. 
It is difficult to build a "hardware database" as I think others have referred to it though.  A lot of the information in the wiki can change, but there is seldom a dedicated age maintainer.

Pictures and descriptions of setups sounds like a great idea.  Again, I think that comes down to user activity in the forums.  I'll try and do something of my own setup (small as it is). 

Others users have done just that, for instance here is ddamron's: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Ddamron

I think a roadblock for the pictures is that, well, there isn't a lot to take a picture of.  The lighting controls are on the wall.  the md sits by the tv, and that's about it.  Experiencing the system is the difference.  Perhaps it should all be in video :)
« Last Edit: April 04, 2008, 02:55:38 am by JimmyGosling »

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: What does your Linux MCE setup look like?
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2008, 02:57:20 am »
theres a page for pictures in the wiki. search for user setups.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

jtgamble

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: What does your Linux MCE setup look like?
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2008, 03:26:38 am »
I think this would be a great idea. It would also help new comers figure out how they would like to do their setups. Its nice to see what others have thats working, and try to model what you need around what you know works. Even just a listing of the hardware used, number of media directors, etc would be helpful :)

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: What does your Linux MCE setup look like?
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2008, 11:10:21 pm »
my setup can be seen in the footer's link
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

Emiku

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: What does your Linux MCE setup look like?
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2008, 07:59:35 am »
Hi Hari,

What do yuo like the best, z-wave or plcbus for home automation?

- Emiku

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: What does your Linux MCE setup look like?
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2008, 11:53:00 pm »
hard to tell...

the big -- of Zwave is the closed protocol. Otherwise it's neat stuff. PLCBUS works fine, too. But it's a bit slower.

best regards,
Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation